We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RCI credit exchange - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sammana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Sammana Resort to your Saves list
La Sammana Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 West Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
707 reviews 707 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 303 cities Reviews in 303 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
“RCI credit exchange - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent the last week of April in Brigantine. Having spent a week in Atlantic City in August last year this was a Huge improvement. There is still an open neighborhood type feel to the town and this property, La Sammana, is beautiful. They serve beverages in the am, and there are two toasters, so if you want something toasted that's where you'll find one. The lobby is very elegant. Our room was very nicely laid out with quality amenities. Not a lot of storage space for the food we bought. We cooked ever meal while there and were able to improvise devices to accomplish that. Queen bed, stove top, Microwave, apartment size refrigerator, small dishwasher and kitchen ware. It was only a block to the beach and we walked up to five miles a day when weather permitted. We had the fire department view, but it was quiet all the time. Except the last morning our neighbors' shower somehow set off the fire alarms and we all had to evacuate. Fire department arrival immediate. It was funnier than scary. We had a really comfortable week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Room was modern and clean...view of the ocean from our terrace on the 5th floor...no complaints at all! We will come back during peak season to take advantage of the beach one block away (pool is very small!) We also fell in love with Brigantine in general (lovely residential town, close to AC and Cape May) and Andre's Italian Restaurant next door to the hotel

Room Tip: Try to get the 5th floor...terrace, view and away from street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I just spent three nights at this resort with my sister and friends celebrating her birthday. We all had a wonderful time. We had two one bedroom units that were perfect in size. Our only complaint is the poor lighting, especially in the bathroom. The front desk staff was EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. I wish I knew specific names so that I could acknowledge them. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking to get out of the craziness of AC but yet be close enough to still enjoy it. The beach was only a few blocks away as well so it really is a great location when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We thought our room was decorated and organized very nice. However, every time the guests in the room above moved...WE HEARD IT! The building's sound insulation is TERRIBLE! We had no wi-fi in our room. We had to go down to the lobby to connect. Front desk attendant, David, brought his laptop to our room and was unable to connect. He agreed, the wi-fi was bad. We stayed a week and the wi-fi issue was never resolved...The only way we would ever even consider staying here again is with a written guarantee for the VERY TOP floor. I would not recommend this hotel to our fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Top Floor...only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

la samamana is all that it claims... a beautiful mediterrean style hotel , located on the most beautiful beach in saint martin. everything made for a perfect week, the food was delicious, the breakfast buffet was so tasty and interesting... the pastry chef gifted ... for a large hotel , the propery was so spacious and comfortably planned that one had a feeling of privacy and even intimacy. our room, an ocean front one bedroom suite was beautiful, with immediate access to the beach... also important for me was that every spot on the property was easily accessible by wheelchair when necessary. we will certain return, it would be impossible not to.

Room Tip: beachfont and ocean view rooms are lovely ... ask to see map of property... each room is located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

not sure if the staff changed, but extremely disappointed this time around. I would pay a little more and stay in AC! I asked the reservationist if I should spend $10 more for the 1br suite as opposed to the studio and she said, no, the studio is very nice. Well, she failed to mention that all of the studios were located on the street side. The entire 6 hours that I was there for SLEEP, I was woken up by buses,cars, etc....The heater wouldn't stay on, so I was freezing on top of it...when the heat did kick on, it made the drapes move, causing more noise. It was a disaster. the room looked depressed too. When I mentioned my concerns in the am, the office manager just said, "well, you should have come down In the middle of the night to change rooms" I told her that I was too tired to do that, and I was a returning guest. she just shrugged her shoulders and I walked out with extreme disgust. I probably won't ever go back.

Room Tip: pay a few extra dollars more and stay in AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The lobby looked beautiful, but when we went up to our room it was quite a surprise. It was dark and depressing. The bathroom is modern, but the rest needs help. There is no indoor pool. The gym is so small it is hard to believe. The staff is great, but the rest leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sammana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sammana Resort

Address: 1400 West Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Brigantine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Sammana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your La Sammana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sammana Hotel Brigantine
La Sammana Brigantine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sammana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.