We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
1112 w Brigantine Blvd, Brigantine, NJ 08203
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Brigantine
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
“Cute and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch expecting a cheap, quick meal. Was quite surprised at the prices when we got our menus, but when I saw the other customers' plates coming out, I knew we wouldn't be disappointed. The food was absolutely amazing, and after I stuffed myself with the seafood pasta, I still had half a plate leftover for dinner! Will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We drove along Brigantine Ave. and nearly missed it. Don't! The food is outstanding--the seafood AND the sides. We ate in the small dining room and ordered the Captain's Combo which includes flounder, shrimp, scallops, and a crab cake and also the Crab Cake Platter. The crab cakes are homemade. We ordered them broiled rather than fried. Did I mention how good they were? The shrimp and scallops were large, tender, and quite fresh. Two sides are included with the platter. We ordered the Cole slaw and green beans which were excellent choices. The beans were NOT from a can, and the Cole slaw was shredded cabbage with just a little mayo added. So good! Also, we ordered a side of sweet potato fries; the best I've ever eaten.
The total cost of our meal was about equal to a seafood buffet in a casino on the AC boardwalk. The food at the Crab Shack was so much better; there was no comparison!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The Crab Shack is essentially a local fresh fish market with a small (6 table) dining room attached. From the outside you'd never guess the goodness within. Walking past the small market counter with the fish of the day laid out and through the portal into the dining area was such a pleasant transition. The lighting is low key and the space surprisingly intimate. In one corner was a couple finishing their meal lingering over a bottle of wine they had brought with them. My wife and I sat at a corner table near the window. Service was prompt, helpful and friendly. Although pasta dishes are offered on the menu, and from what I saw looked and smelled really good, it's all about the seafood.

My wife ordered the fried crab cake dinner and I the fried sea scallops. Broiled was also an option. As this was a daily special of 2 dinners for $22 (!) the portions were smaller but still more than adequate. My 8 scallops were fried perfectly, moist, sweet with a light breading. The crab cake was large, tasty and, most important, all crab nicely seasoned. Sides of baked potato/french fries and cole slaw were unexceptional but, for me, it's all about the freshness of the seafood and knowing how to cook it to protect the goodness of the sea. The Crab Shack is spot on! My wife and I will be making a return visit before our week in AC is over.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

every time i stay at the lla sammana i always stop by here to get seafood. usually take out and sit outside. i enjoy almost anything that they have. would reccommend to anyone who likes seafood. farily priced too. i think it is seasonal because everytime i go there in the winter it is never open. if anyone knows if it is open during the offseason , please let me know. i would like to go on the next ac trip

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The seafood here is excellent! For the best experience I recommend take out or eating at the picnic tables outside. The small eat-in space on the side can be stuffy in the summer and the service is usually slow (but they are very nice).

The lobster roll is just amazing, but huge. You may want to consider splitting it with.

All the other prepared seafood dishes we've tried were great too - we've eaten here almost exclusively during our 1-week vacations for the past few years. When we did branch out we always wished we hadn't.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.