We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
1112 w Brigantine Blvd, Brigantine, NJ 08203
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Brigantine
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a fish seller, a small eat in restaurant and a take out place. It is not cheap, but it is good.

We stayed in a hotel nearby and picked up appetizers twice and meals once to take back to our hotel. The eat in portion is small and we wanted to supplement our meals with a more full menu such as salads, gluten free pasta side dishes, etc. We called them and by the time we walked three blocks to pick it up, it was ready.

They will cook any fresh fish you buy from them if you don't want to order off the eat in / take out menu. It would appear that the owner is in house and he'll do what you want to make you happy. On our last visit, our fish portion was what you would expect three portions to look like.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Would certainly recommend eating here. The fish was delicious and the staff welcomimg and friendly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite very small restaurant joined to seafood markrt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Crab cake was good but I am from Va. so I am use to getting delicious crab cakes. I thought that the food was a little pricey considering the lack of atmosphere.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Our Brigantine Favorite for Crab Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Crab Shack has a 6 table BYOB restaurant attached to its take outp seafood store. Our favorite here are the crab cakes which one can order broiled or fried. They have lots of crab and very little filler. The crab cake platter is around $20 and is two crab cakes and two sides. The cole slaw is good and it is worth springing for the sweet potato fries which are a little extra. We have also enjoyed the grilled scallops and the local hard shell crabs. No need to dress up.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“absolutely the best seafood around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at the Fantansea resort 2 blocks away from this rest. What a find! First night I ordered the Crab Cake dinner which were prepared broiled not fried with large lump crab pieces served with 2 sides. Next night we had the Cape May scallops which were so fresh and the last night I had the soft shell crab dinner, lightly battered and fried. Perfect.
The owner and staff are so friendly and helpful. I wouldn't try any other place in the area. This place is just to good!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
Brigantine, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.