We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and wish to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper Ship Motel

Clipper Ship Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brigantine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clipper Ship Motel
Save
You added Clipper Ship Motel to your Saves list
105 East Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it and wish to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Spacious room and kitchen, nice pool and seconds to the beach. I enjoyed surfing every morning. I recommend.

Room Tip: You can bring your wine etc. to restaurants here to enjoy. They don't offer alcohol beverages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were an extended family traveling to Brigantine to a wedding on the beach. We stayed in three different rooms. We all loved the Clipper Ship. It had large rooms and a kitchenette for the one bedrooms and a large living room, full kitchen with a table and a roomy bathroom in the two bedroom suite. This was an older motel that has been maintained over the years and was very clean. The pool was still open and we all had a nice get together around the pool and sitting by our rooms on the porch. Just across the street from the beach was very nice. Not fancy but nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

My finance and I were celebrating a special occasion, and as such chose the Clipper Ship based on the positive reviews on this website.

A very important aspect that was not clearly mentioned in the other reviews on Trip Advisor is the fact that this motel does not have air conditioning. In 90+ degree heat in July, this posed a huge problem. It made sleeping impossible and we stayed in separate rooms (sitting area and bedroom) to try to get comfortable to no avail. In addition, our room was on the first floor, street side, next to the dumpster, and near a colony of stray cats but we had to keep our window open due to the heat.

In addition, the bed was very uncomfortable and full of poking springs. There was also sand on the comforter.

On a positive note the woman at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful. It is also a short stroll to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown square, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Was introduced to the property by my mother-in-law, who has been vacationing there for decades with family. I have been joining them there for the past 3 years, and plan to go again this year. We love the full kitchen and cook most of our meals there. The pool is large and clean. The beach is just across the street, and we enjoy taking walks out to the point. There is no A/C, but with the ceiling fans on and windows open, we usually are comfortable. The owners are very nice and accomodating.

  • Liked — pool and beach; low price
  • Disliked — no a/c
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorofare, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

My boyfriends family has been coming for years and we have tagged along the past several summers, enjoying contiuning the family tradition. Like a little apartment, it's plain, but clean and cozy. The pool is always clean, and being right across the street from the beach is great. Away from crowds near the Inn, safe, and quiet. Will continue to return. :)

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Call in advance; not a lot of places to stay in Brig!
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2004

This hotel is a very home like place to stay. The staff is very nice as well. I was surprised to find pots, pans, utensils, etc in the room as well. The rooms are just like being in an appt.

The hotel is literally across the street from the beach and walking distance to stores. It's also located in a very nice area. I'd def. bring the family to a place like this and look forward to returning one day.

I was originally staying at another hotel which turned out to be a hole in the wall and came across the Clipper Ship. They gave me the only room they left as someone was checking out. You won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel, trust me! ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2004

We just can't say enough good things about this wonderful vacation experience. We've been visiting regularly for close to 20 years. The Clipper Ship Motel has become a family tradition that we are sure our children will continue in years to come. They've grown up looking forward to our stay year after year. We find the owners and staff (whom we have come to love) to be warm and welcoming, while the guests are fun & friendly!! The accommodations offer a comfortable, homelike atmosphere. There's no place better. We recommend it highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clipper Ship Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Ship Motel

Address: 105 East Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Brigantine
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Clipper Ship Hotel Brigantine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper Ship Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.