We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach to your Saves list
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Ocean Ave, Brigantine, NJ 08203 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a time share week given to us by a family member. The staff had trouble with our check in and thought we had already checked in. We had to ask questions regarding unloading luggage. This can definitely be something that front desk staff offers it's guests.

There was no welcome. It was more like - eck you're here- and you can't put your car ANYWHERE! It was appalling to be a guest at a hotel and feel so unwelcome that we couldn't even unload our luggage, especially with a handicapped guest with us.

The parking D!@k$ were out of control. They clearly gave preference to restaurant guests over hotel guests by clear guidance of their manager. This in seeing the handicapped plaquard in our vehicle.

The hotel is somewhat on the beach but there were NO hotel amenities on the beach. There is a restaurant on the beach which doesn't seem to have much to do with the hotel but take the parking from hotel guests.

The hotel is clean. I slept on the sofa bed and it was adequate. There were never pool towels at the pool. Often had to walk through the hotel dripping wet to get a towel or go back to our room.

The indoor pool is ok, but not a beautiful space I could sit and enjoy for any length of time.

The only staff that were somewhat helpful were the laundry staff who seemed to be working hard and the ladies at the front desk who were polite.

I've owned timeshares and this just misses the mark. I've stayed in hotels and this hotel could do a lot better if someone seemed to care that the guests are on vacation and want to relax. A little customer service can go a long way!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Justina M

Thank you for your response. We apologize for any inconvenience and would like to speak to you directly to learn more about your experience with us. Please feel free to call 609-266-2266.

With Warm Regards
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
29
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently stayed at the Legacy Resort in Brigantine and I learned a few things during my stay ...1) There is absolutely nothing to do in Brigantine in the rain. Check the weather very carefully before your arrival 2) Don't mistake a pull-out bed for a real one. The pull out bed was the worst place I have slept in my life. I am not a princess - I've spent many a college evening on a futon and this was so much worse. -- and the hotel did not stock the room with linens for the pull-out. I had to call the desk to request them, wait 15 min for them to arrive, and then they didn't bother to bring any comforters -- just the sheets and pillowcases. 3) look for central air -- the room units were extremely loud. The location right on the beach was this hotel's only saving grace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear LeonardsloveDisney

Thank you for your review. We hope we did not mislead you in anyway. Brigantine is a great family destination in a very laid back way. We are located just 7 minutes away from Atlantic City's boardwalk and all it has to offer. Yes, in our rooms we do offer an alternative sleeping setup for 3 and more people with a pull out couch.

Please feel free to call us with any concern 609-266-2266.

With Warm Regards
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with Legacy. I wasn’t sure what to expect from reading the reviews but it was overall a great experience! We checked in a little early but the room was not ready yet, however, they upgraded us to Penthouse B. Although the room was a little hard to find, it was totally worth it when we go into the room. It was like an apartment and the views of the ocean and marina were spectacular. The room was spotless and all the amenities were included. As for the hotel itself, the location was amazing, literally on the beach! The staff was more than accommodating too. The ease to get to AC was great and it was nice to be out of the traffic and congestion that sometimes comes with AC.

The only down side was parking. Since it shares a parking lot with Laguna, parking can be a bit of a nightmare. And at times we were told to park somewhere only to have someone park us in or park someone else in. Even if you are a guest at the hotel, it doesn’t necessarily mean you will get a parking spot. We had to park 5 blocks away at one point.

Overall, I would make Legacy my destination when I return to Atlantic City or Brigantine. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Derik B

Thanks so much for the kind words and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait until you come back and see us again. Have a great 4th of July!

Warm Regards
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here recently and what a delightful surprise. Built in 1927, this hotel maintains much of the charm of the period and hasn't been overly modernized. That said, our room was completely adequate, spotlessly clean, and well-appointed. Combine that with a reasonable price, beach front location, and a fun beach bar and restaurant on the premises, and you've got my new favorite spot in Brigantine, NJ.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi bonniePhilaPA

Thanks so much for the compliment and we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on a future vacation!

Warm Regards
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Traveling down on the NJ Parkway South to Brigantine, my wife asked me how was the Legacy Vacation Club. This would be our first time staying there. I told her the reviews were mixed. Some people were happy with the choice and others had issues with unit maintenance. Also some people complained about not being able to find a park. My wife is very particular, so I told her to keep a positive attitude and we would make the best of it.

When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted with a friendly smile and check-in was immediate. We were even given an upgrade to a large studio unit on the 8th floor. The room was clean, well equipped, appeared refurbished with white ceiling and sky blue walls. The ocean view was great. We had a full kitchen and a working air conditioner. Bathroom was a little small but adequate. The bed sheets were clean and the bed mattress wasn't as soft as memory foam, but it served the purpose. Couch was dingy looking and rug in some areas were worn. Nonetheless, we settled in and made ourselves comfortable.

We had dinner at the Laguna Bar & Grille attached to the resort. The food was great and the service was excellent. Only problem was it was only open 2 days (Fri. & Sat.) while we were there and did not open again until the following Wednesday, the day after we left. It appears the restaurant was getting ready for the Memorial Day weekend. I asked the front desk about the restaurant hours. I was told it normally is open everyday, but the Laguna Bar & Grille was not affiliated with the resort and she had no further information. Which explains why parking may be a challenge on the weekends for resort guests because the restaurant is also open to the public who park in the resort parking lot. If the Laguna would have been open more during our stay, we would have eaten there frequently. It had a festive bar atmosphere with live music when we were there.

All in all, my wife and I enjoyed our getaway. The resort was quiet and we enjoyed the heated pool. We sat out and walked on the beach most days and also took trips into Atlantic City to visit the casinos. It is an older resort built in 1927, but has a certain unique quality that makes it special. We will be sure to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade to a higher floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi ehawk_24

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future at another Legacy resort!

Warm Regards
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Right on a beautiful white sand and super clean beach.
My kids had a blast, from the room to the beach in 30 seconds with no streets to cross.
This is a time share, not a hotel, if you want full hotel amenities this is not the place for you.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi gabcen

Thanks so much for the kind words and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Warn Regards
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

It was my first stay at this hotel. Location is great, right on the beachfront. I had booked a large queen studio for my fiancée and I for a three night stay. It was March during the week, so off season prices during the week were very good. The hotel was probably less than half booked per capacity, and upon check in we were pleasantly surprised to find out they had upgraded us to a one bedroom suite. In addition, it was a penthouse suite which had sweeping panoramic views from both of the large windows in the suite. The room was very clean and updated and the king size bed and bedding was extremely comfortable. There was a full kitchen including a dishwasher. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that the indoor pool was closed during our stay for maintenance. But despite that one slight disappointment, we had a wonderful stay. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views of ocean and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Micah C

Thanks so much for the kind words and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you come back and visit us again real soon.

Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach

Address: 1400 Ocean Ave, Brigantine, NJ 08203 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Brigantine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Vacation Suites (June 2004) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach Hotel Brigantine
Celebrity Resort Brigantine Beach
Nj Vacation
Celebrity Resorts Brigantine Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.