We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not high end, but good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach

Save Saved
You added Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Ocean Ave, Brigantine, NJ 08203 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Brigantine
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not high end, but good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You are not going to stay here if you are looking for a great hotel. What you have here is an okay hotel, directly on 10km of fantastic beach. Mind you, Sandy has changed things quite a bit. While the beach is still there, I don't think it is as deep as it was (according to NOAA photos).

I reviewed this place last year, and we came back this year. That tells you something. This time, we upgraded to a one bedroom and stayed a week. We were quite happy how things worked out.

Changes from a studio to a one bedroom. In addition to a bedroom, we were in a corner. It faced south and west with a window in the living room looking both ways. While I would have preferred the ocean front, this room (on 7) had fantastic sunsets.
This the tallest building on the island and the views were not obstructed from our room. I did not miss the ocean front as we had ocean view looking at Atlantic City. The kitchen and bathroom are still small.

Changes from 2011 to 2012. A new upscale bar. Unfortunately, Sandy completely destroyed it. The name remained the same, but it was much more polished and shiny under the new management. I think they are trying to shed the dive reputation. We even watched the Brigantine Police keep people from walking out of the bars with their drinks on Sunday afternoon. We just sat on the landing with our drinks and watched the show.

They removed the ugly entrance way at the front door and put some nice furniture on the landing.

Last time, we overlooked the parking lot and used the AC to drown out any noise. In this unit, the air conditioner fan could not be made to stay on as white noise (like last year), but we did not need it. However, when it cycles on in the middle of the night, you notice it.

I booked a week here though my time share. I think they might try harder to keep us owners / exchangers happier.

The are no balconies in the main tower, but were there in late September, so it was not essential. We just took lawn chairs and sat on the beach instead of a balcony.

Yes, the bar / restaurant is noisy.on the weekend nights. The rest of the week, there was not a lot of noise.

And parking is crazy on the weekend nights as the hotel has one of the few restaurants in town and the new bar is bringing in the crowds. However, there was a valet and he only gave out spots to those staying at the hotel - however, I told him that I was staying at the hotel and he moved a cone to let me in. Be aware that you might get double parked if you park near the main doors and may need the valet to move some cars (park by the pool to avoid this).

It is an old hotel which provided the advantage of good sound proofing between the rooms. The bathroom was cramped with no space to put stuff.

The kitchen was very functional with a good size fridge / freezer, but could benefit from some more utensils, oven mitts, etc. There was only a setting for four and we had to run the very compact dishwasher every day. There is not a lot of counter.

They did not clean or make up the room during the stay (no big deal), but they might if you booked this as a hotel as opposed to a time share as we saw cleaning staff almost every day on our floor. While the official statement is that they would clean your room during the week for a fee, I think you might be able to talk them into doing it for free as the sand really builds up during the week (and our broom handle was broken making sweeping difficult).

There was a safe in the room to store valuables.

We never used the pool. We did go to scout it and it looked fine. You could see all the way to the bottom.

There is a liquor store and take out / eat in / fresh fish place one block west (the main street) and north. I highly recommend them. There is also a pharmacy another block farther north. There is not much else around here (other than the restaurant / bar) in the hotel.

For groceries, head back to the Acme on the other side of the roundabout. The local liquor store had better prices than a liquor store just back on the other side of the marsh.

This place is right on the beach (and sand fills the parking lot). I'm not sure the hotel would be so great in the summer given the lack of balcony and windows that fully open.

The TV in the living room is up to date, so bring your laptop with your content and plug it in.

Room Tip: Get a high floor looking south
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for submitting a review on your stay with us at Legacy Vacation Club in Brigantine.

We're so glad to hear that our hotel was able to provide you with a pleasant stay in this lovely beach town. It's great to hear that the improvements we've made to our resort have not gone unnoticed. Renovations are still underway, as we hope to keep improving our resort to provide our guests with the best stay possible.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience our parking may have caused - it is true we are in a very busy area but we are looking into solutions for this issue.

We hope you keep Legacy Vacation Club in mind when planning your next getaway.

Warm Regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great access to a beautiful long, clean beach, just a town away from the bustle of Atlantic City. The hotel and room were very clean, but a few ceiling tiles needing replacement spoiled the look. Seems like such a simple thing for a hotel to tend to. Great staff and nice beach type restaurant. Park on grounds. An older place with a very nice, large pool with ample room in the kiddie area and deep part (6') for adults. Room windows are standard size and offer a "side" view of the ocean. No balcony.

There are not a lot of restaurants in Brigantine (an old time bar and restaurant at the end of the beach and a block to the left offers great value). No amusements for the kiddies. Definitely a place for beach lovers, or those who want to play in Atlantic City 15 mins. away.

Probably best for beach lovers, those with little kids not requiring amusements, or older folk happy with the beach, pool and a few restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Try to get a room directly facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Right on the beach at a quiet section of the island. My room was on the 4th floor and had great views of the beach and the AC skyline. Great local shopping including a terrific small food market with fresh made meals, hot and cold, daily. Good prices as well. Wawa and 7/11 near by.
Great for bicycle riding, walking or jogging (beach or road), fishing. I stayed the week of Sept. 20th and the weather was great. Cars/trucks allowed on the beach. Building is old and not super modern, but was functional for my needs and everything worked. Staff was courteous and attended to needs. Parking in their lot is a problem due to the attached bar/restaurant, but street parking was fine and close. Room internet has a fee but 2 pc's in the lobby are available 24/7. Easy drive to marina casinos (3) if that is what you like. If location is your primary concern, you can't find any place at the shore better than this. Plain and simple, for my porpose this place was great.

Room Tip: Southern view of 4th floor and up gives view of beach and the AC skyline which is impressive at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just cannot believe what this place tried to pass off as accommodations. We booked through Hotwire (which I will now always second guess). The room they gave us was first-floor and directly off the lobby. It looked like it was once PART OF THE LOBBY, but they simply put a bed and a door on it. We were told we were "upgraded" to a large studio. Oh it was large -- to the ceiling -- 20 feet high with buckling ceiling tile --, the room painted a sickening institution blue. A dumpy old pull out sofa and one queen bed; and a "kitchenette" with bowing shelves, a chipped porcelain enamel sink circa 1940. Our view was the opposite lobby entrance and the parking lot and trash dumpster. The window casements were chipping off black paint and the sills were dusted by it. Two single adults would not fit in that bed. The front desk staff when I originally asked for an upper room with ocean view simply said, "no." We overheard the ice machine was "down". When we asked for another room, they refused, saying there was no other. I called Hotwire and demanded recourse or I would refute with my credit card. They attempted negotiating with the desk to no avail and thankfully re-booked us elsewhere. When we returned to the desk to get the zeroed out receipt, THEN they wanted to offer another room but it was too late. I understand this is an old hotel, but they need major upgrading. As far as the parking lot is concerned, one can see the seedy bar patrons take all the spaces. Also, as a Hotwire user, they cannot and should not pass off their worst room for reservers using an alternate booking agent. Give those rooms to the tramps coming out of the bar for $20/ night because that was all it was worth, if that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What I don't like about this place:
No PARKING literally, the side streets are dark at night. The pool is green and not working still on Sept. 8,2012. The elevators are small and dirty. The luggage carts are in the basement in the rear of the building but there is no parking there, loading zone only. The 1 bedroom is VERY small and DARK. The sheets won't stay on the bed, you can not pull them down all the way on the mattress. There is NO place for a toothbrush in the bathroom. The microwave vent and light do not work. The coffee pot handle is twisted around to the spout. The dishwasher is not bolted, it moves when you open the door. The mattress is bouncy. You get two bath towels and washcloths in your room that sleeps 4. You have to call everyday for an exchange. You have to walk a flight of steps to get in the front door, not handicapped accessible in the front. If you are in a wheelchair the ramp is in the rear with no parking, loading zone, you will enter the basement.
What I like about this place: the outdoor patio at the front door, if you can get a seat.
The town and beach are beautiful, but there is no fast food with a drive thru.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Where to start...The location to the ocean is awesome but that's about the only thing this hotel has going for it. The rooms are small and a little outdated, but functional. The parking is TERRIBLE. Owners and guests have to circle the lot multiple times and end of parking blocks away, in the street b/c there are not enough spaces for the guests and on top of that, the restaurant crowd takes any available spots they can. There was a dead cockroach in the stairwell, and I ended up with white paint on my shirt and pants after leaning against a freshly painted door that was not marked. The worst part had to be the pool. The water was a yellowish green(photo attached), there were chunks of hair floating around and a thick greasy film on top. There were large deposits of dirt, sand, and god knows what else settled in the corners and bottom of the pool and there didn't seem to be any kind of filter. When concerns were voiced the response was that it wasn't dirty...it just looks that way b/c of the color that the pool is painted. Right...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nothing great, no parking spaces, crowded with I don't know who. People smoking on the porche blowing in our faces. Expensive and confusing dinner menu at the bar complete with drunk skunks. The hotels.com web site, claims that the Legacy has internet but really you have to pay for it, what a ripp off greedy place. It requires a credit card to get online. I used optimumonline because I'm a member and the hot spot wii fii is included with my bill and happens to work in he coffee filters but they do provide free coffee it looks like cheap stuff. Toilet is way to close to the bath tub. One of the draws is out of the socket. The free computer downstairs is completely slow and full of viruses, there were kids on it, what a pieces of junk pcs they let people use that takes forever to surf. Beautiful looking town but I am not that impressed with the hotel. There is a beach resort fee that hotels.com never told us about, they do not want anyone to know untill they travel long distance and then it's too late. There is no balcony outside our room. So dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach

Address: 1400 Ocean Ave, Brigantine, NJ 08203 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Brigantine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Brigantine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Vacation Suites (June 2004) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach Hotel Brigantine
Celebrity Resort Brigantine Beach
Nj Vacation
Celebrity Resorts Brigantine Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.