We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sea gull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gull

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brigantine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Gull
Save
You added The Sea Gull to your Saves list
200 E. Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The sea gull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nasty! Nasty! And that is saying it mildly! I booked reservations for the 4th of July weekend when I was asked to send a check for the deposit that should of been A BIG RED FLAG but this lady named Sally said she wasn't feeling well and couldn't get to her credit card machine. At least with a credit card company your have some recourse but once they cash your check you are just out of luck. I informed her that I had very bad emphysema and would need a first floor room. We never even got to see the room. When we arrived there was no one around. Had to call and Sally finally came from somewhere. The halls were so dirty nasty and the smell of cigarette smoke was overpowering. This place should be shut down

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    3
    18
See reviews for
14
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dushore PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I read all the bad reviews. Even with Sallys failing health, she always tried to accomodate us as good as she could. When the seagull motel closes there will be no other motels in Brigantine due to the greed and high taxes in NJ. The locals have to work two jobs to live there. For all of you that wrote the bad reviews, remember nobodys health stays good forever and at least she tried to keep a affordable place where people can stay in Brigantine. Next time spend 300 a night in Atlantic City. I been going down there for maney years and have nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have been staying here for years. Love being right on the beach. This is not a luxurious place to stay but very clean and the staff is very attentive. Kudos to Sally for that. Most everything is Condos on Brigantine so I hope this gem retains some rooms for us regulars. And what a great view from all rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor to right of staircase. Fantastic showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been to the Sea Gull several times. My wife and I loved it every time. It isn't always as well kept as you might expect, but the location is absolutly perfect, the owner is one of the nicest ladies in the world, and it always works out.
The rooms face the ocean, but Brigatine is a very flat beach with dunes, and this hotel is the only place I ever stayed where you feel like your on the beach, when your in the room. I sometimes go swimming in the ocean, and from the water wave to my wife, who is in the room because she doesn't like much sun. You don't need beach chairs and unmbrellas when you stay at this hotel. I do though recommend the 2nd floor if you want the beach in your living room.
We keep the windows and balcony door open and catch the ocean breeze. I love hearing the surf all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I traveled to the Seagull in July and had a great time! Sally let me work behind the desk! I would buy the place if it was cheaper. The owner sally just wants to get out of there and i dont really understand why. I hope you chose the Seagull!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went to look at a few of the rooms with a friend and was pleasantly surprised. We were looking for a place for her and found that the room were well furnished, very nice of the beach, and there were TVs in both rooms! Also, nice to see a room at the shore with working microwaves!

I was not expecting much but for its locations and cost, its a great value! Im still surprised more people haven't found this place, but expect some of the "negative reviews" have steered potential people away.

As someone who has been around real estate for years, this is a good value at the Jersey Shore and is a good deal for those who want to be near the beach and not stuck in the busy city life.

Room Tip: If you do not like the stairs or heights, stick with the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place has a great location, but for the money, it isn't well kept. The phone didn't work when we were there. It was dusty, old and it appeared that several people who work in the casinos work there as there were people coming and going at all hours. If you have children, this could be a problem. La Samanna costs the same, is nicer, has a pool, gym free coffee, great service, is close to the stores like Rita's and restaurants.

Room Tip: The beach is close but rooms are old and dusty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gull

Address: 200 E. Brigantine Ave., Brigantine, NJ 08203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Brigantine
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Brigantine
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Sea Gull Hotel Brigantine
Sea Gull Brigantine
Sea Gull Hotel Brigantine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.