We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nite out with great friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Emilia

Cafe Emilia
705 Route 202 North, Bridgewater, NJ 08807
908-429-1410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Bridgewater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nite out with great friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I loved this place! Great food and service!! Have a small bar in place. Have great bread with pesto sauce before your meal. You have to try it!! Some meals a bit pricey.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome but.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

So expensive. The restaurant lacks in consistency with its service and food quality. Perhaps some live music would balance a good experience there. All in all don't get a bowl of pasta for $25 when you can buy a pound of pasta at the store for a buck. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great servicfe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This restaurant is awsome. We have been here many times and it never disappoints. The wait staff are fantastic from the top to the bottom. They are extremely attentive, polite and professional.
The food is over the top. The best veal parm ever. All the dishes are fabulous, and expertly prepared. The portions are very generous and for the quality a great value.
Extensive wine list that spans a great price range, with inexpensive good wines to expensive excellent varietals. The cocktails are very generous.
We have brought family and friends and everybody wants to return.
It is becoming rare to find a restaurant of this quality that still believes that pleasing the customer is formost.
My wife and I, friends and family highly recommend Cafe Emilia

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I think this ship has sailed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I frequented Cafe Emilia quite a bit several years ago and loved the cozy atmosphere, tasty food and great service. On a recent visit, we've found things have changed quite a bit. While the service is still attentive (Andy, the manager is great), the food has really gone downhill. We dined with several friends and while no one complained, here are some of my observations: the crabcake appetizer special was awful - a pre-made (probably frozen) breaded cake deep fried and served over baby greens with absolutely no crab flavor at all. Fishy, yes but crab no. The salads were cold and fresh but a little overdressed. I had the rack of lamb special which I ordered medium rare. It was to be served with a red wine reduction and risotto. It was prepared medium well and unfortunately, the red wine was never reduced so it felt like it was just poured over the lamb. The risotto was not cooked through and was actually a bit crunchy, not creamy at all. A friend ordered a chicken special which was basically poached chicken with melted mozzarella on top. Not a lot of flavor. My husband's veal, on the other hand, was very salty and over seasoned with a mustard sauce. And none of the entrees were served with any sort of vegetable, which I don't remember being true in the past. The desserts need to be updated - they are still serving chocolate covered cream puffs and tiramisu. Nothing special. Again, the service was good and the martinis were excellent but the food itself is just ok. I hope this was just an "off" night but we will not be rushing back any time soon to Cafe Emilia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Top Choice in NJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited Cafe Emilia now about 4 times during the week and each time it was an outstanding dining experience. Interesting appetizers, fresh and creative entrees and a bit of the sweet made our overall meal a 5-Star event. Recently, we hit the place on a Saturday evening and found the salads too vinegary and the entrees just a bit too saucy. As always, our fish and veal dishes were very fresh and well prepared so I would give it a pass as an isolated event (everyone occasionally has an off day).
Overall I would recommend the place… and Andy the Host is really a fine manager that strives to accommodate each guess!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Emilia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.