We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no breakfast for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3241 Route 22 East, Branchburg, NJ 08876   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Branchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but no breakfast for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been to many Marriott Residence Inn's and always have had good accommodations. This was no exception. However, on two occasions now we have had difficulty making reservations for this property using the Marriott website. The first time we tried in July of this year this property didn't show up as available and we stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn in Somerset in a two bedroom suite. This time we tried a different approach and tried to reserve rooms at this property and were shut out reserving a one or two bedroom suite. We won't get into the details here but we wound up reserving two studio's each with one King bed. Nothing else was available on the Marriott site.

Unfortunately, we had to cancel one studio due to illness but my wife and I stayed in the other studio. We usually reserve a one bedroom suite and rarely reserve a studio room. The problem is a studio has only one TV and in the evening my wife likes to watch TV from the bed and I watch while working at the desk. In the studio we had, this was impossible.

However, the property was clean and new looking. Our room was spacious and neat. The shower in the bathroom had a hand rail to help prevent slipping. The internet was fast and easy to access. The air conditioning was on an economy setting but responded to our adjustment. This was all very favorable and typical of Marriott.

But, there was one other problem with this visit. It was with the breakfast. It was not available at the time we expected.

In a TripAdvisor review dated July 24, 2012 a reviewer said, "I slept in and missed breakfast on Sunday morning; a little surprised the buffet closed at 10:30 am." We also agree that that time was too early for a Sunday based on our experiences with Marriott, but we fit it into our schedule. To our surprise, when we checked in on Saturday afternoon we were told differently. We were told that the breakfast buffet closed at 10 am. This was too early for us.

We opted out of the breakfast and checked out at shortly after 10 am on Sunday morning. But before we checked out we went to the breakfast area. The buffet area was already cleared at that time and there were only two people sitting at different tables.

It was empty.

We felt the change in the breakfast time had more to do with the registrations and hotel convenience than customer service. I also add that breakfast was available for us on Sunday at the Somerset Marriott in July. Towards this end we felt we were not properly served on the visit to this Residence Inn. We did not get the rooms we wanted and did not get the expected breakfast. If the hotel manager would like to discuss these concerns with me I would be happy to respond.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the facility overall, but I am very sorry for the trouble that you encountered booking your reservations and at breakfast on Sunday morning. We have discussed the breakfast hours to insure that we are meeting the needs of all of our guests and I'm sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

I do hope that if you do return to the area that you would give us the opportunity to serve you again and please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to elaborate on your experience a bit.

Thank you again,

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
10
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Like others, we also stayed here while our son was in a baseball tournament at Diamond Nation. Our family of four found the rooms to be very spacious. We really appreciated having a full size refrigerator, as well as the kitchenette.

What was surprising was the beautiful patio they had outdoors, with plenty of chairs for our team to gather in between games. There is also a grill out there, which can be used by the guests. The kids enjoyed the pool and the basketball court that was in the back of the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was full of choices, and I don't think that anyone walked away hungry. The staff was kind enough to open the buffet a bit early, as our baseball team had to leave for a game before the buffet was open. This was greatly appreciated! The only complaint we had all weekend was that the buffet, on our second day there, seemed understaffed. They had a hard time keeping up with putting out the food and utensils. I am not sure if this was due to the fact it was a holiday weekend, or if there was just too many people eating at once.

All in all, we had a great stay, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience with us! We always enjoy hearing feedback from our guests and we hope that the busy weekend didn't affect your breakfast experience too much.

We really appreciate hearing from you and looking forward to serving you again soon!

Thank you so much!

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while our son was in a baseball tournamnet at Diamond Nation. We stayed in the Studio with King Bed, sleep sofa and kitchenette. Room was very nicely furnished and very well maintained. The entire facility is georgous. They had several washers and dryers which are great for washing team uniforms. Indoor pool came in handy during rain and evening hours. Fitness center is equipped with several treadmills, bike, elipticals, TV's and weights. Breakfast was a full hot buffet with several healthy alternatives like yogurt, fruits, etc. Complex is about 13 miles from the Diamond Nation Baseball Complex and was a quick 15-20 drive thru some cute scenic areas. 5 miles from the Bridgewater Commons Mall which has a moive theater. Mini golf course less 2 blocks away. Staff was very polite and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel. It is one of the nicest hotels our family has stayed in during our four years of travel baseball. Price per night was $129, extremely resaonable rates.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on our hotel. We really appreciate it and we will be sure to share all of your comments with the entire team! I hope that your entire family enjoyed your experience at Diamond Nation as well!

Have a terrific day!

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Room was very big. Had a king size bed, sofabed(couch), table, chairs, coffee table, desk with a chair, 2-burner cooktop, full size refrigerator, microwave oven, dishes, pots and pans, paper towels, dish detergent, shampoo, conditioner, soap, tissues, toilet paper, granite countertop, deep sink, dishwasher, cooking utensils, plates, bowls, knives, spoons, forks, television (swivels)and lots of lighting. Rooms are decorated in warm rich colors. Complimentary breakfast had the following food: cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy w/sausage for the biscuits, red potato, bagels, white bread, rye bread, wheat bread, muffins, bananas, apples, oranges, cranberry juice, apple juice, orange juice, 2% lowfat milk, fat-free milk, coffee, tea, oatmeal, cheddar cheese, salsa, sour cream and hot waffles. There is a gym with a view the indoor pool. Pool was not heated. The hotel was very nice and decorated beautifully with gold and red tones. We had the swimming pool and gym to ourselves which was a nice surprise. Elevators were very fast to come when you pressed the button. I had a pack n play that i brought with me and that fit comfortably in the room. Reception on tv was good and the internet service was very slow during the day, but had no problem with surfing the net after 11pm. Very nice hotel and the pictures on the walls were of farms, trees, barns, etc-- they were very nice. It was nice to see pictures that were of the area and not of beach down in the caribbean as you see sometimes in hotels. Anybody that says anything negative about this hotel- i can not understand why-- the only issue was the slow internet- otherwise than that there is no reason to complain about this hotel unless you live in a 10 million dollar home or vacation in a 10 million dollar home and that is what one is trying to compare this too.

Room Tip: We had three rooms and they were identical in decoration and floor layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer us feedback on your visit to the Residence Inn in Branchburg. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you efforts to share your experience!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Four-night stay in July. Staff is incredibly nice. Room and common areas are clean and well maintained. Room was well-suited for a business stay. Breakfast and evening food hit the spot.

Internet was a big miss. For a hotel that has mostly business guests during the week, the connection speed was unacceptably slow. I had to spend a half-day working in the office on a weekend to make up for the work I couldn't do at the Residence Inn during the week.

Rates are considerably more than they Hyatt Houses down the road. I haven't been to those yet to see the difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am sorry that the internet was not working or serving your needs as it should. We are always in the processing of improving our service and amenities and we will make sure that we exceed your expectations when you return.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Clean and basic. Place looks new. Staff really courteous and prompt. I slept in and missed breakfast on Sunday morning; a little surprised the buffet closed at 10:30 am. Right next to the highway, however didn’t really hear any road noise. Very little right around the property. The place was full for some reason; athletic teams, wedding party, etc. I stayed here one night because of a friend’s party a mile away, and didn’t want to do a long drive home after the party.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience during your visit. We really appreciate your comments about our team and we will use all of your feedback to continue to improve the service we offer moving forward!

Sincerely,

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for one night in a one-bedroom suite as a stop over to our final destination. There isn't much around but the location seems convenient for the many large businesses in the area.

When we arrived, we were told we were on the 3rd floor but the elevators were not working (hey it happens). A family with 2 young children, we had strollers and pack and plays and toys that needed to go inside.

We were told that we could use the stairs or they could downgrade us to a smaller room on the first floor. As a platinum rewards member, I wasn't expecting to ever hear the word "downgrade" from a Marriott property. We opted to use the stairs and stay on the 3rd floor. The exercise did us good.

The room itself was clean with the typical Marriott decor. The bathroom had black mold where the tub and wall come together. Lesser of an inconveniece was the fact the bathroom sink took 20 minutes to drain after washing your hands.

We were a little baffled by the kitchen. The dish soap bottle was half full and clearly used. The paper towel holder contanied only the cardboard holder from a previous roll. The ice maker in the freezer did not work.

The complimentary breakfast was decent for the price.

This would not be our first choice if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, General Manager at Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so sorry for the incovenience caused by the elevators not working when you arrived. I'm sure this got your stay off to a less than satisfactory beginning. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us as a means for improving the service that we offer to our guests!

We do hope that you decide to stay with us again so that we can offer a terrific experience and home away from home!

Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Chad M. Newman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branchburg
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bridgewater - Branchburg
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bridgewater Marriott
Bridgewater Marriott
#3 of 5 in Bridgewater
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
3.0 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 5 in Bridgewater
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg

Address: 3241 Route 22 East, Branchburg, NJ 08876
Location: United States > New Jersey > Branchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Branchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bridgewater Hotel Branchburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bridgewater Branchburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.