We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1 Italian in Bordentown area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palermo's

Palermo's
674 Us Highway 206, Bordentown, NJ 08505-1540
609-298-6771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Bordentown
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Should be #1 Italian in Bordentown area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I were staying at a nearby hotel and heard about Palermo's as a great value. We arrived late and were going to just order and take our food back to the hotel but the owner (Julio), his son and our server (Melissa) would not hear of it. They said that people came in late quite often and that we were welcome to sit and enjoy our meal.We had brought our own wine so we sat down and asked what was available at that late hour and we were told whatever we wanted would be prepared fresh for us. The owner asked me if I liked pork chops and I do so he suggested the pork with potatoes smothered in peppers and onions (he had cooked the same meal for himself earlier). My wife wanted seafood and the shrimp with sauce over linguine was suggested. As an appetizer we ordered one of their small tomato pies.I don't think that it would have mattered what we ordered as it was all fantastic. The salads with bread and garlic knots (freshly hand made that afternoon) were outstanding. After enjoying the food and the unbelievably great hospitality/ atmosphere at the original Palermo's (the owner told us that he has three different locations), it is difficult for me to understand why Palermo's was not ranked as the #1 Italian and possibly the #1 restaurant in Bordentown. I can honestly and easily say that we not only recommend this location but plan to come back to try some of the many other menu offerings. It was easy to tell why their "tomato Pie" was awarded the title of "Best Tomato Pie" in the NY/NJ area. The rest of our meal would rank just as high in competition. The next time that we come to Palermo's, it will be earlier in the day so as to allow a few hours to enjoy the many menu options. We intend to order some of the garlic knots and have them shipped to North Carolina to share with our friends. As far as quality of food, we rate this a 12 on a 10 point scale. With respect to price and value, it rates a 9 or 10 on the 10 point scale. (Being able to bring in our own wine was very nice)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“#1 Tomato pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Plain and simple......the best tomato pie pizza around and the best calzone around. I want to try other things but I always get calzones and pizza because they are perfect!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Michigan
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Best tomato pie EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wow, this tomato pie was so amazing. Our friends took us here for dinner while we were on vacation. The food was so good we went back 2 days later! I wish I could have some tomato pie now. MMmmmmmmm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I go at least once or twice a week. The bartender Brian and Donna are very friendly. Love the sangria. Good appetizers, good pizza.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best tomato pie I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I first experienced Palermo's food when our workplace ordered a bunch of pies from them for a party. I was amazed at the tomato pie. I had eaten tomato pie before, including the often cited DeLorenzo's and was not very impressed. Until - I had Palermos! Ymm! I regularly ordered it from them since then ( six years ago).

Now, I usually get my orders from them delivered but I have eaten on site a few times. It is in a little strip mall on Rt 206 and you can easily miss it. The atmosphere is strip mall pizzeria but the food is great. They are often busy and you sometimes have to wait a long time for delivery due to this. Their delivery people are great and never give us any problems.

Besides tomato pie, I like their buffalo wings though I think they are a little on the small side. What I like though is that the skin on the wings is very crispy - not chewy and flabby like some wings.

While their tomato pie is outstanding, their regular pizza is just average. I have tried it a few times but now I stick with the tomato pies.

I have also had panninis, subs, and my husband orders their dinners. We almost always like what we get. We are not fond of their bread with the dinners - it is that pizza dough bread that is great if fresh and not so great if it is a little old or if it is overdone.

We order something within every 2 weeks from them for six years now so you can see we like their food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palermo's also viewed

 

Been to Palermo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palermo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.