We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Pub and Grub

The Station Pub and Grub
45 Mine Brook Rd, Bernardsville, NJ 07924
908-204-1227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Restaurants in Bernardsville
Restaurant details
Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Totally average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The place has had a face lift since I went there the last time. This time I had met some clients for a luncheon meeting on a Saturday. The place was fairly empty and generally pleasant. My side of the table was sticky...perhaps from an early beer spill. Service was perfunctory. Club sandwiches all around were ok but way overpriced...maybe by 30%, at least. This would be acceptable if the quality was there, but it wasn't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really like this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have had dinner here three times in the last few weeks and were surprised to read the negative comments in the other reviews.

We live several miles away, and have been looking for the type of place where we can have dinner outdoors when the weather is nice and we don't feel like cooking at the last minute...the type of place where you can come as you are, with a relaxing atmosphere. And we think we found it.

There's nothing fancy about the place. Not likely the place you would pick for a special occasion, but we have found the food to be consistently very good or better. We think "pub and grub" underdescribes the restaurant. It's definitely a step above that...just take a look at the menu on line.

We thought the burgers and grilled salmon salad were very good, and the fish tacos were excellent. And we have never had better fried calamari, even at much higher priced restaurants.

One word of advise, come early when the weather is nice as the patio has only a few tables, and they fill fast, especially on Saturday evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Last true tavern in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

For starters, this place is friendly...everyone says hello when you come in, and the bartenders could not be nicer - their prices are modest at the bar, and the menu is very fair.

It remains one of the last true-blue taverns in the area that doesn't leave you with "dining remorse", that sick feeling that you just got ripped off when you are leaving.

Food is surprisingly good, even the thin-crust pizza! Very good hamburgers and other dishes sides as well. There is something here for everybody. I just wish they had fried chicken, which is one of my weaknesses.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Low Expectations were Met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were looking for a local place for a very casual dinner and settled on the Station. The corn beef sandwich is excellent and the beet salad very good. Everthing else we had was average at best which pretty much was what we expected. The beer was cold and you get to watch TV from nearly every table, which was important since the World Cup was on. Service was so so and the waiter acted like he was having a bad day. It met our needs for that night and the pricing was reasonable for a pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lunch on the patio ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love the ability for patio dining as it's always nice to sit outside when you can. It took forever for the waiter to realize we were his table . We ordered drinks and again he disappeared for a bit. Finally we placed our order. I had the shaved steak sandwich which was just plain greasy. Even the bread tasted greasy . My husband had the turkey BLT which was pretty good. Huge portion in the turkey sandwich and we probably should have split that. We had to ask for refills of ice tea and then they only brought one. They had to go back and get another. It was just ok. I have never felt this place had it all together which is a shame because it could be a real goldmine. They apparently have changed the menu but it's still really lacks . Disappointing is probably the best description. Prices are very reasonable . Won't go back for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Pub and Grub also viewed

 

Been to The Station Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Pub and Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.