We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, over-priced, small portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Equus Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Equus Tavern
1 Mill Road, Bernardsville, NJ 07924
9087663737
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mount Airy Road
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, over-priced, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great food but no wonder it's closed. Way too expensive for very small portions. Delicious though. It's a shame when people get greedy regarding pricing. A mid-range price selection would draw bigger crowds. When will restaurants around here get this?
Oh and I'm also tired of the attitude you get when you don't have a reservation. My husband and I called last minute to see if any were available. We were given a somewhat bothered response that he guessed we could be accommodated. They sat us right next to the kitchen and the place was empty. Service was extremely slow too. Like we were bothering them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The decor of this place is great! I felt the food didn't warrant the prices.Portions were small.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have tried Equus several times. The place looks fabulous. But we found the food to be unremarkable. The waiting staff is not exactly motivated as last time they dropped 2 things near our table. One of us ordered the scallops and a big plate came out with 5 small scallops without any vegetable, rice, potato. My male adult companion was not happy with that. The "Duck confit papardelli" tasted great (I love mushrooms) but the chef must have run out of duck : I put on my reading glasses and found 1 thin shred of duck in it, 1/2 inch long? We do not like to eat big portions, but the amount of food on our plates was very minimalistic. The bill is not minimalistic, it is always higher than other restaurants in the area. Also the menu is disappointing : many dishes come with cheese on top and 1/3 third of the entrees includes beef. Please skip the cheese and butter and red meat and offer healthy choices and serve some vegetables with the entrees!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attractive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Up-scale restaurant with nice bar and attractive, high-ceiling, stone-walled dining room. Varied menu with good food, service and wine list.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough & Villas NJ
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Visited the Equus Tavern with my wife and two sons on the occasion of my son's birthday. Didn't know what to expect from a restaurant with a "Tavern" designation but it turned out to be an upscale restaurant with a tavern attached. It was constructed around a historic 1700's old stone inn. The decor is beautifully done, the waiter service was courteous/competant and the chef serves up some of the most creative and tasty cuisine in this area. Main dinner selections run in the $26-$29 range; not cheap but certainly not expensive.
Having had dinner there I can honestly say that this restaurant is nothing short of excellent and we will add it to our favorites list.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equus Tavern also viewed

Bernardsville, NJ
Bernardsville, NJ
 
Bernardsville, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equus Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.