We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumping joint, inventive oriental food - in a strip mall!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Japanese and Asian Fusion Restau

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
East Japanese and Asian Fusion Restau
408 Springfield Ave, Berkeley Heights, NJ 07922
908-898-1988
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Jumping joint, inventive oriental food - in a strip mall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

FRESH and delicious Japanese/Vietnamese specialties and a top notch sushi bar. The service is sometimes casual: ordered green tea ice cream and got green tea ... so we got the ice cream a little later :-). A good place to experiment by trying unfamiliar dishes ... never had a bad meal here. Prices reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Delicious half orice sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Sunday through Thursday East offers half price sushi and it is delicious. We order a variety of rolls and sashimi. My favorite items are the Scotch Plains, Christmas roll, Rainbow roll and the salmon sashimi. I also order the house salad which comes with the best ginger dressing. This is a byob restaurant. The restaurant gets busy so the food can come out slowly and they always seem like they are understaffed with the
wait staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, modest prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Even on a Wednesday evening was crowded and noisy. Lots of families. We always enjoy the duck fajitas. The roast crispy duck came out on the cool side and we sent it back. It was good after rewarming. Very modest prices. An appetizer, two duck entrees and good tip came to $50. A good deal.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Specialty Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We live nearby, were in the mood for sushi, and my boss mentioned he had been here for sushi several times and it was always good. So we tried it, and were not disappointed. While we can't say it's the best we have ever had, that has been at places that were significantly more expensive, and we thought the sushi prices here were reasonable. We also noticed a sign that they have a half price sushi menu Monday to Thursday, and we will check that out sometime. We thought the sushi was merely average, but that the specialty rolls were notable. A couple of other reviewers mentioned problems with the waitstaff, but that was not our experience. We thought they were very attentive (but the restaurant was not busy at all when we were there).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

What can I say. From the moment we were seated by the Hostess until we walked out the front door, it was a great experience. For the adults we brought a bottle of wine (twist top so I opened myself) which was swiftly met with wine glasses and for the children we ordered soft drinks which came quickly as well. Had Sushi, soup and rice was all very good. No room for dessert. I look forward to our next trip back to East.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Japanese and Asian Fusion Restau also viewed

Berkeley Heights, NJ
Berkeley Heights, NJ
 
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Berkeley Heights, NJ
 

Been to East Japanese and Asian Fusion Restau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Japanese and Asian Fusion Restau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.