We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older crowd; good wine by the glass” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Connolly Station

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Connolly Station
711 Main Street, Belmar, NJ 07719
732-280-2220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 89 Restaurants in Belmar
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
NJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“older crowd; good wine by the glass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday night to get hubby a pint. I was thrilled with the wine by the glass offerings. The place never got super crowded even though there was a live band. We got seats at the bar. The crowd is mainly older but the median age dropped by about 10 years as the night wore on. They had a lot of bartenders for the size of the crowd. It’s an Irish bar. There aren’t many that are unique and this one certainly wasn’t but you know what you are getting into when you go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3rd TIME A CHARM!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For the 3rd year in a row Connolly Station did a wonderful job with our "ROAR AT THE SHORE" The food was excellent! The staff was prepared, professional and very concerned that all had a good time! The event was 7 yes 7 hours long and the staff was attentive and prepared! It ran smooth as silk! On top of all this Connolly Station staff had a Sunday Brunch that was on point. Again good food, great service and a prepared staff made the event totally enjoyable. Planning a party? Connolly's staff is there to help. Always available and eager to please. Infact they even catered a Friday night get together. Planning this event takes a lot of work, Mark,John and the staff make it much easier! See Ya next year for # 4.If you are planning a reunion......Do it here!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slipping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been going here for years...including when it was Pats tavern before this. Over the last two years it has been declining. This last visit the table was sticky, the food took long to come, the order was wrong and the food wasn't good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3rd Annual SPFHS Roar at the Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Connolly Station is a GREAT venue for a HS reunion! Management of the event was incredible! If your HS is ready for a reunion, give John a call at Connolly!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went there for the first time on Fathers day. We ate in the dining room section and the quick tale is the food was "ok". My burger was a bit over cooked, but was really just plain and didn't have much flavor. All of our main courses were along the same lines, just ok. Nobody raved about any of it, but nobody complained, other than waiting 45 minutes for our order to come out (which the waitress apologized for).
We shared the hot wings for an appetizer and they were actually pretty good, if you are expecting spicy, then these aren't for you, but everyone liked them.
With the main courses being "just ok" and waiting 45 minutes for our order to come out, I likely won't be returning and will try some new places.
With that being said, they had a bar in the band and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connolly Station also viewed

Belmar, Jersey Shore
 
Belmar, Jersey Shore
Belmar, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Connolly Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connolly Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.