We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we finally went.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market

Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market
1600 Highway 71, Belmar, NJ
732-681-7755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Belmar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Glad we finally went.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've passed Mr. Shrimp for years and never ventured in. This past Friday my better half suggested that we have dinner there because a few of her friends recommended it. I'm glad we did. The food was great! Fresh fish delivered at reasonable prices by an efficient wait staff all added up to a great meal. Mr. Shrimp is a lot larger than it looks from outside but we still had to wait for a table indicating that they must be good. The only knock I have on the place is that is very noisy because of a high ceiling and hard surfaces everywhere. If you can deal with the noise go there and get yourself a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place isn't upscale, but the food is good. Fresh and prepared perfectly. Try it for a quick bit or dinner, you will be happy you did.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We tried this place on whim, and are so glad we did. We are always searching for places to get fresh seafood. A friend had mentioned it and we are so glad they did...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan. NJ
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Shrimply Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located in a strip mall on Rt. 71 & Seventeenth Avenue, this Belmar BYO serves imaginatively prepared fish and seafood at remarkably reasonable prices. We visited recently with a college classmate and his wife on a Saturday evening en route to a movie at the Beach Cinema. One of the specials was a "Seafood Mixed Grill," consisting of salmon, swordfish and tuna in a horseradish cream sauce accompanied by asparagus and mashed potatoes. He and I found it excellent. Our wives had lobster salad (not on the menu, but staff are flexible), also excellent. The sole minus is the noise level; by the time we departed for the movies, the restaurant was full and the din audible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glad we tried Mr. Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wow...we were surprised by the excellent quality of the seafood and the reasonable price! The ambiance was fantastic, great casual dining atmosphere. Service was very good. The staff was efficient and friendly. When asked, our waitress gave her opinion of our choices and acknowledged when she had not tried one of our picks. We liked the fact that the market is far enough away from the dining area. We did not encounter any fishy smell. Very clean throughout. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market also viewed

Belmar, Jersey Shore
Belmar, Jersey Shore
 
Belmar, Jersey Shore
Belmar, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Shrimp Seafood Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.