We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENGLESIDE IS GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Engleside Inn
30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Beach Haven
Croton on Hudson, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ENGLESIDE IS GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

What an enjoyable three days at Engleside. Pricey rooms in-season but worth the extra cost. Our oceanfront room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The private balcony overlooking the ocean was a real plus for cocktails and cards. We highly recommend eating lunch at the Sand Bar. We had the most delicious fried fish sandwich ever! The pool was crystal clear and the lifeguard was adorably chatty and friendly. We have been back twice since our first visit and will continue coming to Engleside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncannon, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

First time back to LBI in 15 years, we decided to try this place based on the reviews here. What a place our room was the cleanest I've been in, steps from the beach, staff was great. Staying this early in the season has it's draw backs ( some shops open some not ) , but no crowds our 2 and 4 yr olds loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in the ocean front suite with jacuzzi and a large deck. It was very clean and comfortable with an amazing view. Pets are permitted at this time of year which was great for us. Room service and food from the Leeward Restraunt was excellent as was the maid service. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is our third year going to the Engleside. The past two years we have gone for one week in July and one mid-September. We just left today 9/20/09. We stay in on the third floor overlooking the ocean. We got so spoiled ordering room service from the Leeward Restaurant! We think the food is excellent. There are other good restaurants too, but why travel when you can have great food brought right to your room with the best view in town! Clean rooms, sparkling ocean and sands. We love you Engleside!!

Debbi and Charlie - Greenwich, CT

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Twp., NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

I went with my elderly mother, my sister, and my son. We stayed in a suite with an efficiency on the third floor for three nights. This hotel is right on the beach with nothing in between -- the location can't be beat! The place was clean, the beds comfortable, and the maid service excellent. The pool was great and a nice alternative to the chilly ocean. We really had a ball. They have a bar/restaurant by the pool, good food and it's nice to be able to have a drink while hanging out at the pool. They also have a well respected restaurant (which I cannot recommend because we did eat there), which serves dinner. The hotel also serves breakfast and lunch, again, we did not eat there. We did have dinner by the pool one evening, it was good food, but the tables were dirty and were not cleaned by the waitress. We had to do it. The hotel is also located next to the town park which holds concerts on Wednesday evenings. Also very close to the hotel is an ice cream parlor called the Show Place -- excellent ice cream. You can either wait in line to go inside for the show and your ice cream creation OR you can always go to the take out window and enjoy your ice cream right away!
All in all this hotel comes recommended. I will try to upload some pictures.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was a nice hotel, but it was very old. The rooms are dark, but clean. The location of the hotel can't be beat, though! Center of town is within walking distance, and the beach is right downstairs! It's great to be able to walk to the beach and back to the pool and then walk right back to the room to get changed. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We love this place - their prices aren't out-of-sight AND they allow dogs. As our large German Shepherd mix dog goes everywhere with us we look forward to our stays there while visitng family in the LBI area!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Spray Beach Inn
Spray Beach Inn
#9 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Holiday Inn, Ba...
Show More
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Luxury, Fitness...
Show More
16.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 61 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Luxury, F...
Show More
16.2 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#2 of 61 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#3 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Non smoking, Fr...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Address: 30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engleside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Engleside Inn to your Saves list