We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Save
You added Engleside Inn to your Saves list
30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Making our way from Boston to DC, we sought a nice place for one night - and thought it would be good to leave our tourist dollars with local establishments hit by Hurricane Sandy a year ago. We decided to try for Beach Haven on Long Beach Island. To our dismay, however, all the small B&B's had closed for the season. Virtually the only option was the Engleside Inn.

In fact, however, it was even more what we wanted than would have been a B&B: It was RIGHT on the water, and we could hear the surf (now a tame sea compared to that which devastated the area a year ago) and see the sun rising. The room was quite comfortable and clean. A "library" of DVD's was available for viewing in the rooms. Though they do not offer breakfast, complimentary coffee and muffins were available early.

Best, however, was how much this motel contributed to the community in the aftermath of the hurricane. Having been spared any damage while also having two generators, they provided housing for firefighters and police officers; "meals" of hotdogs and bottled water; and refuge for for many without homes.

This was win-win: Time on the Island during a season that is QUIET, beautiful walks on the beach, and supporting the local community.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean. They may be a bit more expensive, but they are truly wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
56
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We wanted to go to the beach for a few days and had trouble finding hotels on the Jersey Shore that let you bring dogs. This place did and we got a deal if you stayed 3 nights the fourth night was free and no pet fee! Unbelievable, some places charge up to $30 a dog a night (we have 2).The place was really great and super close to the beach so you could run back and forth to your room for items you needed. Loved Beach Haven in general and would return.

Room Tip: We had to stay on the bottom floor because our dogs have arthritis and can't do steps, but the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Engleside for my birthday weekend and it couldn't have been nicer for a shore hotel. We got an oceanfront suite with 2 double beds, a small efficiency kitchen, and a living room with a great view of the ocean. The balcony had new comfortable lounge chairs. We didn't need them, but the sofas opened up to queen-size beds. The suite was clean and fresh- smelling with basic amenities like an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, small fridge, coffee pot, toaster, and frying pans. It even had a small bottle of Palmolive dish soap. There were 2 tv's and 2 DVD players.

Room service was available from the Engleside restaurant, which is one of LBI's best restaurants. We didn't use room service, but it was good to know it was available. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. It's a comfortable inn, but don't expect a luxury hotel. One downside is that there is no elevator, although I believe you could ask for help in carrying your bags. We were on the second floor, but last time we were on the third floor, which has a better view since it's higher up over the parking lot which is behind the building before the dunes and ocean. We went the last week in October, which is when some of the restaurants close for the winter (Stefano's and Chicken or the Egg), so it was relatively quiet (although you may hear dogs barking in the morning since animals appear to be permitted).

Overall, we had a great time and I'd consider making this an annual event. We always rent a condo in the summer and staying at the Engleside in October is a great way to say goodbye to summer/fall and get ready for the holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just spent 4 days at a conference hosted at the Engleside. The staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were taken care of. It was a wonderful place to hold and attend an event. I would highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Friend and I decided to go down during October. We had a great time. She brought her very well behaved dog. The weather was perfect, the pool and ocean were wonderful. We especially like the convenience. The Sand Bar's friendly staff and poolside service can't be beat! We also love the Sushi!

The rooms on the first floor are not as nice. We choose ocean front efficiency, which was very nice and affordable in October. Third time there and we'll be back!

Engleside is a great "Beachy" find. Love it.

Room Tip: Don't choose 1st floor, rooms are outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

..and we can't wait to go back! We go off season (usually May and Sept-Oct), so we can bring the dogs. That's the best thing about this place, it's very dog friendly! There's a huge park right across the street to walk them in the morning, not to mention they are allowed on the beach. We always stay in room 310. It's definitely worth the $$. It's super clean and the service has always been excellent for us. We love everything about The Engleside and recommend it to friends often. The last time we were here was, I believe, May 2011, we haven't been back since, because of an old dog that recently passed. There are no elevators, only stairs, and he couldn't make the three flights. We are heading down this month with our other two dogs. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown, pa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First, it is difficult to find a true oceanfront hotel at beach haven...so the location is what brings it from "average" to "very good". As most people have said, pool area is nice, pool is clean and heated. Poolside bar and grill is fine, though food is not as good as the Sea Shell next door. The beach is right there, and you could have beautiful views from the second story or third. The changing room is NOT great. There are three toilet stalls, with no hooks on the walls. there is a shower. There is no other private space, like a dressing room. So, it makes it very difficult to maneuver, especially if you are elderly or large. We had an oceanfront suite, with two double beds in the bedroom and two pull-out sofas in the living room. The sofa beds were excruciatingly uncomfortable. The other beds were better, but not great. The bedroom just barely fit the two beds and a small dresser. The bathroom was small, without any storage capability, but it was clean. The kitchenette was convenient, though the coffee pot held only 4 cups and the trash can was so small, we would have to use the bathroom one as well. The tv was small, and you couldn't hear it because the AC unit was so darn loud. we should have called management about it, but didn't. we did call mgmt about the outside deck light, which was broken. They sent someone up immediately to fix it. last, but not least...if you could avoid our room, number 221, do so. The problem is that the laundry facilities are right below it, so all the hot air, noise and even some lint, wafts up to your deck. So what would be a beautiful view and quiet relaxing time is ruined by the laundry.

Room Tip: Avoid 221 because of laundry facilities below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Address: 30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engleside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.