We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Engleside -- great location, good food, lovely room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Save Saved
You added Engleside Inn to your Saves list
30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Leonia, NJ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Love the Engleside -- great location, good food, lovely room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to the Engleside for my birthday weekend and it couldn't have been nicer for a shore hotel. We got an oceanfront suite with 2 double beds, a small efficiency kitchen, and a living room with a great view of the ocean. The balcony had new comfortable lounge chairs. We didn't need them, but the sofas opened up to queen-size beds. The suite was clean and fresh- smelling with basic amenities like an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, small fridge, coffee pot, toaster, and frying pans. It even had a small bottle of Palmolive dish soap. There were 2 tv's and 2 DVD players.

Room service was available from the Engleside restaurant, which is one of LBI's best restaurants. We didn't use room service, but it was good to know it was available. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. It's a comfortable inn, but don't expect a luxury hotel. One downside is that there is no elevator, although I believe you could ask for help in carrying your bags. We were on the second floor, but last time we were on the third floor, which has a better view since it's higher up over the parking lot which is behind the building before the dunes and ocean. We went the last week in October, which is when some of the restaurants close for the winter (Stefano's and Chicken or the Egg), so it was relatively quiet (although you may hear dogs barking in the morning since animals appear to be permitted).

Overall, we had a great time and I'd consider making this an annual event. We always rent a condo in the summer and staying at the Engleside in October is a great way to say goodbye to summer/fall and get ready for the holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just spent 4 days at a conference hosted at the Engleside. The staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were taken care of. It was a wonderful place to hold and attend an event. I would highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Friend and I decided to go down during October. We had a great time. She brought her very well behaved dog. The weather was perfect, the pool and ocean were wonderful. We especially like the convenience. The Sand Bar's friendly staff and poolside service can't be beat! We also love the Sushi!

The rooms on the first floor are not as nice. We choose ocean front efficiency, which was very nice and affordable in October. Third time there and we'll be back!

Engleside is a great "Beachy" find. Love it.

Room Tip: Don't choose 1st floor, rooms are outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

..and we can't wait to go back! We go off season (usually May and Sept-Oct), so we can bring the dogs. That's the best thing about this place, it's very dog friendly! There's a huge park right across the street to walk them in the morning, not to mention they are allowed on the beach. We always stay in room 310. It's definitely worth the $$. It's super clean and the service has always been excellent for us. We love everything about The Engleside and recommend it to friends often. The last time we were here was, I believe, May 2011, we haven't been back since, because of an old dog that recently passed. There are no elevators, only stairs, and he couldn't make the three flights. We are heading down this month with our other two dogs. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown, pa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First, it is difficult to find a true oceanfront hotel at beach haven...so the location is what brings it from "average" to "very good". As most people have said, pool area is nice, pool is clean and heated. Poolside bar and grill is fine, though food is not as good as the Sea Shell next door. The beach is right there, and you could have beautiful views from the second story or third. The changing room is NOT great. There are three toilet stalls, with no hooks on the walls. there is a shower. There is no other private space, like a dressing room. So, it makes it very difficult to maneuver, especially if you are elderly or large. We had an oceanfront suite, with two double beds in the bedroom and two pull-out sofas in the living room. The sofa beds were excruciatingly uncomfortable. The other beds were better, but not great. The bedroom just barely fit the two beds and a small dresser. The bathroom was small, without any storage capability, but it was clean. The kitchenette was convenient, though the coffee pot held only 4 cups and the trash can was so small, we would have to use the bathroom one as well. The tv was small, and you couldn't hear it because the AC unit was so darn loud. we should have called management about it, but didn't. we did call mgmt about the outside deck light, which was broken. They sent someone up immediately to fix it. last, but not least...if you could avoid our room, number 221, do so. The problem is that the laundry facilities are right below it, so all the hot air, noise and even some lint, wafts up to your deck. So what would be a beautiful view and quiet relaxing time is ruined by the laundry.

Room Tip: Avoid 221 because of laundry facilities below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Engleside Inn - it is perfect for the whole family. We love being right on the beach and also having a heated pool. The Sandbar has great food and delicious drinks. The rooms are nice - nothing fancy. The location is really what sells this place - we can walk to dinner, ice cream, mini-golf, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over Labor Day weekend and really enjoyed our time at the Engleside. The pool and beach were steps away and very nice. The rooms were clean and AC was cold, beds and furniture were perfectly fine. Cons, in my opinion, were that it was expensive, there was too much AstroTurf carpeting around the place and you are not guaranteed a parking space, meaning you might have to drop off your family and bags then walk 3 blocks from where you park on the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Address: 30 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engleside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.