We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Black Whale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Whale Bar & Fish House

Black Whale Bar & Fish House
100 N Pennsylvania Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1835
609-492-0025
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Black Whale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Inviting restaurant nestled within the Beach Haven residential community. The Black Whale Bay Water drink was very refreshing for the summer. Enjoyed a oyster PO boy that was very filling. Would definitely return in the future. Thanks to Lindsay for superb service and the PO boy recommendation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    60
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food was excellent Go early, it fills up FAST!. We dined there 2 night and we were satisfied with service, food and prices. It is a must go in Beach Haven. We had 2 children with us and their meals were also Great !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait on a Crowded Summer Friday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were a party of 9 so we were able to make a reservation. Only large parties can make reservations. But even with advance planning we could not get in until 7:30 which turned out to be delayed until 8. When we arrived at 7:50 the place was so packed we could barely get in the door. It is a rather small place with almost no place to stand when the bar is crowded. We were seated after about 15 minutes so not too bad. Th decor is simple with brown paper for the table covering. There are buckets of large oyster crackers (balls). We had lots of fun drawing on the table covering and laughing over the crackers. The food is top notch and worth the wait. The seafood was all fresh and flavorful. Every one of our party enjoyed their meal. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, fresh Seafood - good for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just ate at Black Whale last night. I had 5 15-17 year-olds in tow. Service is great. We booked a table. They only take reservations "day of", and they start taking them at 11.30 - I rang at 11.31 and had no issues; we were seated exactly on time. A nice bar scene, great selection of beers and wine. Lots of choices, so all budgets can be accommodated. I had broiled seafood combo, my son had the Jumbalaya, someone had the salmon - all wonderfully cooked, and super fresh.
Not the cheapest place on the Island, but will definitely come again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just came back from a week at LBI, and visited the Black Whale for lunch. The food was very good, albeit a bit pricey for lunch. It was wide open mid-week, but it gets packed at night. Reservations recommended at night for sure. The server was attentive and patient with the young children in our group. I would go back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Fish House also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Whale Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Whale Bar & Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.