We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,wonderful views,friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts
Save Saved
You added Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts to your Saves list
5416 South Bay Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Beach Haven
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
“Great location,wonderful views,friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Jolly roger is a wonderful motel, seconds from the beach, Roof deck has great views of the ocean and bay.The staff is very friendly, My husband and I enjoyed an additional day on the beach,after checkout and we were allowed to use the bathrooms and outdoor shower afterwards!! I highly recommend if you are looking for a clean motel, with resonable rates, awesome views and great customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for a night and after many calls to various hotels/motels on LBI we came across the Jolly Roger. Wow were we surprised upon our arrival. It is located literally across the street from the beach. The check in room is not your typical lobby, it is a very bright, beachy and cozy "family room". The rooms are extremely clean and ours even had a wonderful view of the ocean. After a great day at the beach we relaxed on the rooftop deck with spectacular views before getting ready for dinner. We definitely look forward to a return visit...possibly even in October for their "chili cookoff".

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed in several motels in LBI the past few years and the Jolly Roger is by far the best. It is the cleanest I have seen in LBI and the proximity to the beach is perfect. Judy is a wonderful host and manager. My family had 3 rooms this past week and it was perfect for everyone. My children cannot wait to return and we will be back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are from Quebec,and when we arrived what a surprise!!!!! The location was unbelievable, so close to the ocean !!!!! And what can we say about the owners, they were so wonderful. The rooms are clean and big enough. It's calm and quiet !!! If i have the chance, i will go back !!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is the best location on the island with reasonable rates for a simple and clean room and super nice owners. We did not like the fabric of the bedding, would prefer simple cotton. Bring pillows is my tip. If you can somehow sleep with a loud window AC unit cranking, this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friendly, charming inn with the best staff ever. Quiet location at the end of the island. Some rooms have water views (our did!). Always appreciated the crumb cake and coffee in the morning. Clean, comfortable, and a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second summer staying at the Jolly Roger. This time I brought a group of friends 0 we and a wonderful time.
The Jolly Roger is in a great location at the end of Long Beach Island with lovely beaches but it's still close to all the restaurants and shopping in Beach Haven.
The Judy, Brad and staff make you feel like you are staying with family (the good relatives that you want to see again and again). We felt perfectly at home in hanging out in the lobby one rainy afternoon where we read, worked on a puzzle and chatted. They also have great recommendations for things to do in the area.
Rooms are comfortable and very clean. We loved having the patio in one of our rooms so we could all hang out together. We also enjoyed the rooftop decks.
We are already planning our visit for next summer.

Room Tip: If you have a group - get one room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts

Address: 5416 South Bay Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1013
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Motel And Gifts Hotel Beach Haven
Jolly Roger Motel And Gifts Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Motel and Gifts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.