We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place that you can even book last minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
207 Third St., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place that you can even book last minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Definitely will return!! We booked pur trip last minute, so we were unable to get a room with our own bathroom, happily it wasn't a huge bother for us. Joanne, Mark and Victoria were very kind, considerate, and accommodating! Breakfasts were awesome! What was really nice, was the fact that for a small fee on check out day you can get the bath house special, includes beach badge for the day and you can return to shower, it was a wonderful option, that allowed us to extend our day!! Looking forward to our return!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    10
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My sister and I are currently trying to plan a small, low key, girls' weekend for our best friend's bachelorette party. It is my understanding that a husband and wife own this establishment...I spoke with the wife at length about our plans and how we could only really afford a one night stay on the weekend for our getaway. After a very long conversation, the wife agreed to work with us and let us stay for one night, a Saturday. We were so excited and gracious but we were not able to book as we had to check with the bride to make sure that our plans worked for her. I called back approximately an hour later to book the room. The husband answered the phone and proceeded to tell me that a one night stay was never offered to us. I explained to him that we had just spoken with his wife and read back to him the information that we had written down. Again, he denied that we had been offered this deal. I asked to speak with his wife. He said that she was standing next to him and she was saying that she never offered us a one night stay. We WERE offered a one night stay as an exception. I told him that I was very confused by this....as I was talking with him, I could hear his wife in the background saying, "Just give it to them." Clearly, she did remember offering this deal and her husband was very upset with her and would not honor what she offered to us. I cannot begin to explain how saddened all of us are. We were all looking forward to a low key weekend together. How very unprofessional of this man to go against what his wife had offered. I am appalled by their unprofessional behavior.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandguesthouse, Owner at Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Three or four ladies wanted, they didn't know how many at the time, wanted to have a low cost get away in a single room in the prime time of summer on Long Beach Island. ALL lodging businesses, hotels, motels and Bed and breakfasts require a minimum of 2 night stay with some as many 4 nights required. Why would we allow 4 ladies to rent a single room for one night when we wouldn't allow any other guests to that. We did have 2 room suites availible for Friday and Saturday. This is the standard on LBI for minimum stay requirments. We have standards for minimum night stays based on the month or time of year. One night on a Saturday in June is not our standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Joanne, Mark and Victoria made our wedding easy and beautiful! With so many questions they were eager to please. They let us store things at the B&B prior to the event, let us move things around however we wanted, and even allowed us to use their kitchen. Victoria even served as our bartender! We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day and venue. My only complaint is that it went by too fast!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife, me and best friends spent an impromtu weekend and expectations were exceeded. This Circa 1900 B&B was so charming and well kept we felt at home. We were nicely greated and handed a 'welcome bag' of goodies that most bigger establishments should copy.

The rooms were comfortable and clean however, small. but hey - it's a Circa 1900 B&B! The details all around, as well as in the kitchen were well thought out - I wish I had a kitchen like that. Breakfast was good and the eating area inside and out were comfortable and enjoyable. It had an outside shower - perfect!

We wanted to spend as much time at the beach as possible and the fact that IGH was a block from the beatiful beach allowed us to relax and enjoy. Area has good resturaunts (with long lines) and entertainment for children. We were solo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Island Guest House costs about $100/night more than it should. The house is older and the rooms are small (many with uncomfortable mattresses and/or shared bathrooms), and you can really hear everything because of the thin walls and old floors. Though the owner makes an abundant breakfast, the breakfast is just okay. I'd be willing to pay about $130-150 per night for a place like this (only the rooms with private bathrooms), but the rooms run about $230/night, which is just too much. I also did not like that the owner required half payment at the time of booking and full payment upon check in (rather than check out).

The pros are that it's well-located, has a beautiful courtyard to sit outside and enjoy breakfast, is very close to the beach, and is very clean. The owner also tries to make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife booked this place for my birthday. We got there around 9 PM and found the key to our room waiting for us with a paper with enough information to answer all of our questions. We woke to the delicious smell of breakfast cooking downstairs and were not disappointed at all with the maple sausage,french toast, bagels, juices and freshly brewed coffee, especially since we had the option of eating in the dining room or outside on the patio. We had a nice room with a private bath and soft towels. We were provided with beach tags and beach chairs plus the option of using their bikes if we wanted to take a ride. The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. After returning from the beach, we found homemade orange cake and brownies in the kitchen ( We loved the orange cake!). Great location for restaurants. The Chicken or the Egg about a block away, had the best Manhattan clam chowder on the island with an added bonus of amazing chicken pot pie. Our overall experience was very pleasant and would definitely consider staying there in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandguesthouse, Owner at Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. They say 90 percent of people who dont like something review, but only 1 percent of positive review get written. That just means so much more to me that you enjoyed your stay enough that you went out of your way to write! Cant wait to see you again somtime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family spent several days at the Inn (2 adults, 2 kids). Let me start with the positive: yummy breakfast, kind and accommodating staff, good intentions, location that is about a block away from the absolutely packed beach in front of Engleside and SeaShell Resort so you were removed from that craziness. It also has a great location near the fun in Beach Haven. Now, I am a big fan of the jersey shore and understand the difficulty of trying to maintain a business that only generates income for a couple of months a year but people deserve to hear different perspectives. Although some may use the word "charming" to describe certain B&Bs, I would describe this Guest House as old, tired, and quirky. At over $400 per night, we didn't expect to have windows covered by old, worn fabric, beds with bedding that must be over 30 yrs old (1980s), and dusty storage hidden in the corners of the room. Our bathroom door did not close properly and the sink fell off the wall (which my husband easily hung back on again). We were in the Hideaway where there is no stand up shower. It was a bit awkward taking a shower outside(one shower for the inn) and then running up several flights of steps (entering the dining area from the side or else the front door). It wasn't just one major thing that put us off but MANY quirky or yucky things. Again, the staff was very nice which is the only reason I am giving 2 stars. If you close your eyes and only want a bed as a means to the beach then this place is fine. But for the money? Not so sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 207 Third St., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Guest House has been Voted the Best Bed & Breakfast on Long Beach Island. It is a turn-of-the-century historic Inn, located oceanside in the heart of Beach Haven, New Jersey. You can walk to everything. The owners, Mark and Joanne, work hard to make you comfortable, and provide the lovely setting, ambience, and character that a 100 year old plus Inn affords, updated with modern amenities like WIFI, flat screen TV, A/C, etc. Some rooms have private decks, his/hers double size shower. Our bicycle-for-two is fun and lightweight beach chairs, boogie boards and outside enclosed shower to rinse off are convenient. Taste homemade breakfast and afternoon refreshments like cakes and cookies from family recipies, and iced tea or lemonade to quench your thirst after the beach. Enjoy coffee 24 hours, and chat with the Innkeepers about things to do in the area. Come and experience the restfulness of our Bed and Breakfast Inn! Couples can get away, and there is an area for well behaved children. We also have a cottage with gas fireplace and bathtub with jacuzzi jets that sleeps 4, and accepts dogs of a not-too-large, well behaved nature. Families and friends can find accommodations for up to 10 in their party. Our Sea Glass room is new, holds 36, and has a large flat screen TV for movie night or a special game or event. Our garden has 10 umbrella tables and over 300 blooms, has a lighted patio and candles in the evening. With lights shinging through the many stained glass windows in the Inn, it is a perfect place to gather and chat, or be secluded together any time. Our cafe kitchen with its large island is a favorite place for guests to feel welcome to come and perch and chat with the Innkeeper over a cup of coffee or treat, or watch us prepare goodies. You can even get a recipe or help! We try to provide assistance without hovering, being sensitive to your needs to relax, and get information when you need it by always being available. We carry our phone with us always even at night when we retire. Throughout our stay, we only ask that if you have any questions or needs, to let us know, because we cannot help you if you wait untill checkout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Guest House Bed And Breakfast Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Guest House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.