We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Beach Haven Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fred's Beach Haven Diner
4TH St & Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
(609) 492-4269
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 71 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went to Fred's early in the am before it got busy and we had great service and great food. We all just ordered breakfast: eggs, home fries, toast and various breakfast meats. Great service, great food and definitely would go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Simple diner food, good choice for a burger or eggs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to Fred's twice during vacation. First we went for lunch and had simple sandwiches and wraps. The food was good, priced appropriately, and service was good. My son liked his chicken Caesar wrap and my daughter liked her omelette. I had a Reuben,which was also good. I went back with a friend a few days later for breakfast. We had omelettes which were just average, nothing very special about them. I was surprised that they didn't have a Greek omelette, but they did have a build your own omelette option so I came as close as I could. Service again was good. Fred's is a big, clean diner and certainly not as crowded as some other places nearby. The hours are limited during the week; I sent a a friend there but the place was closed at 6 on a weeknight. Check the hours before you go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The food was gross. My husband's grilled cheese was only half cooked and my sandwich- can't remember if it was turkey or chicken- I was not able to eat much of and I was starving! It's def kid-friendly and plenty of room but there are plenty of other places to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

With a long line at most breakfast places we passed, we went to Fred's. There were 5 of us, but we didn't want to wait at the seperate entrance for large groups since that also had a long line. We broke up into a group of 2 and 3. The owners wife was so accomodating, realizing that we really were all together she had us wait just a little bit and seated us all together.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, awkward management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Food is great and at very reasonable prices. Great waiter - young blond guy who was very friendly. However, the man who I thinks is the owner was such a dud and not acting like a manager. He has little to none people skills and it definitely shows thru the otherall culture. May go back again for a quick low prices meal but disappointed by the awkward, unfriendly manager.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Beach Haven Diner also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Fred's Beach Haven Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Beach Haven Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.