We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool at the Sea Spray” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Motel to your Saves list
Sea Spray Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Loved the pool at the Sea Spray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In early June 2014, my husband, 11-year old son, and I stayed one night at the Sea Spray Motel before we were able to check into our rented condo. When we visit LBI for short stays, we usually stay at the Mariner Inn or the Engleside, but we wanted to try a new place, so we decided to go to the Sea Spray on the border of Beach Haven and Holgate.

We loved having the huge pool to ourselves. They billed it as "heated," and once you got in and swam around, it was perfect, but definitely not as warm as the super heated Mariner's pool. There was lots of room for swimming in both a large deep end and another large shallow area, and there were many chairs and lounges available to relax in. Really great pool. We ended up getting up early the next morning and taking another swim.

We also were excited that they had a ping pong table, that was a nice touch. There is also a barbeque grill available, as well as a basketball hoop. The outside is very clean and well kept, and the beach is an easy walk across the street from the motel.

There were two chairs outside every room to enjoy the great breezes. The room itself was a typical beach motel room. There were two beds, a table and chairs, dresser with tv on top, plus a refrigerator and microwave. There was no carpeting, which was probably good considering the sand you end up dragging in, and they had a broom in the room to sweep things up. Everything was clean - no complaints. The bathroom was fine, and there were several mini-shampoos and soaps provided. The only thing the bathroom was lacking was a hook or two to hang towels or clothes, that was the only thing I would change about the room.

The front desk people were very friendly. And overall, the motel feels like a real family-friendly place to stay. You're not really walking distance to restaurants and stores here like you are when staying at the Mariner or the Engleside, but taking a short drive in the car is no big deal.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place to stay in the Beach Haven area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
56
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cute place with all the amenities. Rooms are clean spacious and have all that you need. 4 bbq grills to cook on every night and a huge pool for when the ocean is too cold or beach to crowded. Youll pay half the price of a house AND you get a pool as a bonus. Family friendly with kids of all ages to make fast friends. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Place is tucked away on tbe south shore and is very quiet. Ill book here from now on!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Came here for a long weekend the summer after Sandy to check things out and lend our support to the community. We decided NOT to rent a house like we usually do, and book a motel instead. After doing some research, we booked the Sea Spray. The hotel location was great ... far enough away from the Beach Haven hoopla to have some peace and quiet, but close enough to make it convenient. The nearby beach was lovely. The motel itself was clean, well-run and well-maintained. The pool was a plus as we normally never have access to one when we rent a house. The kids LOVED that. They have some grills for guests to use which is nice, but kinda weird for us so we didn't use them. Wish they had a little more fun stuff for kids to do on property but they did have ping pong and foos ball. We ended up having a really nice, mini-vacation and the Sea Spray made it all come together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very clean, comfortable basic accommodations for a affordable price. Everything worked (ac, refridge, ice machine, coffeemaker and microwave). Beach access right across the street. ( So close, you could walk back to take a break when needed). Nice pool and deck area. Brand new chairs were being delivered and inspected upon our arrival. Nice gas grills ( for a longer stay). Bean Bag toss for children and adults alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sea Spray for the first time over Memorial Day weekend (after reading reviews on TripAdvisor) and will definitely be back. It's not fancy by any means but is a charming little beach motel. My girls loved it as they have a ping-pong table, foosball table, pool, and basketball hoop. The owners are very responsive and the motel itself is very clean. The motel is at the far end of Beach Haven which is great as the beach is beautiful and not too crowded (and access is directly across the street) but you are still only a 5 minute drive from great restaurants and the amusement park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here recently for a family memorial service. It was a "no vacancy" weekend. Despite lots of families and skateboarding kids, all was quiet at 9 pm. Room was good size, clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is a nice size but the shower could be larger as could the small TV.
All in all this is a very good motel.

Room Tip: No fitness center. Please delete the above poor rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My last stay was September 2013 and I already have several reservations to go back this year. I cannot say enough about staying here. The location is a short drive past the "hub-bub" which was perfect for us. I wanted to take my daughter to all activities and come back to a quiet and relaxing place to stay. The heated pool and beach are steps from each other, as well as picnic tables and grills if you choose to cook. The rooms and grounds are IMMACULATE and the beds are super comfortable. I'm a bit of a germaphobe so I even check under mattresses! They scrub the concrete outside! It is so well taken care of and most of all when I go there, I feel taken care of. Last year, I spent my birthday there. My daughter had mentioned it to Diane in the office and that day, when making up the room, I came back to find a happy birthday note and balloons from the motel! I don't know where else you would find something like that!! Do not hesitate to book a reservation here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Address: 2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort enterainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and free wifi. We also offer efficiencies, suites and apartments. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large inground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.