We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season on LBI--the best time to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Motel
2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Beach Haven
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Off season on LBI--the best time to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staying at Beach Haven for a couple of perfect Sept. days was enhanced by clean, comfortable, and convenient lodgings at the Sea Spray Motel. This basic 2-story motel also has larger accommodations for families. We enjoyed the large heated pool and appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms. The price was reasonable too. There are refrigerators and microwaves, as well as Wifi. If you're looking for luxury hotels on LBI, I don't think you'll find any--this is NOT Atlantic City. But if you want a good comfortable motel close to the beach, definitely try the Sea Spray. The folks who run it seem very conscientious and keep it well maintained. Unlike some motels, the windows actually open, so you can let in the fresh sea air.

Room Tip: Second floor may be more desirable with a view of the pool. Avoid first floor corner under the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
49
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at this place dozens of times over the last decade with the most recent back on August 18-21. The room and facilities are always clean and well maintained. The family that runs this place realy cares about their business and community. If there are ever concerns or problems with something they want to know right away so they can address it to make everyones stay better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Spray Motel for 2 nights, and when we arrived we were disappointed that our room didn't overlook the pool, as we requested (and were confirmed when we made our reservation). That aside, here are the pros and cons of our stay:

PROS:
great town
good location, quick walk to the beach
clean
great, child friendly pool for the kids

CONS:
no bed bug covers on the mattresses
room in need of refurbishment
super loud A/C
tiny, very thin towels

We would probably return to the Sea Spray because of the pool and the location, but might look for somewhere renovated instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

A very nice place for a relaxing vacation. A short walk to the beach. Extremely clean. Very conscientious staff. I didn't believe other reviews about the bath towels.
Believe it and bring your own; they were so small you couldn't wrap it around yourself after a shower.
We will definitely consider the sea spray on out next visit to lbi.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family has been vacationing in LBI for over 30 years. The last ten have been spent at the sea spray motel and we love it! From the friendly office staff who goes out of their way to accommodate our large family ever year, to the housekeeping staff, our stay is always more enjoyable every time we vacation with them. I highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a family friendly, clean, safe place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, N.Y.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family had a great time at this motel. It was very clean and Paco and the girls never stoped working.They are happy to accomodate any request. We truely enjoyed our stay here.I would reccomend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Summary: Perfect for families with young children. A quiet alternative to locations closer to the more commercial locations. Very close proximity to beach. Very friendly staff. Great value.

We found this through Tripadvisor and became intrigued after reading negative reviews about a 10PM curfew. Our assumption was that this rule was in place to cater more to those seeking something more tranquil as opposed to a rowdy beach bar scene, or perhaps for families looking for some quality family time. These assumptions proved correct. Harry and the staff, from front desk to maintenance, were all exceptional. The cost of the rooms in peak season could not be beat. We loved the very clean and well kept in-ground pool (perfect for the little ones), natural gas grills for those Do-it-Yourself cooks, ping pong, foosball, basketball and ample parking. So nice to be able to come back to your room after a fun filled and action packed day and get a good night's rest to recharge for the following day.

As far as motels go, this is by far one of the best I've seen. Rooms are clean, well maintained and management clearly takes pride in making sure everything works. But at the end of the day, it is a motel, so one should be realistic in what to expect from the rooms. Windows generally face one side and can be dark depending on the location of the room (our room was south facing). Bath towels are on the small side, but certainly useable. The only real issue we had was a general 'mustiness' of the rooms. One of the two rooms that we booked had it worse. Please note that this was IMMEDIATELY addressed by the attentive staff (disinfection/ionization/etc) with no questions asked. After being treated it was much better, but you still noticed the smell. Perhaps it was the carpeting of our rooms and the moisture getting trapped in the fabric. We did notice some other rooms that had hardwood floors and were possibly better. However, this could be a dilemma since the second floor rooms can transfer noise to the lower level without the carpet. In the end, considering the relatively low cost, excellent service, proximity to beach, pool, grills (will be more prepared next time!) and ample parking, it's a no brainer that we would consider coming back. I would not be surprised to see the Sea Spray continue to evolve and improve and give the pricier LBI "hotels and resorts" a run for their money. Service can be taught only so much. Most has to be from a genuine desire to accomodate customers, and it is here where the Sea Spray shines. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Hotel
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven
Address: 2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort enterainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and free wifi. We also offer efficiencies, suites and apartments. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large inground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Spray Motel to your Saves list