We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Clean and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Motel to your Saves list
Sea Spray Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly Clean and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sea Spray for 3 days around 6/28/12. We were fully delighted with every aspect of the place. We found plenty of parking on site, where there is no street parking allowed. The staff at check-in was super nice. We planned to use their small restroom outside the office put our swim suits on for the beach, but didn’t need to as our room was ready for check-in by about 11AM.
Our room was extremely clean as was the entire property. Our shower was a rel nice one-pice roomy insert type....NICE! There was never any concern about germs or bugs. We watched the cleaning crew in amazement several times. They left our room immaculate each day. They mopped the balconies every day! One day we watched in amazement as they methodically cleaned the pool area – wiping the lounges, cleaning the bottom of the tables, spray cleaning the pool’s water line (all of the girls together like an Olympic Clean Team!) The head cleaning lady obviously had her game together! OK – as you can tell - cleanliness is KEY for the wife and me!
In our room, the mini fridge, microwave, TV, and 1-cup coffee maker all worked well. If you drink lots of coffee, you might want to bring some extra pods (coffee bags).
I saw no elevators (3 stories). The air conditioners were a little noisy. They have a cool in-wall ice machine that was very dependable. The owner patrols the grounds all day making sure all is perfect. In the evening he enforces the quiet time around 9PM, which we considered a good thing! If you’re looking for a party-all-night hang-out, find another place. This establishment is for quiet, friendly couples and families. We used the gas grill there to make hot dogs one evening. The grills were like brand new and worked perfectly! The pool is heated – but the warm weather made that a moot point.
This motel is about a mile south of any other motels or restaurants (except an ice cream shop a block away). This seclusion seemed to make the beach much less crowded. The beach is a quick 2 minute walk across the street and down a nice boardwalk. Great clean beach! Lifeguards were a couple of blocks away but we swam freely in the ocean. North a mile is a nice outside shopping mall with plenty of restaurants. And there’s the amusement park there for kids. I highly recommend this motel and will certainly be staying there every time we visit Beach Haven, NJ.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked 4 nights and 5 days and it was the first time we stayed at this motel....Motell very clean, good location and right across the street from beach. There is a decent size pool, BBQs, ping pong tables and basketball hoop. The crowd was family oriented and quiet. The front desk was very helpful and we have a really good time on our trip. We would defintely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I made a last minute reservation for July 4th weekend. The people in the office were very nice and worked to accommodate me. The property is beautifully maintained. Extremely clean in spite of the volume of guests they have. Every member of the staff from the office to the girl watching over the pool area was very friendly and helpful.
The pool is very nice and pretty big. The walk to beach is barely a block. There are picnic tables and grills if you don't want to eat out. Basketball hoop and other games for the kids.
I would most definitely stay here again and hopefully I will be able to some time later this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Sea Spray is everything the reviews claim.We stayed the weekend of June 16 2012. It's clean, nicely maintained and well managed.
The pool area is spacious and the entire atmosphere is relaxing and quiet. We came for business but stayed an extra few days for fun. Will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked the Sea Spray last minute. It was only one of two motels available (online anyway) and I am glad we chose this one. While the room was a bit dated it was extremely clean! We had a large room with two queen beds, table and chairs, fridge, microwave, and decent sized bathroom.

The location was awesome, a short walk across the street to the beach and a couple of blocks to the bay. Very close to Fantasy Island and lots of restaurants.

There was ample parking and the heated pool was great. There were also some games by the pool area and some pool toys for the kids. The barbecues were also in the pool area and although we did not use them they looked immaculate.

We were able to use the beach badges for the rest of the day after we checked out which was great.

My only suggestions for improvement would be to get some real sized bath towels. They were like large hand towels. And maybe designate a smoking area or insulate the rooms better, our neighbors smoked ten packs a day outside their room and its all we could smell in our room. Other than that our stay was great and we will be back.

Prices were what you would expect to pay at peak season near the beach. If you are expecting a five star resort based on all the glowing reviews on trip advisor you will be disappointed. Expect a clean, well maintened, beach motel with the basic amenities you need for a great beach vacation and you will be very happy choosing this motel.

Room Tip: Bring something for the greenhead flies. They are all over the area. We got bit multiple times by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My family just returned home from staying at the cleanest, best maintained motel on the island.
The Sea Spray Motel was wonderful, the staff was extremly polite and went out of their way to help with our needs. The owner was visible during the whole week, constantly doing thing to improve the appearance of the motel. Immaculate, well maintained, close to the beach, beautiful heated pool, just all around nice....great weather also...We rented the three bedroom apt. right in the motel that was cleaned daily around our schedule.....can't say enough about the place....best kept secret on the island...

Room Tip: immaculate.......close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed there over the weekend and it really is a cute LBI hotel-a block from the beach and very quiet, clean and well maintained. The one bedroom with a queen bed is very small though-to use the bathroom you almost had to stand in the shower to close the door. So if you plan on going get a larger room and bring your own pillows-to say they're a little flat would be generous. (They're the reason my sleep quality rating is a little low.)

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with two beds and bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Motel

Address: 2600 S. Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Spray Motel is located at the Southern End of Long Beach Island. We are just steps to the Beach and Bayfront. Nestled in a secluded residential neighborhood one mile south from the center of Beach Haven you will enjoy the beach, heated pool and lounge area, picnic area with gas grills and tables in a clean, quiet, well maintained, family oriented environment. Sound like an LBI paradise? Warning: you may not want to leave our premise. Yet the lore of the Queen City abounds. Beach Haven has offered world class resort enterainment for centuries. All motel rooms are well equipped including refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, blow dryer, cable tv, ac, heat, phone, and free wifi. We also offer efficiencies, suites and apartments. The motel is across the street from the life guarded, fishing and surfing beaches. We will provide beach badges. We offer free off street parking. Our large inground pool offers an area to lounge in the sun and umbrella covered tables. We access a several mile bike lane passing the motel. Basket ball hoop area and ping pong table for more fun in the sun. Our staff attends to details and are willing to assist. We look forward to accommodating you visit.Thank you for choosing the Sea Spray Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sea Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Spray Beach Haven
Sea Spray Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.