We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time drive in experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom's Drive In

Dom's Drive In
3705 Long Beach Blvd, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4142
609-494-3333
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 71 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Old time drive in experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The best cheese steak subs with fries and onion rings. Thick milk shakes....leave your diet at home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“G TO THE ROSS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Wandered in here for some quick service food while staying on LBI. I ordered a cheeseburger and husband got a cheesesteak. I also ordered a birch beer which was completely flat. My cheeseburger "meat" was disgusting and the roll was stale. I walked up to the counter and asked for a new roll and explained mine was stale. They took the stale roll back and were very rude about it and did not even offer an apology. The cheeseteak was bland. This place is filthy dirty especially the doorway which looks like it hasnt been cleaned in months. Needless to say we will not be returning here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Was ok for drive in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stopped by while waiting for our 2pm check in time. A bit pricey for what you get, but the mozzarella sticks were tasty (sauce was eh) and the cheese fries had cheese on the side which was good. Cheesesteak was more roll than filling. Long wait for the food, not sure why. Has picnic table seating outdoors (covered). One window takes food orders ,the other ice cream.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average, at best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nothing really special other than the fact it's close to the beach.

I recently got a chicken salad sandwich. The chicken salad was bland. It lacked seasoning. It could have used a dash of herbs, salt and pepper to step it up some and make it special. In addition, it was a surprisingly small sandwich for $6.00.

Previously, we had tried a cheese steak. It was very average. In all fairness, we are from the Philly area so we have high cheese steak standards.

I must say the best thing we got there was the unsweetened iced tea. It was very good although a little pricey.

In sum, the best thing about Dom's is it's location. It's close to the beach and the side street that it intersects with has ample parking.

In the future, if I need to use their "customer only restroom", I'll get an iced tea and deal with the small and dank restroom then I'll head back to the beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Where's The Beef?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

While driving back from taking the children to see a show at The Surflight we stumbled upon Dom's not because we wanted to but because the rain from thunderstorms this past Friday made many of the side streets in Beach Haven impassable because of flooding to anything smaller than an M1 Abrams tank.

We got there about fifteen minutes before the food side closed and initially the lady at the counter was not going to take our order but she changed her mind and we were last order for the night.

The food was done about 10 minutes later and things were about what you would expect at a little beach tourist dive like this.

The chicken fingers were fried lightly and were surprisingly good.
The cheeseburger was done perfectly and the only real complaint would be that it was quite small for the price that was charged.
The two cheesesteaks were very good for what was in there but like the classic Wendy's commercials of the 80's we were saying "Where's the Beef"?

The cheesesteak rolls were huge and the amount of meat given compared to the size of the roll was flat out pathetic.

The ice cream side had a fair amount of flavors from Turkey Hill and it was doing steady business the entire time we were there as that side stays open later.

Overall Dom's was an OK stop, quite expensive though with 2 cheesesteaks - a cheeseburger -3 chicken fingers - 2 drinks equaled almost $35, considering that we were starved and the state of the side roads off of Long Beach Blvd.

But if we were in the area again, I definitely look for something with a bit more bang for the buck and something that closed a bit later on a Friday in season.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dom's Drive In also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dom's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom's Drive In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.