We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic example of how not to run a restaurant.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dutchman's Brauhaus

Dutchman's Brauhaus
2500 S Bay Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1203
(609) 494-6910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 72 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
nj
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pathetic example of how not to run a restaurant.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been vacationing on LBI for 10 years, and most years we stop in here for dinner. Not because it's a great version of European food. The food is usually just ok. But it is a nice break from the usual fare on the island, and we like our kids to have a variety of menus. AND we have had German au pairs with us (as we did tonight) so it's a fun family night out.
So tonight we arrived at 5:10 pm. On Monday. Seven people, 3 of us kids. Granted, we did not have a reservation. The parking lot was 3/4 empty. 5:10 pm on a Monday. The dining room was AT BEST 20% occupied. We were told it would take 15-20 minutes to seat us, and possibly a very long wait for food. On a Monday. At 5:10. Guy told us they just seated 'a very large party'..biggest table I saw walking thru the dining room was a table of 8. And the rest of the room was nearly empty. Then we were told that they expected a "large crowd" coming in soon. At 5:10. On a Monday.
We left. Went back on the island and had one of the best meals at the Blue Water Cafe.
Auf Wiedersehen.
Stupid way to run a business.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    16
    5
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely view, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Party of 8, arrived by boat. Sat up top. Nice view. Waitress slow at clearing the mess from last party. Good chowder, clam strips, knackwurst, bratwurst, eggplant and regular fries, crab cake, fish sandwich, pretzel bites, and soft pretzel. Decent enough foor. Informal. Bring a sweatshirt for after sundown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Me and my husband are staying in lbi and took a ride over to dutchmans. I had the baby back ribs which were so hard I had to have my husband cut them and I couldn't even get the meat off the bone. When I returned them to our waiter he took them back to the chef/owner and he preceded to say the were delious there is nothing wrong with them. He then wrapped them in a to go box and told the waiter to give them back to me and he said he wasn't taking it off the check even though I barely ate one! Our waiter was very good! But will never go back because of the owner! He doesn't deserve the business not does he know how to run one! The customer is always right!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing extraordinary, but I'd go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I dined there last night with my husband and a friend. My friend and I had the Jagerschnitzel and my husband had the duck. We shared an order of pretzels. The food was good, but not great. The portions are ENORMOUS -- get the half portion! They have a pretty good selection of beer.

The service was good -- attentive but not overly so.

The meal for 3 people came to $120 without tip. This is not a great value, even in a shore town.

Overall, I'd go there again, but I'm not likely to become a regular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice place to end your day at the beach. We sat outside on the deck which offered beautiful views of the water. The bar was full of happy and fun people and the servers worked hard. We had the knockwurst sandwich on a pretzel roll with french fries. The sandwich was good. The beer on tap - Miller Light and the IPA seemed to be watered down, our only disappointment. Bring cash, the outdoor area and I'm guessing the bar too, only take cash. Thank goodness there is an ATM on site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutchman's Brauhaus also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dutchman's Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutchman's Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.