We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hosts, best location, comfortable everything and a great home at the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Windward at the Beach to your Saves list
Windward at the Beach
200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hosts, best location, comfortable everything and a great home at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Windward by the Beach for 2 weeks in June. You can't beat the location or the atmosphere. We had everything we needed and more. We were able to save money by not eating out, not using the car, not buying beach badges, nor renting beach chairs and not buying coffee/tea every morning! The owners are the best...if you need them, they are always there to help. They leave you alone and let you use their home as if it were your own. The wrap around porch is wonderful especially on rainy days. Puzzles, games, couches and books galore. The outside showers are marvelous! The beds are comfy and the rooms are spacious! We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Sounds like you were able to explore all that Beach Haven and LBI has to offer. Our guests love parking the car and heading out on foot or via bike (rentals just around the corner). Beyond the beach, there's so much to do - or as you said, hunker down on the wrap-around porch for a game of Scrabble of afternoon book. We are looking forward to your next visit at the Windward at the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Third year staying at Winward which discovered accidentally and it has become a summer tradition. If you want an extremely relaxed beach vacation this is the place to be. The vibe at the house with the enclosed porch and outdoor tables lets you feel like you're at your own beach house without the hassle of binging sheets, blankets etc. Tammie does a fantastic job of running the place and making all guests feel welcome and is constantly working on improving an already great spot. Perfect location to stay and highly reccomend it to families with children as well as adults with no kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! We hope that a visit to the Windward at the Beach will become a tradition for other families as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Windward for 2 nights in room #4. The windward was perfect for us!! It's 1/2 a block to the ocean, walking distance to lots of great food, and about 7 blocks or so to Fantasy Island. Tammie, the owner, was really pleasant and welcoming. The room was just right for us. They had beach toys and boogie boards on hand for guests to use, outdoor showers and a clothes line for hanging up beach towels. There is also a nice area in the "lobby" to relax and an out door area where you can barbeque. We loved it and we'd certainly stay again... hopefully really really soon! Thanks Tammie!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are newly updated and have their own small porch and shared private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for posting your wonderful review. We strive to make families comfortable and happy. We are looking forward to hosting you on your return to LBI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My sister, two sons and I recently stayed here for three days and three nights. My family stayed here early in the week and had a wonderful experience. We parked the car on Monday and did not need to use it until the day we left. Tammie was a great hostess and the hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. I travelled with two young boys (ages 2 & 4) and Tammie always provided great suggestions on alternative things to do with them besides the beach. The location was excellent and very quiet. We were very close to the beach and the main avenue where all of the restaurants were located. We stayed in room 1 located on the first floor which was one of the suites. The room was spotless and large enough for four people. We had great air conditioning, but enjoyed sitting outside as well. All in all, I think we have started a new family tradition and we hope to be back at WIndward next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. So glad you had an opportunity to explore Beach Haven. Parking the car makes so much sense as the Windward at the Beach is so close to everything. Thanks for the feedback on the closet - we are working on it :) ! Hope you think of us for future visits to LBI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for our summer vacation and it was GREAT! You cannot beat the location, you are literally across the street from the beautiful beach. We parked our car when we got there and did not need it until we left. We walked everywhere, it was amazing. The room was nice and it was great to have the central air - we enjoyed the outside sitting area everyday too! Highly recommend staying here - the one thing i would change is (for our room anyway) having a better area to hang our clothes, but for the relaxing vacation for 2 we took, it was a minor detail :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review. Yes, location is key - and we love that you hop to the beach or venture to town in just a couple of minutes. Glad you appreciate the central air conditioning and thank for the feedback on the closet. We look forward to having you visit the Windward at the Beach in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have stayed at The Windward Manor many times in the past several years. This stay was our first with the new owners. We stayed in room 10 on the 3rd floor.
The location of the Windward is wonderful, just across the street from the beach entrance. From our room, we had a view of the ocean (however you must sit in the bathroom to get this view-- there is a low window with a bench in the bathroom...Lol. But it was nice to have). This particular room is a studio but there is a refrigerator and microwave and room for 4 people to sleep. Our favorite room at the Windward is room 6/7. It is a 2 room apartment with an view of the ocean from a bay window in the living room. That room has a full kitchen and a dining table in the bay window area. 6/7 has room for 7 people.
From the Windward, it is possible to walk to all the main attractions in Beach Haven... The rides at Fantasy Island, shops and numerous restaurants. If you just want a quick bite to eat you can head right across the street toward the ocean to the beach bar at The Engleside Inn.
I enjoyed the fact that the owners have set up a Keurig machine in the lobby so there is always fresh coffee available. They also have beach toys and beach badges for guests to use.
We always return to the Windward Manor due to it's location and family oriented style. It is near impossible to find a Bed and Breakfast in Long Beach Island that allows children. The owners here are very friendly and welcome families that are visiting Beach Haven.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean and need a lot of space, choose room 6/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! Just and FYI, we are now Windward at the Beach (though our bones remain Windward Manor).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shickshinny, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. The air flow was so nice we didn't need the A/C! We could see the ocean from our room, The area is very close to the beach and the staff was the best!
I would like to see a safe in the room for cash and credit card safety while at the beach.
We had the best weather and enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Public Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review room #8. We agree, room 8 has a great view of the ocean and gets some nice ocean breezes. Since you've stayed we have done a few upgrades including enlarging the bathroom, adding a flatscreen/DVD and some new furnishings. The view stays the same - beautiful! We look forward to your next visit to the Windward at the Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windward at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward at the Beach

Address: 200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 steps to white sand of LBI, Windward at the Beach in Beach Haven, NJ, exudes a beach/surf vibe. Relax, unwind, rejuvenate - it's the Pure Jersey Shore! Many lodging options, including studios, efficiencies and two room suites with full kitchens - children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Windward at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward At The Beach Hotel Beach Haven
Windward At The Beach Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.