We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Windward at the Beach to your Saves list
Windward at the Beach
200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family--all 19 of us--had an amazing time for a long weekend! The rooms were all spotless and accomodated from 2 to 8 of us. The location is superb; just walking distance from shopping, eating and amusing the kids when they finally left the beach. The hotel grounds provided a meeting place indoors and out so we could sit, talk and laugh together and still leave the rooms empty for those who wanted privacy. The caretakers were always pleasant and accomodating. In short--we just LOVE the WINDWARD!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My daughter and I spent a few days at the Winward. The rooms are very clean. The beds are comfortable with lots of pillows and blankets. The AC kept the entire room nice and cool. We stayed in room 11 on the third floor it was nice and quiet. LBI is our favorite beach and now the Winward is our favorite Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I could not have been happier with the location and service of the Windward. I had friends in from California and they had never been to the Jersey Shore. I was able to secure a room for one night minimum that would sleep all 7 of us (2 adults and 5 children) during high season! Tammie and her staff are terrific. The whole inn is perfect for the location. You cross the street and you are on the beach! Park your car and walk to dinner, mini golf and amusements. Sit outside on the patio enjoy your wine while the kids play in the screened in porch area right inside. My California friends loved it! True lbi without the fuss!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I’ve never written an online review before, but felt compelled to warn others about this place as I wish someone had warned me. We were extremely disappointed with our stay at Windward at the Beach, especially given the cost of the room. The location is fantastic, the staff is nice, and having a Keurig machine in the lobby so we could make coffee in the morning was great, but that’s where the positive things about Windward ends.

We stayed in Studio #8, which looked simple, but nice in the pictures. What the pictures don’t show is how run down and unkempt the space is. The room has a bed and a cot and the sheets on the cot had two stains on them. I told the staff, who said it would be changed and later in the day when the owner saw me, she apologized (although she did give some excuse about sand, even though sand was not the problem.) But the new sheets also had a stain on them and I just never felt comfortable sleeping there.

The bathroom is really small. There’s a huge split in the wallpaper. There are holes in the bathroom door. And this was really weird—the toilet seat is shorter than the toilet bowl! This not only looks weird but is actually uncomfortable to sit on. There were ants in the bathroom every day and some in the room.

In the room, there are nails on the walls with no pictures on them, the paint was peeling in and chipping quite badly in some areas by the windowsill, and there was what looks like a big smashed black bug on the ceiling that no one bothered to try to clean off. The bed skirt had major wrinkles in it. The white painted wicker chair has paint that is peeling off it. I’ve posted pictures.

The banisters on the stairs in the building were so sticky, as was the door handle, so we had to walk down the narrow stairs without touching them at all.

For $220 a night this is just unacceptable. The minimum I expect from a place is to be clean and neat and this place failed to meet my minimum standards. The defects were obvious and multiple and I simply cannot recommend this place to anyone. In the years of staying at inns and B&B’s, I have never experienced something like this. Quite frankly, I was pretty skeeved out by the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are sorry that this guest was dissatisfied with their beach experience. 99% of our guests are quite happy with their stay, so we take this review seriously. Windward at the Beach is a work in progress. Purchased two years ago, it is undergoing renovation, albeit seasonally. At present 60% of the rooms have been upgraded or renovated. Number 8 has not been upgraded, but most guests can settle in to new mattresses and linens and look beyond the dated appearance to the inviting bay window with views of the ocean. This room, (and others), are on tap for their upgrades this winter. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and do not take lightly this guest’s comments, though we can say with certainty that this does not represent the status quo. As a family friendly Inn, sometimes we find that sticky fingers have left a few prints, and a bit of sand, after our cleaning crew has left. If white doilies and pressed bedskirts are your penchant, alas, Windward at the Beach will leave you disappointed. We’re all about the beach experience: comfortable and clean accommodations, mellow surf music, beach hues, and friendly and hard-working staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Two things brought me to the Windward for a one-night stay on July 1: 1) My daughter's friend was performing at the Surflight Theater as "Annie", and 2) A livingsocial coupon that made the cost reasonable.

Upon our arrival around 12:30 PM our room was not yet ready (understandable since check-in is at 3 PM). They kindly offered us beach badges but we were getting ready to see the 2 PM matinee so we were at least able to get our things out of the car & inside. The location was perfect - just a half-block from the beach, diagonally across a grassy park from the theater, and just two short blocks to the main street where all of the shops & restaurants were. And FREE parking - didn't know that still existed in a beach town.

We stayed in room #4, which has a comfy queen-sized bed and an extra chair of about twin-bed-sized width which unfolds into a slightly-sloped sleeping space - probably only good for a smaller person. The room had a set of 6 small drawers, a separate A/C unit with a remote control and a decent-sized mini fridge with room to store several ice trays and a couple of freezer packs. There was also a decent microwave in the room (on top of fridge), but there was only one outlet in the immediate area that was used by the fridge, so I unplugged the fridge temporarily to use the microwave. There were other outlets, but I wasn't sure if I should use them for the microwave. The bathroom was small but certainly clean and nicely appointed & more than met our needs. The "closet" was in a space shared by the fridge & mircrowave - not a lot of space for hanging clothes, but you probably won't have many hanging clothes anyway...

Overall the room was cozy & comfortable - they even provided a souvenir beach bag with a tall bottle of smart water & sunscreen. No phone in the room, but these days, who needs one?

The property was very quaint & cozy - I could see spending several days there. Everyone from the owners to the cleaning staff were very friendly and accommodating . After coming back from the beach (after check out the next day), we were able to use one of their private outdoor showers, with towels provided & enough room to leave your clothes & get changed.

As for dining, we ate at Fred's (typical diner, nothing special), the Sea Shell hotel (typical hotel beach bar food) and Carmen's (great food, very uncrowded at lunch time). For dessert we ate Show Place (Big servings, but delicious), adjacent to the Surflight Theater. The employes in Show Place made you sing and dance by the kind of the ice cream you order.

Lastly, loved the beach - the surf is mild & my 9-year old could actually be in the water by herself!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a comfortable place for 2 travelers to sleep in. It has a separate entrance from the outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thanks for the kind review! We've fixed the outlet - so yes,you can use the microwave and fridge at the same time! Also, the futon chair can be configured to convert to a flat bed, but you're right we recommend it for small kids, though one of our reviewers did report that it was quite comfortable. And yes, the Surflight Theater is just across the park, and a must stop for the nightly summer stock theater offering, as well as their children's theater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was our first time staying at the windward and we were beyond pleased. The two owners are pleasant and very friendly. The room we stayed in was cozy and nice. It was newly renovated and they did a good job. Their rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely come back to this hotel again and stay here again. We loved this place and glad we chose the windward to stay at while in LBI.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have been going to LBI for years with our son, it is one of the few vacations we take together that everyone enjoys. This year, when we arrived at our Inn we found it had been CLOSED without notice. With our car full of our supplies (clothes, beach gear, bikes, etc) we were crushed that we might have to turn around and head home. Luckily I noticed a vacancy sign outside Windward at the Beach. We went into the office and spoke with the woman who runs the place. She was very sympathetic to our situation and was able to set us up with a room we could use at their place. She warned that all they had available was a small studio with a queen bed and pull out for my son, but we didn't feel like the room was lacking. In fact the condition of the room was much better than we were used to at our old place. Next year we plan to stay again, and by booking with them earlier we will have more room options (I saw what was available on the website after we got home). The place is a quick walk to the beach (get up early and watch a sunrise- beautiful), and close to all our favorite eateries. They also have wi-fi available (my son loved that), a cute porch that is open to everyone to read or play games (my husband and I made use of it while we waited on our surly teenager primping before going out). The owners are nice and attentive. Our only regret was not finding this place sooner so that we might have been able to stay longer. Our original reservation was for three nights, but Windward only had a vacancy for two nights. We made sure to make the most of the time we did have and were really grateful the Windward had a room we could use.

Room Tip: Now that we know there are different types of rooms available- check out the options on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
16.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,770 reviews
15.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#5 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
6.1 mi away
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward at the Beach

Address: 200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 steps to white sand of LBI, Windward at the Beach in Beach Haven, NJ, exudes a beach/surf vibe. Relax, unwind, rejuvenate - it's the Pure Jersey Shore! Many lodging options, including studios, efficiencies and two room suites with full kitchens - children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windward at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward At The Beach Hotel Beach Haven
Windward At The Beach Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.