We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windward Beach Haven: endless summer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Windward at the Beach to your Saves list
Windward at the Beach
200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Windward Beach Haven: endless summer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Windward is great! Great ambiance, great owners, comfortable rooms and great location! You are seconds from the beach, minutes from the main drag and if you need any help the owners are there for you! We loved our efficiency and our stay at windward! The only bad thing about it was leaving. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Walkable to beach and fun things on the main drag but rooms are small, tiny bathrooms and paint is peeling.
Everyone was nice but I wouldn't pay the price again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureJerseyShore, Guest Relations Manager at Windward at the Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
With over 70% of our rooms over 600 square feet, most are spacious to the extreme. Yes, many of the bathrooms are small, this is a Victorian after all, but the good news is that all rooms have private baths, with the added convenience of additional outside showers. With a facelift in progress, expect all rooms to shine and peeling paint a thing of the past. As for price - what price would you pay to hear the pounding surf; walk just 200 steps to the sand, a block to the center of town, and countless restaurants; plus get personalized service for all your vacation needs? We are sorry your beach experience did not live up to your expectations, our goal is to make every guest a happy customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Took a couple days to unwind down at the Jersey shore. I was looking for someplace where I could walk to the beach and to some bars & restaurants. The Windward ended up being a great place to stay. Not only are you a block from the beach but you're a 5 minute walk to some restaurants & most importantly, a couple tiki bars! The owner was very nice & allowed me to use the facilities and the beach badge after checkout time. The room was a bit small (it was the least expensive they had) & there's no pool, but the location & friendly service was great. It was nice & quiet too. Will definitely consider another stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had such a great experience at the Windward. My family and I were in Beach Haven from Wednesday-Sunday. We were one (small) block off of the beach. We were in walking distance to Fantasy Island and we went with the kids often. They provided daily cleaning service and they provided linens & towels. Kitchen was stocked with bowls, plates etc. So convenient for this family of 4. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We've been traveling to LBI for over 15 years and this was our first time staying at the Windward. It is an excellent choice for families. The kids area is perfect; coffee is available, the rooms and common areas are spotless. Tammie was a pleasure to meet, very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in room 3, which was just perfect for a family of four. Kids were able to play in the kids area on the porch while I gathered our belongings for the beach. Very convenient to the beach; outside showers and beach badges are included with the stay. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We liked the location of Rooms 1, 2, and 3 - excellent for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our group had a great time at the Windward. Tammie accomodated our early and late arrivals without question. We had a great time and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My family and I stayed there for Memorial Day..The Windward was awesome! The owners are so friendly and welcoming. It was a wonderful experience! The location was perfect for us (a few strides from the beach).. We will definitely stay again..
Thank you for the memories Windward!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windward at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward at the Beach

Address: 200 S. Atlantic Ave., (Amber at Atlantic), Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 steps to white sand of LBI, Windward at the Beach in Beach Haven, NJ, exudes a beach/surf vibe. Relax, unwind, rejuvenate - it's the Pure Jersey Shore! Many lodging options, including studios, efficiencies and two room suites with full kitchens - children welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Windward at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward At The Beach Hotel Beach Haven
Windward At The Beach Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.