We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I caught on fire here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Engleside Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant at Engleside Inn
30 Engleside Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1725
800-762-2214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I caught on fire here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I went here on a date one time and when I leaned over the candle my ratty old sweatshirt caught on fire. We had to put it out and caused a scene, but the sushi was very good. If you go, ask for Billy and George. They're my bros.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal in LBI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the place to come if you are in the mood for sushi in LBI! Fresh and creative presentation. Fun to sit at the sushi bar. If you choose a table, you can still order from the sushi menu or from the regular menu. Really great seafood dishes and they come with a salad. It is very busy and can get loud but the service is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was friendly and efficient. They Accommodated my son's wheat allergy. Started with the sushi which was very good. Salads are included with entree which were fine. Had the Cajun mahi Mahi over pasta which did not disappoint. Chicken parm, Chilean sea bass and pork chop were enjoyed by the rest of the table. The atmosphere is not very beachy, but nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Hurricane Sandy Hero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Engleside Restaurant and Hotel has always been identified with great Sushi, fresh seafood, outstanding rack of lamb, good portions and a courteous friendly staff. It now can be identified as one of the Beach Haven's heroes during hurricane Sandy. With their emergency generators fully operational it became the home base for the "First Responders" who provided security, safety and the resources that enabled homeowners to return to their residences. Today the Engleside, an ocean front establishment is fully operational and provides a warm and friendly destination for Beach Haven residents and our welcome guests who are aiding in the recovery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great food every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

So I have been visiting LBI for about 30 years (since I met my wife), and She has been coming with her family for about 50 years. It seems like (and I think it is right) that the Engleside has been there for all this time and more.

These are local people, who are not out to do anything other than serve you really good food, at reasonable prices, and do it the right way. We visit regularly, and I have never been disappointed.

Whether it is sushi (very tasty) fresh fish, or something more turf bound, you will not be disappointed. I have to say that the desserts are also usually very good too, although we usually do not have much room for that!

One more thing, during hurricane sandy they took in a lot of people who were literally stranded in the storm - so these are not only great restaurateurs, but also great people

I hope they are around for another 50 years or more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Engleside Inn also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Restaurant at Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Engleside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.