We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Key Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurley's At Holgate Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hurley's At Holgate Inn
Save Saved
You added Hurley's At Holgate Inn to your Saves list
4804 South Long Beach Blvd., Beach Haven Inlet, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
New York City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Low Key Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hurley's is not an inn. It is a lovely, immaculately clean motel. It is the farthest south lodging on Long Beach Island, but only about two miles from the town of Beach Haven. It is directly across the street from the beach. Rooms 2, 3 and 4 are on the second floor and have a nice view of the surf. We stayed in room 10, which is the handicap room; we stayed there because it had recently been completely redone. It is located in the rear on a quiet corner of the building and has its own parking space right in front of its door.

The first thing we noticed is how clean this place is. They even provide clean towels every day. When we checked in the owner gave us beach passes (they do check for them a couple of times every day).

We can't wait to go back. If you are looking for quiet and solitude, this is a wonderful place; great for families - they even have a grill for guest use in back.

Room Tip: The owner will help you select when you call. Only ten rooms, none bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a great stay at Hurley's. The motel is located on a very quiet part of Long Beach Island
right across the street from the beach. The room my wife and i stayed in was very comfortable
and clean. My only warning would be that if you like to sleep in you should consider which room you want to stay in, we were woken up every morning early by a beautiful but very bright sunrise!
The Room had tv with cable and a mini fridge that worked great. the owners are very helpful and friendly. Also very affordable. great idea for couples.

Room Tip: if you like to sleep in, pick a room away from the east side the rooms get very sunny on the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family and I had an amazing stay at Hurley's. The motel has an amazing charm to it. Our room was very clean. It is right across the street from the beach. The owner is great and really makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here this past weekend. The room were great and very clean. The staff was extremely nice. I would highly recommend this place and will def stay there again in the near future..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I were looking to get away to enjoy the beach for a day or two without the kids and Hurley's was the answer! Steps away from the sand, a small, quiet, clean Inn. This place is a labor of love, and it shows! The paint isn't perfect and it's not over-done but it was clean and the owners very friendly! Nice amenities of the coffee, juice & ice for guests available all the time. The first night we were the only guests in the 3 front rooms so we sat with the door open and enjoyed the beach sounds and the views.
My only recommendation for the owners is too look into getting the counter/bar height chairs for the tables on the deck outside, because once you sat down all you could see was the railing-so to enjoy the view you had to stand. Possible something in the rooms promoting other business near-by. We didn't know about the deli a block south and drove north to Beach Haven to grab lunch.
We will definitely go back for another adult get-away!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit LBI without husband and kids and Hurleys was just fine for me as I was looking for a quiet beach (literally across the street) and only required a clean room with cable TV (HBO was a plus) and wireless internet. I stayed in a small queen room on the second floor with ocean views from my windows and patio table. I didn't need air conditioning at all and slept with windows open and it was quiet. No pool (like most motels) usually means no children, which usually translates to less noise. The deli a few blocks away had decent breakfast and sandwiches. The Boardwalk ice cream shopped about half a mile away had great ice cream. Those are the only businesses so again more peaceful than other LBI locations. Again the rooms are basic and whomever painted my newly remodeled bathroom needs glasses, however it was all I needed for a quiet escape from busy Bergen County and family. And the patio Keurig machine was much appreciated each morning and upon returning from dinner. I will return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We decided to visit LBI as a side trip to Easton, PA (a long story.) Hurley's was found online and a reservation made easily. My wife had visited the Holgate area many times since her childhood, and she wanted to go back after not being there for almost 15 years. We were there near the one year anniversary of hurricane Sandy. Hurley's has recovered pretty much physically from the 1st floor level being destroyed - pushed up into the 2nd floor as described by the owner. Our room was fresh and comfortable. Only problem was the Internet service, which was being worked on during our visit. The off-season rate was quite reasonable, and the location is great to see the end of the island community.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurley's At Holgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's At Holgate Inn

Address: 4804 South Long Beach Blvd., Beach Haven Inlet, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hurley`s At Holgate Hotel Beach Haven
Hurleys At Holgate Hotel
Hotel Hurleys At Holgate
Hurley's At Holgate Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurley's At Holgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.