We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurley's At Holgate Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hurley's At Holgate Inn
Save Saved
You added Hurley's At Holgate Inn to your Saves list
4804 South Long Beach Blvd., Beach Haven Inlet, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Beach Haven
Roxbury, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hurley's last weekend and couldnt have had a better time. We have been going to Long Beach Island for many years with our kids and mistakenly assumed we had to stay in Beach Haven. The Hurley Hotel is Beautifully located and Accomodating. Mike and Marianne are wonderful people who cant do enough for their guests. They supplied free beach passes and served complimetary juice and coffee. We left feeling like we just spent a weekend with friends. Thank you and hope to see you soon. Jim & Ellen

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed last night at Hurleys It was a very last minute decision and we were glad to get the room. It was clean and quiet. It was certainly low low frills for sure ! It was nice to have the complimentary coffee in the morning and to sit on the outdoor deck and see the ocean and hear the waves crash against the shore .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maire7, Owner at Hurley's At Holgate Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I thank you for stating that we are high on location and most importantly cleanliness, however, I do not fully understand your bare bones comment. Your room had a TV, and that room also has a DVD player, A/C, a window fan if you would choose to use that instead, private bath, college size fridge and all new furnishings and mattress. You also had a deck with your own table, chairs and umbrella where you could see and hear the ocean and you have complimentary coffee and juice in the AM. Service - no we do not have room service although we will respond asap if there is a problem. There are no phones in the rooms but I would say that 99% of our guests have their own cell phones and you certainly can't say that the room is not large enough for 2 people. Value - you should go up on the Island anywhere and you would probably pay anywhere from $75.00 to $150.00 minimum per night MORE for that room and you wouldn't have a deck outside. Exactly what were you missing -- a complimentary shampoo!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were at Hurley's for a short vacation and couldn't of had better time. The motel is right across from the beach and was easy to get to. The rooms were very nice and and well kept. The motel is at the end of the island where it is nice and quiet. You could sit out on the porch and soak in the sound's of the surf while just relaxing. The staff also could not be more friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were at Hurley's Inn recently and we had a great moment there. Because of the ocean view from the patio, the quietness of the area, the beach is lovely. We slept very well in the confortable bed. We really enjoy our stay and we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hurley's is situated on the southern most town on Long Beach Island. It is quiet and peaceful.
The motel is also located directly across the street from the ocean. If fact, we were pleasantly surprised to have a view of the ocean from our room. There is also a deck with table, chairs and umbrella just outside the door of our room. It was great to eat breakfast there and have an afternoon snack and drink.

The room was a good size and also included a small refrigerator. There was a table and 2 chairs and a nice queen sized bed. The staff were great. The Hurley's were very accommodating to us and allowed us to check in early as the room was ready. The cleaning staff did a great job too.

We will definitely return. Our stay was relaxing and quiet. We enjoyed great hospitality.
We highly recommend Hurley's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I came back to the Hurley's Motel Holgate last month, our first visit since Sandy. We've been going there for years and found it even more charming than ever. The ocean is across the street and we love relaxing on the deck in front of our room, under a big umbrella, watching the waves and listening to the seagulls. The beach is clean and beautiful, and the motel gives free beach passes. The room has a small refrigerator and we keep our Pinot Grigio cool there, along with snacks and any leftovers from dinner. The place is owned by Mike and Marianne Hurley who make us feel welcome each time we come. My husband even sends them eggplants with garlic under olive oil from his garden every fall. We hope to come back this September. Truly a great "find" at a great price!


We still loved it and had a great vacation. The ocean is right across the street and we love

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we spent 3 nites here and were very pleased with how well the place is run.
the small, typical beach hotel and one of the oldest hotels on LBI, built in 1963 by the original owner, has all the comforts needed.
the 2nd owner of 19 years is Mike Hurley. he and his young family staff could not do more to please us.....very accommodating!
the beach is a very short walk across the street and beach badges are included in your room price. self-serve coffee and OJ is set out every morning on the main porch.
it's the only hotel on the southern part of LBI, hardly any traffic, residential area for the most part and away from Beach Haven town by about 2 1/2 miles.....easy bike ride.
the area of Holgate was the worst hit by Hurricane Sandy last year, so a lot of renovations went on in this hotel, the whole Holgate area and the other ocean side areas of LBI.
we made last minute renovations and room #1 was the only available on the first floor, which i wouldn't recommend, as you can hear every move of the folks staying in the room above us. top floor is the best.
it's a great place to stay if you're looking for charm and local humor, which all the Hurley's have:)
and don't be fooled by the media........LBI is up and running and waiting for your visit!!!

Room Tip: top floor has views of the ocean. lower floor rooms are noisy, not from traffic, but from the fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurley's At Holgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's At Holgate Inn

Address: 4804 South Long Beach Blvd., Beach Haven Inlet, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beach Haven
#3 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hurley`s At Holgate Hotel Beach Haven
Hurleys At Holgate Hotel
Hotel Hurleys At Holgate
Hurley's At Holgate Inn Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurley's At Holgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.