We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences in LBI!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 14

Bistro 14
9th Street & Bay Avenue, Bay Village, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
609-492-6100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 74 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hartsdale, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in LBI!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The combination of great sunset views, food and service, make this a must go to in LBI. If you like oysters, they have a great selection as well as grilled fish that can be prepared in varied and delicious ways. BYOB. So good we came back twice Memorial Day Weekend. Make reservations!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Way too pricey for what you get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went here today and was sorely disappointed. I ordered the clam chowder and a mesclun salad. The clam chowder was ok, but was not served hot enough. My Dad got the french onion soup, which he said was also served lukewarm. How is that even possible? I have never had a french onion soup not served piping hot since they are supposed to run it under the broiler. Weird. The salad was so small it was laughable. This was literally a CUP of lettuce. One cup. Nothing else. With 3 small bread croutons spread with goat cheese. The dressing tasted of nothing but oil. They should really switch to bottled dressings, and I never thought I'd say that about any restaurant. The salad was $10. For that! All told, with two salads, two clam chowders, and a bowl of french onion soup, and 3 diet sodas the bill ran $47 before tip. For less than mediocre food. At least the waitress was nice. My advice: go elsewhere. There are plenty of restaurants in this part of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a good family dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant is located in the middle of Bay Village. Great location Good menu selection but definitely not a "bistro." Had the scallops and they were prepared well. Had heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad which was delicious! Not a fancy place but they can accomodate large parties. Although we had a reservation, when we arrived we request an outside table. We were told that those tables were only for parties of 2 or 4 as the deck is very narrow. Inside was fine but not the same as an outside table with a view of bay in distance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss, but always a great oyster selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I wish there was a bit more consistency here because I really want to like this place. They have a great location overlooking the bay--a location which has seen its share of restaurants/bars come and go. In concept, Bistro 14 has a lot more to offer than its predecessors. LBI needs more good restaurants and I think this has the potential to be one. Having eaten here a number of times, I've experienced mediocre food and service to excellent food and service. On a recent visit, I had a classic bistro dish, Chicken with Olives, that was as good as any that I've had in Paris. Will it be as good next time? I sure hope so. The potential is there; it's a question of execution. As said in the title, there is always a great selection of oysters. Note: this is a BYO.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fast food with a french name”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I do hope that people who have never been to a real bistro don't confuse this place in any way with what it should be. Ugh. This place is sooooo not what it appears on the surface. Decent ambience and view, relatively reasonable prices and a halfway decent looking menu.

But the food reeks of cheap ingredients and premade stuff out of the can. I can taste junk food disguised as decent food any day and this place is guilty as charged. French fries on the level of McDonalds except some garlic tossed on it (a great idea, IF the fries are made out of sliced potatoes like they are supposed to be). French onion soup that has that cafeteria flavor. A panini (!) with cheap American cheese and (it is almost hard to type) FROZEN lobster! Even my 10 year old detected something was amiss.

I had the raw oysters, which were good. Hard to mess that one up. The accompanying sauces were barely edible so I stuck to lemon. And I also had the clams, which were also decent. I'll give them that. Otherwise, way overpriced for fake french-style food....OH Shore....why? why?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 14 also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Bistro 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 14, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.