We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Two years not the same” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surflight Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Surflight Theatre
201 Engleside Avenue, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
(609) 492-9477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Clinton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last Two years not the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've been coming to LBI for years the week of my birthday and always see a show on that night , and we've seen some tremendous production from Miss Saigon, Ragtime, Chicago and a super show in the Drowsy Chaporone....even saw the Smothers Brothers one birthday night and they were amazing....yet the last two seasons have not been good for us at all....saw Grease and it was awful...everyone smoking on stage and the theatre filling up with smoke, air conditioning broke down the second half and it was very unpleasant....last year saw the Beatles show in a half-filled theatre and it was OK, but I have been very disappointed with the atomosphere....the Surflight used to be a friendly place, a great place to see a show....that has not been the case the last two seasons for us, and I don't think we will got there this season....it's gotten expensive and I am saddened by the transition to what it has become from what it was in the past...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Saw The Boyfriend today”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Being a regular theater attendee, I would actually give this a 3.5. For professional theater it was lacking, but for local theater it was terrific. The singing and dancing was mostly good, especially the women. The costumes and sets were really nice. The theater itself is old, and a bit uncomfortable, but still a good experience. I personally did not like that the live orchestra music came through speakers, and sometimes the music was louder than the singers.

The one big complaint I have was with the curtain speech. It was way too long. The guy took himself way too seriously. We don't care about him- we are taking a precious couple of hours during a vacation week to see a show, and he needs to shut up. Also, I think it was pricey for the caliber of the performance.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Take your kids here today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Take your kids here. They have great plays for kids, and then you can go get ice cream sundaes at the ice cream place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower gwynedd, PA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Theater at the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a true gem on LBI! They have great shows and plays that actually change every week or two! Recently they are actually brining in a number of people who are famous (ex. Cindy Williams from Laverne & Shirley & Joanne Worley (sp?) from Laugh In) They also have great children's plays that run before the adult plays and they also change weekly. Both the adult and children's theater are all performed by the same group of actors all summer - unbelieveable!

And don't forget showplace ice cream parlor next door! It's a show in and of itself. Great for after children's theater. If the line is long - Wait! They seat everyone at once so it means you'll be seated quickly. And, the more the merrier - really!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beach alla Broadway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Many a professional has been caught visiting this quaint but exciting spot on Long Beach island! A really fun night with stars . There are many kudos of past productions that surround the history of this small gem of a theatrical niche! The production and directorial staff do a great job on casting their characters of choice! Quite professional! Enjoy a superlative evening! Break a leg!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surflight Theatre also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Surflight Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surflight Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.