We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Very Reasonable, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Motel

Buccaneer Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buccaneer Motel
Save
You added Buccaneer Motel to your Saves list
2600 North Bay Avenue, Long Beach Island, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice, Very Reasonable, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Last minute trip planned to LBI. Called a couple other motels, none had any vacancies. Called John at The Buccaneer. He was very helpful with prices for our stay, offered a discount. Located right in the middle of LBI, close drive to Fantasy Island and restaurants. Across the street from Spray City Bagels, and bike rental place. Nice size outdoor pool, clean and set to the back of the grounds, away from the Blvd and with views of the bay. Great views of the sunset available on the Bay. They offer docks, if you wanted to boat in and fish. We fished right from the grounds. They offer BBQ available for your own grilling, patio tables and chairs for afternoon lunches or dinner with a sunset view. Rooftop decks also available. Outdoor shower for after the beach, free (with credit card deposit) Beach Badges. We got the basic room, 2 full size beds, small fridge for juice boxes and beers, and microwave and coffee maker. Allowed for early check in. AND BEST PART OF THE TRIP. My daughter lost her earring. I left a note for the housekeeping staff and mentioned it to the front desk, as we checked out. And they said if they located it, they would mail it back to us. AND THEY DID! We just got the eating back. WHAT GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! My daughter is so excited to have gotten her earring back. THANKS JOHN AND STAFF at the BUCCANEER!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    9
See reviews for
12
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We go to LBI every year. This motels location is wonderful. A short walk to the beach, amusement park and food. Pool is clean. And people are friendly.

We use to go to Cape May. But due to financial issues this place meets all our needs at a great price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband, two children, and I had a very pleasant stay here two summers ago. While the room was a little dated, it was clean, and the location was very convenient. We were disappointed to discover that the indoor pool was closed for the summer, but the outdoor pool was nice, if small. The roof offered a view of both the ocean and the bay simultaneously. While you do have to cross one busy street to get to the ocean, it was only a 5 minute walk, as was the excellent Dockside Diner mentioned in another review. If you are going for the ocean experience and not expecting to hang out much in your hotel room, this is an excellent choice. We are planning on coming back this summer, this time with my parents, to stay in one of the Bay Front Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stay somewhere else! The manager and his wife are the rudest people I've come across in a long time. The bayside view is very nice but these folks are not honest, their rooms smell awful, the TV sets are fuzzy, and they search for wrongdoing. There are other options on the island, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the hotel until i realized i was missing some of my possesions. the only people in my room besides my family were the housekeepers. when i went to the manager he said "these are kids that work here what can i do". he said he would look into it and get back to me, needless to say i have not heard from them. so if you want to stay at a place where stealing items from the guests is condoned enjoy. my family and i will not be going back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
There was no proof that any one of our employees took anything from this person's room. It was an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my second or third stay at the Buccaneer Motel. Was there for Chowderfest weekend and they didn't raise their prices like the other hotels on the island. Well maintained place. Beautiful bay-views. Had frig and microwave in room. Great breakfast at the Dockside Diner which is only a few steps away. I'll be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights right on the bay. Great views ,nice pool, close to the beach! Would stay here again! It's an older motel, nothing fancy but really enjoyed it! Beds were comfortable and the room was really big with a seperate bedroom, which was really great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Motel

Address: 2600 North Bay Avenue, Long Beach Island, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located on the bay on Long Beach Island. Beautiful Sunsets from Rooftop decks. Two blocks to the ocean beach. Badges provided with a deposit.Restaurants within 8 to 10 blocks and within a mile.Shopping area 17 to 26 blocks from motel.Heated outdoor pool in season. Heated indoor pool available in the off season only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.