We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Bell Blues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club
Save
You added Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club to your Saves list
10 S. Atlantic Ave., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Bell Blues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We live close by (less than an hr) so we thought we would stay here as a romantic weekend get away ( family had visited with their kids and liked it.) They did tell us abt the dining room that turns into a club room at night so we planned our trip in Sept during the off season. Well little did we know that they hold weddings here in Sept.! We were awoken the first night (Fri) from 11p.m. on, with rowdy obviously drunk party people, cursing as it was obvious they were having problems unlocking the door to the rooms with the ridiculous magnet door swipes! We were sober and had a difficult time as did other guests we spoke to. When I had called the resort the end of July to book I asked for one of the Ocean Deluxe rooms I was told none were available, that should have been a hint that something was going on.So as we make our way to the tiki bar to have a cocktail with friends who came down to join us for the day, we were disappointed to find the wedding was in full swing, occupying a tiki bar and with signs that read "Private Party" on the dining room doors. Also the heated outdoor pool had signs around it saying something like "no splashing in this area". Really? Anyway, we won"t be going back. We will rent a house for a week, or stay down in CAPE MAY!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms in the summer are noisy at night, club is below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so sorry you were disturbed during your stay. Regarding your issue with our locking system; they are radio frequency locks, the absolute state of the art system available. We literally cannot remember anyone having problems with this system, it is so very easy, you simply hold the card key in front of the lock and it opens, SIMPLE. We use this system because our doors are exterior and it does not allow sand to enter the lock like other systems. The night in question, we did have guests from the next days wedding having drinks at the Tiki Bar, cannot imagine your issue with that, they are simply customers like you, and there were only about fifteen of them. There was a wedding going on in our banquet room, and yes there is a sign on the door saying "private party", again not sure why this is an issue. Regarding the sign at the pool that says "wedding in progress, no splashing", that sign goes up for about 20 minutes while our couples are exchanging vows on the beach, so there are no accidental cannonballs. Hoping you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    18
    15
    21
See reviews for
46
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very pleasant extended weekend at the shore! Remarkably clean!! (and that's coming from someone who should own stock in clorox II). Staff very accommodating. Mattresses are a little soft for my liking, but the kids loved it. Great restaurant, happy hour and exciting live entertainment daily. Drinks are pricey but no more so than any other bar. We are a family of 4 and stayed on the first floor. I was concerned about the club letting out at closing but that wasn't an issue at all. Our stay would've been even better if they had some activities for kids too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Ckub for 3 days in August with my family. The location is very good, the fact that it is on the beach and has a pool is definitely a plus, parking was very good as well. The Location of Sea Shell in relation to restaurants, ice cream parlors, the water park and amusement park is also very good. The rooms were very small, the tv had static the whole time, the floors were tile which I at first liked but without a broom in the room was annoying especially when getting into bed. There were no hooks in the room, the bathroom or right outside the door to hang towels. One of the better reasons to stay at Sea Shell was for their breakfast, you did not have to leave the resort to eat but they no longer serve breakfast.

Room Tip: Hopefully upper floors do not have the annoying tiled floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable beds, but not more.
Very impersonal, we has a 2room accomodation with one window. One of the beds could not be used - it was as hard as concrete.
We didn't like the food served in the restaurant, not the quality and taste and definitely not the price-value.
If you need a bed, and just this, it is okay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriends. Rooms were clean and bedding was nice. Great location for going out to restaurants and we loved the restaurant and private beach area. We did get some attitude from the bartenders when they misunderstood an order, but other than that everything was great. It was great to have live music as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

One year later i stop in to see how they held up after the hurricane....got a beer and a shot...bartender said $13...only had $12 cash so I gave my debit card and he charged me $15...shady business goin on here...use cash only...miserable bartenders too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are sorry you had a bad experience. Regarding being charged twice, that did not happen, when opening a tab at our bar, we seek an authorization from your credit card company or bank, if you decide to pay cash later, that authorization is automatically voided by us. If you used your debit card, your bank may take several days to drop the authorization. Regarding your $13 vs. $15 discrepancy, I think it was just an honest mistake or miscommunication. The bartender in question has been a valued employee for many years. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience. We run an outstanding and honest business and have done so for over 50 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hotel in LBI and I was a bit hesitant. My beach house is under going Sandy renovations in Toms River, so I thought a nice simple get away was just what we needed. We chose LBI because for us it was a different scene and I wanted to feel like I was on vacation. We rented the suite, a bit pricey but there were 2 adults and 4 kids. From check in to check out, the hotel met all of my expectations. The Jersey Shore doesn't really offer too many "resort like" hotels, but this was just that. The room was clean, small, but clean and comfortable. Super comfy bed, but the pull out sofa wasn't that desirable. Plan to bring an air mattress or sleeping bags for other guests who are not using the king bed. (This was room 300, the only suite room). It had a full bath, large and clean. It also came equipped with a microwave and a small refrigerator perfect for water and soda and things like that. The air conditioner is a little noisy, but works fine. Plenty of closet space to store beach chairs and other things. A cute little single bed off the living room was a hit with the kids, they all wanted a turn. A little hard, but for them it was great.

The resort sits right on the beach and has a great pool with live music on the weekends. It has a beautiful tiki bar which serves food, and plenty of tables with service. They allow smoking at the bar and at the tables for anyone who is interested. They have their private section of beach, but it is gated behind the dunes and doesn't offer a view of the ocean, but just steps away, you can go down to the open beach with your own chairs and have everything you need. I loved it, the palm tress, live music and beach right there made me feel like I was in the Caribbean. Pricey lunch and kids meals, along with $7.00 drinks, but to be expected at a resort. If you stay in an ocean front room on the weekend, be prepared for noise as there is a dance club right downstairs.

Overall, I loved it, I loved the location and I will go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms face the ocean and the pool, but I bet would be very loud on the weekends. Room 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

Address: 10 S. Atlantic Ave., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely rebuilt and remodeled after Hurricane Sandy the Sea Shell Resort is nestled on two beautiful ocean front acres, in the heart of Beach Haven, you are just steps away from the beach and within walking distance to all of the town's attractions. The Sea Shell is a full service resort serving lunch and dinner daily (in season). We feature a full size heated salt water pool and a private beach for sunbathing. We offer daily entertainment by the Tiki bars every afternoon and evening. Dance the night away in our night club every Thursday and Saturday. Whether you are booking a deluxe oceanfront room or a full one-bedroom suite, the Sea Shell gives you all the amenities that will make your stay special!We have 53 units in various configurations to fit your need. The Sea Shell Resort's room accommodations are the finest and most comfortable on Long Beach Island. Choose from First Floor Deluxe rooms with two full-size beds, Second Floor Superior rooms with your choice of one king-size or two queen-size beds, Second Floor king-size one-bedroom suites with a living area that contains a queen size fold out sofa, plus a separate day bed, or our Luxurious Oceanfront rooms with private decks where you can choose between one king-size or two queen-size beds. All rooms come complete with cable TV, telephones, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and refrigerators. Looking for the perfect location for your dream come true beach wedding? Look no further than the Sea Shell. Say "I do" on our private beach with the Atlantic Ocean as your backdrop, or on the public beach with the waves tickling your toes. We host destination wedding events each and every weekend during the Spring and Fall where get togethers become memorable events lasting an entire weekend, and the only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Shell Hotel And Beach
Sea Shell Motel And Beach
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.