We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair at Best!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club
Save
You added Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club to your Saves list
10 S. Atlantic Ave., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mid Week Fall Getaway
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fair at Best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Ckub for 3 days in August with my family. The location is very good, the fact that it is on the beach and has a pool is definitely a plus, parking was very good as well. The Location of Sea Shell in relation to restaurants, ice cream parlors, the water park and amusement park is also very good. The rooms were very small, the tv had static the whole time, the floors were tile which I at first liked but without a broom in the room was annoying especially when getting into bed. There were no hooks in the room, the bathroom or right outside the door to hang towels. One of the better reasons to stay at Sea Shell was for their breakfast, you did not have to leave the resort to eat but they no longer serve breakfast.

Room Tip: Hopefully upper floors do not have the annoying tiled floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable beds, but not more.
Very impersonal, we has a 2room accomodation with one window. One of the beds could not be used - it was as hard as concrete.
We didn't like the food served in the restaurant, not the quality and taste and definitely not the price-value.
If you need a bed, and just this, it is okay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriends. Rooms were clean and bedding was nice. Great location for going out to restaurants and we loved the restaurant and private beach area. We did get some attitude from the bartenders when they misunderstood an order, but other than that everything was great. It was great to have live music as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One year later i stop in to see how they held up after the hurricane....got a beer and a shot...bartender said $13...only had $12 cash so I gave my debit card and he charged me $15...shady business goin on here...use cash only...miserable bartenders too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are sorry you had a bad experience. Regarding being charged twice, that did not happen, when opening a tab at our bar, we seek an authorization from your credit card company or bank, if you decide to pay cash later, that authorization is automatically voided by us. If you used your debit card, your bank may take several days to drop the authorization. Regarding your $13 vs. $15 discrepancy, I think it was just an honest mistake or miscommunication. The bartender in question has been a valued employee for many years. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience. We run an outstanding and honest business and have done so for over 50 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hotel in LBI and I was a bit hesitant. My beach house is under going Sandy renovations in Toms River, so I thought a nice simple get away was just what we needed. We chose LBI because for us it was a different scene and I wanted to feel like I was on vacation. We rented the suite, a bit pricey but there were 2 adults and 4 kids. From check in to check out, the hotel met all of my expectations. The Jersey Shore doesn't really offer too many "resort like" hotels, but this was just that. The room was clean, small, but clean and comfortable. Super comfy bed, but the pull out sofa wasn't that desirable. Plan to bring an air mattress or sleeping bags for other guests who are not using the king bed. (This was room 300, the only suite room). It had a full bath, large and clean. It also came equipped with a microwave and a small refrigerator perfect for water and soda and things like that. The air conditioner is a little noisy, but works fine. Plenty of closet space to store beach chairs and other things. A cute little single bed off the living room was a hit with the kids, they all wanted a turn. A little hard, but for them it was great.

The resort sits right on the beach and has a great pool with live music on the weekends. It has a beautiful tiki bar which serves food, and plenty of tables with service. They allow smoking at the bar and at the tables for anyone who is interested. They have their private section of beach, but it is gated behind the dunes and doesn't offer a view of the ocean, but just steps away, you can go down to the open beach with your own chairs and have everything you need. I loved it, the palm tress, live music and beach right there made me feel like I was in the Caribbean. Pricey lunch and kids meals, along with $7.00 drinks, but to be expected at a resort. If you stay in an ocean front room on the weekend, be prepared for noise as there is a dance club right downstairs.

Overall, I loved it, I loved the location and I will go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms face the ocean and the pool, but I bet would be very loud on the weekends. Room 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Can't wait to go back. The restaurant is great for lunch (fish tacos were awesome ) and the bar is great for happy hour. However if it's not happy hour you will spend a ton on small watered down drinks. But if your on vacation your on vacation. So whatever... Rooms were nice and big compared to other lbi hotels and bed was comfy!! Everything is in walking distance so that was a plus too! Definitely an expensive 2 night getaway. But it was worth it :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend and wedding at the Seashell. First the wedding, it was beautiful!! Even though it was raining the entire day, the staff monitored the weather and found a 1 hour break of no rain so that the bride and groom could have their wedding outside on the beach. It was perfect. The cocktail hour was fantastic!! Crab, shrimp, sushi, chicken on skewers, mini french dip, scallops, cheese, fruit, crab cakes, etc. Everything was so good and presented beautifully!! The reception was wonderful! the salad was very good and the buffet had pork roast, roast beef roast, chicken picatta, fish, penne ala vodka with chicken or shrimp, pasta salad, cucumber salad, etc. Then the next morning a nice brunch with hot omelets, bagels, pastries, eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries, etc. the wedding here was the best wedding we've been too in terms of food and location!!!.
We then stayed two nights in room 300 which had a queen or king bed in the bedroom, pull out couch in the living room and a daybed (twin) in a little alcove. Perfect for 2 adults and 3 children. The only 'problem' with the room was that the a/c in the bedroom was less than perfect, but we kept the ceiling fan on too and it was cool. Then there is a sky light in the living room. This is a nice touch unless you want to sleep when the sun is up. It got very bright in the early morning. The a/c was very loud in both rooms, but it was a consistent noise so it was easy to sleep (and drowned out any noise from outside)
The resort is right on the beach and the pool is perfect (heated). They also have a tiki bar with a lunch menu (kids meals, sandwiches, etc).
overall the resort and lunch were a little pricey. However, considering where you are (LBI), it's expected.
I would love to return and stay for longer.

Room Tip: Avoid the oceanfront rooms as they are over the nightclub/ tiki bar/ reception hall and get noisey a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
5.3 mi away
Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant
Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
16.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#6 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#3 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

Address: 10 S. Atlantic Ave., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely rebuilt and remodeled after Hurricane Sandy, the Sea Shell Resort is nestled on two beautiful ocean front acres in the heart of Beach Haven just steps away from the beach and within walking distance to all of the town's attractions. The Sea Shell is a full service resort serving lunch and dinner daily (in season). We feature a full-size heated salt water pool and a private beach for sunbathing. We offer daily entertainment by the Tiki bars every afternoon and evening. Dance the night away in our night club every Thursday and Saturday. Whether you are booking a deluxe oceanfront room or a full one-bedroom suite, the Sea Shell gives you all the amenities that will make your stay special! We have 53 units in various configurations to fit your need. The Sea Shell Resort's room accommodations are the finest and most comfortable on Long Beach Island. Choose from First Floor Deluxe Rooms with two full-size beds, Second Floor Superior Rooms with your choice of one king-size or two queen-size beds, Second Floor One-Bedroom Suites with a king-size bed and a living area that contains a queen-size fold out sofa, plus a separate day bed, or our Luxurious Oceanfront Rooms with private decks where you can choose between one king-size or two queen-size beds. All rooms come complete with cable TV, telephones, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and refrigerators. Looking for the perfect location for your dream come true beach wedding? Look no further than The Sea Shell! Say "I do" on our private beach with the Atlantic Ocean as your backdrop, or on the public beach with the waves tickling your toes. We host destination wedding events each and every weekend during the Spring and Fall where get togethers become memorable events lasting an entire weekend, and the only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Hotel Beach Haven
Sea Shell Hotel And Beach
Sea Shell Motel And Beach
Sea Shell Resort And Beach Club Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.