We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables
Save
You added The Gables to your Saves list
212 Centre Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008 (Formerly The Green Gables Restaurant & Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Autumn Lodging & Dining Package
Ranked #6 of 10 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Gables is a wonderful bed and breakfast and restaurant. Walking up the front entrance, past all the beautiful flowers and landscaping is breathtaking. Then, the minute you walk inside, it's like you've come home. The staff treats you like family and are extremely hospitable and friendly. Our room was decorated perfectly and everything was outstanding. Since we were only walking distance from the beach, they were also kind enough to supply beach badges and chairs for our use. At night, it turned into a fabulous restaurant with great atmosphere and amazing food. Next time we come to LBI, we are definitely returning to The Gables.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a 7:15 reservation on 8/10, we arrived 8 minutes early and you were clearly not ready. We were jammed into a table, we didn't complain. One of the spoons at my setting had food cooked on to it which the buss boy removed after I suggested it would be a good idea. It was not replaced and the server was not informed. The table was a 4 top turned into a six, nothing was level due to worn out leafs (good thing most plates were rectangular). The menu did NOT match your published menu and the item I was set to order didn't exist. I asked if there were specials and the server frowned at this as though specials were inconsistent with what you guys think is a superior product. I wanted the set up from one selection to replace another and was barked at. You think you have things under control? This is where you are mistaken! Your restaurant is mediocre at best. The price value relationship is horribly skewed towards price. In plain NJ words I can only say this "are you kidding me?" You need to get back in that kitchen and fix some of your problems. Which are; pre plated food which is causing wilting of greens, inconsistent temperatures, loss of integrity of vegetables mixed with starches, breakdown of sauces, loss of flavor's. Specifically: the starch with the lamb dish was mush, the beans with the salmon cause the protein to be swimming in liquid, the arugula was warm and wilted in the strawberry salad (by the way...whole macadamia nuts thrown on the plate?) and an overall sense of assembly line food service. I'm not here to help you fix the problems, but you have them. Perhaps you need to slow things down and stop trying to do too much. Greed translates to poor service, packing tables makes it impossible to provide the experience that you may think is being provided. I seriously felt like I was at Willy's pancake house, at least at Willy's the staffs dirty finger nails, wiping of nose with sleeve and deep exhales can be understood. I'm not ashamed of what I've said, but you should be embarrassed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gable last week for 3 nights. I have got to say this place is just beautiful. The room we stayed in was The Chapel. It had everything we needed with a marble bathroom with tub and shower as well as central air, a flat screen HD television and a very comfortable queen size bed. The bed by the way is very high so they provide you with a small step ladder if you are small to climb into it. The building is surrounded by flowers and the place beams with relaxing music throughout. The lobby is decorated as if you were stepping back in time with gorgeous paintings and a lovely planked antique floor. There is an open air porch where you can have their gourmet breakfast, which is part of the room fee. When they say gourmet, they mean gourmet. You sit at a beautifully set table with fresh flowers and have your choose of 4 to 5 items which come with bacon or sausage, free fruit and other things along with fresh orange juice, coffee and tea. The breakfast is so large it was hard for us to finish the whole plate. There is also a fantastic restaurant later in the evening where you can choose from many delicious entrees in a pleasant relaxing atmosphere with soothing background music. The owner Sondra, could have not been nicer to us. She makes you feel as if you are family, not a hotel guess as does the whole staff. So if you are looking to relax in a beautiful setting run by caring people, book a room here. You won't be disappointed, we weren't.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chapel where was just great for us. There are also 4 other rooms to choose from de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited the Gables a couple of months ago and went back recently for a business trip. The owner Sondra is the heart of the operation here. She has impeccable taste and an attention to detail that shows in the gorgeous wallpaper in the guest rooms to the fresh flowers in the dining room to the delectable treats that her chef Richard delivers to the table.

The inn is located in the middle of Beach Haven. The local theatre and local history museum are just around the corner and the beach is just down the street.

We highly recommend the Bailey Lloyd Room on the third floor for the fabulous fire engine red tub and the wacky angled cathedral ceiling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband an I just returned from an amazing stay at the Gabels. We very simply loved everything. Such attention was given to to every detail in the rooms and the restaurant. The dining was superb as was the service.The staff made us feel welcome the second we stepped inside and continued to do so throughout our entire stay. We would highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a very special experience, with excellent dining. We are very familiar with the island and The Gables is truly the crown jewel of LBI. We have our room all picked out for our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Dining Experience Was Great, The Food is Cutting Edge with New Flavors Dancing On My Tongue.
Everything about my room had me intrigued all the way down to the wallpaper!
Someone with a great eye took time putting the rooms together. Made feel very Special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Took my husband to The Gables for his birthday in May. Beach Haven was having wine tasting, which turned out to be fun. Our room, The Chapel, at the Gables was beautifully decorated and the bedding was superb! But the small room had nowhere to hang or store our clothes. Breakfast was excellent and dinner was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: 212 Centre Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008 (Formerly The Green Gables Restaurant & Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorious Food - Gracious Lodging. A small, refined Long Beach Island hotel and restaurant, The Gables is a meticulously restored Victorian inn combining the charm of a fine 1890s home with contemporary comforts and the finest food and service. Our award-winning restaurant is a destination in itself, at any time, as we serve breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, and after-theatre suppers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Beach Haven
The Gables Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.