We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the Jersey Shore should be known for....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables
212 Centre Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008 (Formerly The Green Gables Restaurant & Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lodging Special
Ranked #6 of 11 Beach Haven B&B and Inns
Union, New Jersey
1 review
“What the Jersey Shore should be known for....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Gables compares quite favorably to the more historically known Cape May B&Bs. For folks seeking a relaxing shore escape absent the mayhem of the more northerly beach venues, I recommend the Gables in Beach Haven. The property is clean and exceptionally well maintained with lovely appointments. The garden is beautiful. Sondra is truly a "people person" who finds time to engage you and make your stay memorable. I also note the exceptional level of customer service exhibited by the staff - not to be confused with the immaturity that you typically experience at the shore inclusive of higher priced properties. The food is very good, and the menu has flair and creativity - it will not disappoint. Prices are what one would expect - no surprises. The wine list is limited but covers all the essentials - I found my selection to be very enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We decided to have a special evening to celebrate a birthday. We were a group of 6 on a Friday evening. The waitress was terrible. She acted as if it was a big imposition to serve our table. The wine service was just rude. First, we had to get another server to get her back to us to order a bottle, and then when we did she merely opened it and plopped it on the table. I thought at most places the server would at least pour a sample for someone. There was nothing special about the food and it was expensive - figure about $60 per head. I wish I could say that the atmosphere was amazing, but we were near a window and the branch of the nearby plant kept coming in and hitting my son in the head! We will not be back to the Gables on our next trip to LBI.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The Gables has a beautiful oasis type entrance that reminds you of a Victorian garden, considering it is a Victorian style B&B. Walking in, my date and I were immediatly greated by the most generous and loving Chattelaine, Sondra, and were seated at a beautiful table almost immediatly after a brief tour of the premesis. The garden outback is absolutly breath taking, especially when accompanied by the "ghost" player piano. our table seemed as if it were set for kings, with immaculatly clean silverware, glasses, plates and linens, better than any other place on Long Beach Island. The servers were all helpful with deciphering the fine dining lingo used by the chef on the menus and chose to go with the famous 5 course dining EXPERIENCE!! Each course was perfectly sized to fill us both up in the end. Each individual plate was better than the other, coupled with a wonderous wine from the area, the dining experience could never be better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

The restaurant at the Gables is beautifully appointed, elegant in an understated way with a variety of dining settings. But what separates it from other island restaurants is the quality of its food. All of our meals have been uniformly delicious thanks to its creative chef. We find that increasingly reserve a table there and bring our friends as we KNOW they will enjoy it as much as we do. Irene - Wally Nunn

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

A December stay finds you in a Beautiful Victorian Lobby with a ChristmasTree and a Grand Piano playing classical music and Christmas music. You find yourself feeling like you just walked onto a Fantasy Movie Set. The owners/hosts of this Gorgeous experience, greet you like they have known you for years.
As you go upstairs to your room, you pass through a Library with fresh cookies on a silver tray, just in case you need something delicious.
The rooms are elegantly magnificent. Decorated in Romantic Victorian perfection, with a working fireplace.
Down stairs, off the lobby,there are three different, beautifully decorated, dinning rooms. The menu is exciting and upscale. The food was excellent. The wines were all from New Jersey and also delicious. Everything about The Gables is Special and they truly know how to make their guests feel Very Special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We did not stay in the B&B part. We went for dinner only on Halloween night. I called a couple of weeks prior and asked if anything special going on such as a party. Owner advised no which meant two choices,as advertised, available, prix fixe or a la carte . She did say that "some" people may get costumed, but emphasized no party. We arrived and found the place totally done up in Halloween fashion and virtually everyone in costume; loudness, and service and food not up to prior standard. We did not want a party, we just wanted a nice dinner with friends, some of whom had dietary restrictions. We had to have the prix fixe five course dinner (no a la carte available); cost each couple $190 incl tip; this for a byo establishment???. Will not go back,

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoletravels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We all stayed here for a long weekend to attend a wedding and it was amazing. The innkeepers couldn't do enough for us. The food was fantastic. Our rooms were immaculate and elegant. But mostly, I can't say enough about the details they haven't forgotten. The places oozes with charm and we will all be back.
I should also mention we had (well-behaved) kids with us. They were totally welcome and also enjoyed their time there.
If you aren't staying, it's still one of the more elegant places on the island to have dinner or Sunday brunch.
Overall A+

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: 212 Centre Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008 (Formerly The Green Gables Restaurant & Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorious Food - Gracious Lodging. A small, refined Long Beach Island hotel and restaurant, The Gables is a meticulously restored Victorian inn combining the charm of a fine 1890s home with contemporary comforts and the finest food and service. Our award-winning restaurant is a destination in itself, at any time, as we serve breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, and after-theatre suppers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Beach Haven
The Gables Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gables to your Saves list