We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lifetime Memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn and Restaurant

The Gables Inn and Restaurant
212 Centre St, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1714
609-492-3553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 restaurants in Beach Haven
Price range: $5 - $88
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
White Plains, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A truly gourmet experience. Great service without any snobbery. The menu items are crafted by a chef of the highest order who apparently and obviously cares very deeply about his profession. It is also noteworthy that the Gables just opened after a significant period due to a fire, and their first night they held a fundraiser with all monies spent there going to the local food pantry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    41
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't think twice; it doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am so delighted that The Gables reopened last week after an Easter Sunday fire that threatened to destroy this majestic Victorian inn and Zagat-winning restaurant. The owners restored it to its authentic beauty. Not only is the building more majestic than ever, the cuisine is even more delicious than before, if that's possible. I strongly disagree with the reviewer who complained about the prices. I've paid the same amount or more on LBI for basic, run-of-the-mill shore fare and certainly didn't get the gorgeous ambiance that Gables offers. Eating this chef's incredible creations while sitting in a breathtakingly stunning room as live piano music wafts in the background again was the exquisite experience I had always expected and received from The Gables, and definitely the highlight of my summer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As an event sight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Sometimes commit to things they cannot follow through on with little grace for providing for all who are affected where they could.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven West, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, but way expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

All in all, good food and service, but very pricey for such a rinky dink house in beach haven.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had our wedding here in October of 2011. Our guests are still raving about the food that was perfectly prepared by Richard and his staff. Besides the food, the property is gorgeous and we can't wait for it to re-open. Sondra, Steve and Sandy were the best. Ensured that our day was perfect and took care of every small detail.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Gables Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.