We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grenville Inn Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grenville Restaurant

The Grenville Restaurant
345 Main Ave., Bay Head, NJ 08742
(732) 892-3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Bay Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relax and enjoy excellent food on the veranda or by the fireplace in dining room. Sunday Brunch Buffet, Lunch, or Dinner. Stroll to the atlantic ocean for pristine beach!Bring your Family and Friends. Visit our website for specials. Stay in our Hotel guests rooms.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grenville Inn Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to the Grenville for dinner the other night. The food was ok, but definitely too over priced. Its a very small menu. The restaurant wasn't crowded but there was only one waiter working and he was doing the best he could. We got there at 7pm and finally left at 8:30, service was very slow. The atmosphere was really nice and the hotel itself looks very nice, haven't stayed there so I don't know how the rooms are.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We thank you for your comment. Every sauce and dish prepared here is made from start to finish here on premise and fresh daily. A large menu would not be controllable for any size kitchen. As we calculate at least 20 minutes between courses our average guests is here for 1:1/2 to 2 hours. We believe our guests should enjoy their evening and do not encourage rushing them unless they tell us they need to leave quickly. Although you may have seen one waiter in the dining room we do have back end waiters in the kitchen and additional helpers behind the scene.
We try to offer coupons and promotional discounts continually throughout the year. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    4
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
“Personable and Attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had my sisters baby shower on the Veranda and everything was perfect. We had brunch and Harry did a terrific ob with the food, his omelettes are banging and the roasted potatoes are fabulous. Stephanie the front desk girl is very sweet and has excellent follow up skills along with attentive listening. The day of the event ran smoothly, I was greeted warmly by a hug from Renee and anything I needed and asked for was accommodated. Tony and Billy are excellent servers and the entire experience was smooth, delicious and felt warm and quaint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Victorian setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is a quaint victorian restaurant with a beach feeling. All rooms are tastefully done and the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Incredible Graduation Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this quaint hotel & thoroughly enjoyed the clean comfortable room, which had new air conditioning & was freshly painted. The dining room is so elegant! The party my friend hosted in her daughters honor was magnificent! The food from passed appetizers, which were delicious, to the buffet was excellent. Servers continually brought our drinks & the tables were spotless. What a wonderful presentation I noticed even the young boys were enjoying the food, Shirley Temples, and playing with the balloons. The person in charge observed everything and every detail was attended to.
I loved it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Love the fireplace in the dining room. The food and wine were great and the staff exceptional. I'm looking forward to eating on the veranda when it warms up.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grenville Restaurant also viewed

Bay Head, Jersey Shore
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
 
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Grenville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grenville Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.