We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to heal and renew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grenville

Save Saved
You added The Grenville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grenville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Head
Belford, New Jersey
1 review
“A place to heal and renew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I found this hotel in the cute town of Bayhead, NJ. This hotel reminds me of the Victorian style homes I have seen down in Southern NJ. I needed a place to relax and renew for a quick weekend getaway and found that the Grenville gave me this place. I found it to be a home away from home and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick get away that is close to the beach and historic shopping district. The owner was very warm and hospitable. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    13
    20
    57
See reviews for
46
74
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We bought a "Seize the Deal" for the Grenville months ago. When we got to the hotel, we were informed that the resturant was closed that evening, but Harry the owner realized that our one night stay was booked well in advance and the person booking our stay did not realize this at that time. Harry could have left us "swinging in the breeze" but much to our delight, he opened the resturant just for us!! The meal was excellent.
The Grenville is located in one of the most beautiful old Jersey Shore towns on the coast. We highly recommend you to send some time at the Grenville with the owners, Harry & Rene.
P.S. Don't forget your beach chairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chenango Forks, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Grenville is just what I expected... a vintage hotel lovingly kept alive by folks who obviously enjoy people and the lovely beach surroundings. If you are desiring the sort of stay you would find at a chain motel or hotel, then I would suggest you find yourself a Days Inn. The Grenville is for someone that values history at some level, and understands and appreciates that the decor, furnishings and fixtures are meant to represent a different era. So, is everything perfect? No, but if you have some tolerance for slight inconveniences (the shape of the rooms may make it a little awkward to maneuver around an open sofa sleeper, or the AC might not run freezing cold) and enjoy a touch of classy Victorian mixed with a bit of "shabby chic", then you will fall in love with The Grenville.

Room Tip: A bit of road noise because it is the main road on the island, but with closed windows or a pair of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington,pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

room were Ok; little mold on shower curtains; in room air versus central ; average old inn; nothing special ; waiters below sounded disgruntled about some thing; twice , we went down to empty coffee, cream etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While it was a good place to stay, nice employees and perfect location, I do feel that just a little more can be done to make this a quaint place. The suite we were in was fitted with mismatched beat up furniture, dirty headboard and footboard cover, unironed bedskirts which were not adjusted properly, no bath mat and skewed curtains that were not really suitable. If just a little more attention could be paid, I think this place could really be charming. Perhaps a new housekeeping supervisor is in order. The complimentary breakfast could be boosted a bit, as well. Offer juice and fruit along with the pastry and toast.

I am not sure how this hotel compares to others in the area, perhaps they are all like this? I did not try the restaurant as it was closed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I spent many childhood summers at Hotel Grenville, and after many years, was not disappointed with the quaintness and charm of this hotel. The rooms are simple and clean and rustic, and I had a wonderful dining experience there. The best part is the beach which was just the same as I remembered was only a block away!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are larger, mine was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank YOu for taking your time to write your review. Glad everything was as lovely as you remembered. Wishing you a wonderful healthy and happy winter. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future. Thank YOu again for staying with us, Renee and Harry and The Grenville Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We loved the Grenville from the sweet little touches of flowers & a small door knock on our room door, Ribbons on the shades to the lovely quilts on the bed. The food was excellent, good wine list and the service was good. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and I think I detected some homemade offerings also. We had a front room but could hear no noise from the street or other rooms. The clean wonderful beach was only a block away! We traveled with our 'special needs' 6 yr old and the Grenville personnel were most accommodating and very kind to us. We are booking for the Holidays we loved it so much. We asked to see their larger rooms and they were very grand. We just needed a bit more room for our family than what I had booked. Have already recommended the charming, older hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the wifi code to get your kids gadgets working all the time at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It was our pleasure! We look forward to your return visit. Have a wonderful winter, good health.
Thank YOu for taking your time to write about your stay with us. Renee, harry and The Grenville Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.