We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grenville

Save Saved
You added The Grenville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grenville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Head
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While it was a good place to stay, nice employees and perfect location, I do feel that just a little more can be done to make this a quaint place. The suite we were in was fitted with mismatched beat up furniture, dirty headboard and footboard cover, unironed bedskirts which were not adjusted properly, no bath mat and skewed curtains that were not really suitable. If just a little more attention could be paid, I think this place could really be charming. Perhaps a new housekeeping supervisor is in order. The complimentary breakfast could be boosted a bit, as well. Offer juice and fruit along with the pastry and toast.

I am not sure how this hotel compares to others in the area, perhaps they are all like this? I did not try the restaurant as it was closed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    15
    20
    57
See reviews for
48
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I spent many childhood summers at Hotel Grenville, and after many years, was not disappointed with the quaintness and charm of this hotel. The rooms are simple and clean and rustic, and I had a wonderful dining experience there. The best part is the beach which was just the same as I remembered was only a block away!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are larger, mine was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank YOu for taking your time to write your review. Glad everything was as lovely as you remembered. Wishing you a wonderful healthy and happy winter. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future. Thank YOu again for staying with us, Renee and Harry and The Grenville Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We loved the Grenville from the sweet little touches of flowers & a small door knock on our room door, Ribbons on the shades to the lovely quilts on the bed. The food was excellent, good wine list and the service was good. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and I think I detected some homemade offerings also. We had a front room but could hear no noise from the street or other rooms. The clean wonderful beach was only a block away! We traveled with our 'special needs' 6 yr old and the Grenville personnel were most accommodating and very kind to us. We are booking for the Holidays we loved it so much. We asked to see their larger rooms and they were very grand. We just needed a bit more room for our family than what I had booked. Have already recommended the charming, older hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the wifi code to get your kids gadgets working all the time at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It was our pleasure! We look forward to your return visit. Have a wonderful winter, good health.
Thank YOu for taking your time to write about your stay with us. Renee, harry and The Grenville Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Ants in the room, no lock on our window, poor service in the restauraunt which was completely overpriced! Never told about beach badges or the complimentary breakfast - On the bulletin board in libby they post surf lessons and a variety of things to do but each person we asked never did any of them or had no idea how they were.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Sorry you were dissappointed in your stay and felt our restaurant was too expensive. Our restaurant differs from most offering fresh ingredients and unique cusine with decorated dishes. We earnestly try displaying all discounts & specials offered in all media available, verbal welcome with dinner promotions, elevator & room signage and our website, including Expedia, Tripadvisor, Booking, Restaurant.com, Entertainment Guide, and other media sites. Restaurant discounts and free continental are mentioned when reservations are made and posted throughout the Hotel.
The building, 122 years old, has maintenance staff repairing the interior and exterior 365 days a year. After many storms, the windows in certain rooms have been affected. They are being replaced since repair is not adequate. Due to economic times we have not increased rates and have offered numerous summer promotions both for room rates and restaurant visits.
The surf classes offered both by local shop in town and a dedicted experienced young lady. Our front desk staff is not able to guarantee any classes.
Our front desk is extremely friendly. All questions are answered. It is our pleasure to make suggestions on local eateries, shops, and activities. Your furutre visit is always appreciated and valued. Have a healthy happy winter. The Grenville Owners and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms were a bit dated; the dining room generally had only one or two people servicing the entire room at a time, so the service was a bit slow. The food was okay -- nothing to write home about.

The hotel location was convenient -- very close to the beach -- but it was also on a very busy main road, which made me nervous about the children with whom we were traveling.

The town was very cute. It had a small "main" street (called Bridge Ave) with a few cute shops, a few cafes, etc.

What did put something of a cloud over our stay was that the management was pushy and not very kind to the staff, which lead to a bit of an unpleasant atmosphere for a vacation. Furthermore, we stayed with friends at the hotel under one reservation, and the management would not allow us to split our approximately $750 bill onto 2 cards (not a big deal -- we're good friends -- they just wrote us a check).

Would probably visit the town again, but would not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We thank You for staying with us. Although we are located on Main Ave there is no need to cross the street to go to the beach. Also, there is a 4 way traffic light for Bridge Ave.
Upon check guests give the credit card they wish to use for balance of stay. Once the credit card is processed we can not reverse charges at end of stay and bill a a different card. We can bill partials on several cards but not debit/credit after process is made.
We thank you again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The building Wa older but so very nice. The rooms reminded me of staying at my grandparents in that welcoming & homely way. They weren't huge but it was all you really needed. The location was Perfect right around the corner from the beach & a little town center. I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to dinner with friends. web site makes the place seem impressive It's not. The food was ok
I had a dinner special. Scallops and Shrimp the shrimp was way over cooked to the point of being hard.Dinner specials are over priced 5 shrimp and 5 scallops for $40.00 Prices for specials are not posted so you don't know till you get the bill. My bad for not asking, waitress should inform customers of price. My wife had crab cakes they were ok I have had better for a lot less the vegtables were very bland no seasoning at all. And lastly the veranda faces the main street
so if you don't mind trying to talk above the traffic noise.Would not go there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
The Veranda faces the front of the building and has been a treasure for outdoor dining for many years. Although Bay Head has many restrictions for traffic patterns (35 mile per hour) our busy lives make the roads more travelled in the summer. Naturally we all wish to enjoy the recreational outdoors, our beautiful Jersey beaches, and our outdoor restaurants.
We wish you had expressed your dismay while you were here. It is far easier to please dining patrons while they are here. Our staff asks every patron how they are enjoying their dinner, always eager to make sure their experience with us is to the patrons full satisfaction. The specials are verbally expressed and prices are available upon request.
it is no longer mandatory to make reservations and many summer patrons stop in for informal Family dinners. Every attempt and painstaking effort for prompt service is made. Please remember everything including our sauces are made on premise therefore requiring more attention than microwaved frozen product offered by many chain establishments.
We offer numerous on line coupons, combination specials for the hotel & restaurant packages that we encourage our patrons to select. We look forward to a future visit. again we are sorry you wre not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;