We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grenville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grenville to your Saves list
The Grenville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
2 reviews
“Older but Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The building Wa older but so very nice. The rooms reminded me of staying at my grandparents in that welcoming & homely way. They weren't huge but it was all you really needed. The location was Perfect right around the corner from the beach & a little town center. I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    55
    17
    21
    61
See reviews for
53
89
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to dinner with friends. web site makes the place seem impressive It's not. The food was ok
I had a dinner special. Scallops and Shrimp the shrimp was way over cooked to the point of being hard.Dinner specials are over priced 5 shrimp and 5 scallops for $40.00 Prices for specials are not posted so you don't know till you get the bill. My bad for not asking, waitress should inform customers of price. My wife had crab cakes they were ok I have had better for a lot less the vegtables were very bland no seasoning at all. And lastly the veranda faces the main street
so if you don't mind trying to talk above the traffic noise.Would not go there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
The Veranda faces the front of the building and has been a treasure for outdoor dining for many years. Although Bay Head has many restrictions for traffic patterns (35 mile per hour) our busy lives make the roads more travelled in the summer. Naturally we all wish to enjoy the recreational outdoors, our beautiful Jersey beaches, and our outdoor restaurants.
We wish you had expressed your dismay while you were here. It is far easier to please dining patrons while they are here. Our staff asks every patron how they are enjoying their dinner, always eager to make sure their experience with us is to the patrons full satisfaction. The specials are verbally expressed and prices are available upon request.
it is no longer mandatory to make reservations and many summer patrons stop in for informal Family dinners. Every attempt and painstaking effort for prompt service is made. Please remember everything including our sauces are made on premise therefore requiring more attention than microwaved frozen product offered by many chain establishments.
We offer numerous on line coupons, combination specials for the hotel & restaurant packages that we encourage our patrons to select. We look forward to a future visit. again we are sorry you wre not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've passed the Grenville many times and always wanted to stay. It has lived up to my expectations! It is a quaint, old inn with friendly staff and great food! If you are expecting the plush accommodations of a hotel, this is not for you...but if you are interested in a pleasant, quiet change of scene try the Grenville Inn.

Room Tip: Medium room includes king size bed and private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are so very happy you wre able to come and enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to your future stay in the hotel and restaurant. Wishing you a beautiful fall and winter. see you soon and stay well The Grenville Owners and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I checked in on my birthday, July 23rd. We made the reservation through Expedia, ( so room and tax charges were paid in advance) and we knew we were not arriving to a 5 stars hotel. The first impression was that we were arriving to a 1900,s place. The old odor dominated the enviroment. After 5 minutes at the front desk with the agent dealing with another guest complaining about his final bill, we were finally asked about what we wanted. The first thing the agent did, was to ask for my credit card for "incidentals", and after that, my name was asked. We were assigned to a room that we barely could walk into it. Central a/c, around 80 degrees inside the room, towells that looked used, tv inside a closet with the color coming and going, and other etceteras, that would make my story so bored. Among our short 2 days stay, we asked for activities and restautants in the area, and what we get from the agent was a paper written from her, like we knew the area, with directions on it, not to mention that after around 11pm, there were nobody at all at the fd, with the front door open without any security. But the reason of my review, started the next day of our arriving, when we went to the fd, to ask for the "private beach passes", for the beach that was located around 750 feet away from the hotel. What was given, was two small papers, with a pin on each one, to be shown to a girl at the beach entrance. Everything was ok, the beach wonderful, and when we came back, around 6 pm, we inmediately returned both "passes", to the agent. The next and last day of our stay, we did not went to the beach, and when we were leaving the property, after we were told the classic "you're all set", by the agent, we were stopped by the same agent, asking for the passes, that according to them, were not returned by us. We explained that we were returned them the previous day, and the agent said with a not convinced way, " ok sir". On August 1st, when I went on line to check my bank accounts, i saw a couple of charges from the hotel, the first from July 27th, for $113, and another from July 28th, for $175, 2 and 3 days respectively, after our check out day. Inmediately I called the hotel, and a very kind lady, called Rene, apologized, and told me that she was going to call me back the next day, with an explanation for both charges. Inmediately after, suspecting that a problem was coming up, I called my bank, disputing both charges. The next day, it was no call from the hotel, so I called them the next day, and the same lady, explained me that the first charge was because a "room change", but they discovered that it was not such, and they took it out, but the $ 175 charge, was because the beach passes, were not returned to the hotel from us. Of course we are not going to pay for this hotel abusive charge, but I hope this story serve to others, for make not the mistake to go to that place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Our guest sign in information form specifically states the charge for any badges not returned upon check out. You did not return 2 badges, a reduced fee of $175.00 was charged rather than $400.00. The desk clerk tried to tell you the badges were not returned. You continued your departure ignoring her. This has been explained repeatedly. to you. We don't make the badges nor have any say as to wether they are small, large, paper, plastic. This is determined by the Bay Head Improvement Assosiation of this town. They are given to guests during the duration of their stay, counted daily. We don't set the rules for the beach.
The first day rate was a promotion through expedia, great bargain! You added and addition night after the first day. The rate registered was a higher rate for the 2nd night. We adjusted your rate gaving you the discounted rate and credit of $113.00. Renee explained why the rate was higher.
The agent requested your credit card for incidentals and verified your reservations, standard procedure when checking into any hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Grenville was a wonderful host for our wedding reception. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the food was absolutely delicious and the rooms lived up to expectations. They even came with beach passes so everyone could enjoy the beach the day after.
I would highly recommend the Grenville as a the perfect reception location at the Jersey Shore. A couple friends mentioned some rooms were very small and while some came with refrigerators, others didn't. We had no problems however and Renee and her staff helped make our wedding day perfect!

Room Tip: Go for the suites or the two person rooms from the advice of friends. We loved the Georgette Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are pleased you had a wonderful time. We thank you for taking your time to write a beautiful review. We appreciate your time and we hope to see you in the near future. Stay well and congratulations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It really run down and highly over priced for what you get.

below motel 6 which in my opinion are at least clean.

Glad it was only for one night I would hate for a family to book a trip and have to stay here.

The continental breakfast is a stale muffin and shot glass of coffe, which you get in the lobby and no seating.

To sit down its 20$ a head .... Ouch !

We never mind paying but expect to get value and at least good service, the help is on par with the dirty building.



  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Our award winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is offered to all our hotel guests $20.00 for 2 guests! Guests enjoy brakfast, and chaffers of lunch selections as fish, chicken, omelet station, salads, chocolate fountain, etc. They can stay as long as they wish and return to the buffet numerous times. Most find it an exception bargain. This is 10 am 1:30.
The no charge FREE continental breakfast is muffins, danish, UNLIMITED coffee, tea, etc starts earlier 8:30 to 10 am

Sorry you felt we did not give you value for your money. The rates are modest for the Jersey Shore summer short season. We appreciate your patronage. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Home, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago with our 3-year-old daughter. Renee and her staff were very courtious and made all of the accomodations we needed to make sure that we got rest along with our daughter who is quite picky about where she sleeps. Since we were looking to spend time on the beach and site seeing, this was exactly what we needed. We had a clean room, a shower and a place to lay our heads at night. We will definately be staying there on our next visit to New Jersey. Thank you, Renee for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We thank you for taking your time to describe your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon. Stay well, The Grenville Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
0.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
10.8 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bentley Inn
The Bentley Inn
#1 of 3 in Bay Head
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
125 Year old Victorian Hotel 100 yards from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.