We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very "Happy Anniversary" night...thanks to Sophia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada & K Ranch, ND
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very "Happy Anniversary" night...thanks to Sophia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I are on our Anniversary Trip planning to visit 9 New England States. One of our stops was at Basking Ridge, New Jersey; (on our way to New York City). My wife and I were in a casual conversation about our "Anniversary Trip" and how nice it had been thus far with the IHG properties in Syracuse and Owego New York. Front Deck attendant Sophia (she gets a gold star); arranged for us to stay in a Superior room, (even though we were staying on points); and the hotel was sold out for the night.
While we were getting ready to turn in for the evening, there was a knock at the door. The gentleman brought in a cart with what the hotel calls a "Hotel Amenity". (Items very special that made both of us smile).
Thank you very much Sophia for being on the ball, and picking up on our special trip conversation..
The personal note from the general manager of the hotel (and the amenity) were indeed not expected, but greatly appreciated.
We'll go out of our way to make it back to your hotel when we are in the area.

PS: As Priority Club Platinum card holders we expect good service, but at the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo, we got more than we bargained for, in a very exceptional way. Thank you very much

Room Tip: Cooked breakfast was outstanding. Ask for Sophia when calling the hotel, or cross your fingers that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greeting VernKaye!

First, Happy Anniversary again! I was so touched reading your review and want to thank you for taking the time out of your special trip to recognize your stay at the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge and Sophia! She is a very special young lady and we are very fortunate to have her as part of our staff here. It was wonderful to have you as our guest and I look forward to the next time we can host you.

Kind Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    48
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
23
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here because I was in a friend's wedding for two nights. When we arrived the man at the desk mumbled a lot of things. We were supposed to get breakfast vouchers for both mornings, we only got them for one morning and when asked we couldn't get more.

The bed in our room was very noisy. Every time my husband rolled over it woke me. Also, the walls must be very thin (or maybe it's due to the lack of carpeting...though I liked the idea of "hardwood.") because beginning at 5:28 the day of the wedding out neighbors alarm went off. They let it go the entire 10 minute cycle. This happened two additional times (different ringtones, so it wasn't an accident). When I went to the front desk the guy laughed and said that our neighbor had left.

Wasn't the worst place, but certainly below average.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Greeting Ehubler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Warm Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on Friday 4/19/2013 for a friend's wedding. We arrived at about 2:40pm - check in is at 3pm. Our room wasn't ready yet...no big deal - he told us he would let us know when it was ready. We sat in the lobby and chatted with some friends when they arrived and at 3:00pm...the young man from behind the desk walked past us, with his backpack and right on out to his car...ok - guess it's quitting time. So I walked up to the desk to ask the new person at the desk if we could check-in...he says of course, your room has been ready for a while now????? Hmmmm...communications issues behind the desk?

The room was very clean - but had laminate "hard wood" floors and wearing heels was VERY noisy in the room - I felt bad for the people in the rooms next door!!! And I think the walls are very thin in this building - we were walking down the hallway and could tell which rooms our friends were in based solely on the voices we heard coming from behind closed doors.

The shower leaves a lot to be desired - almost no water pressure...but everything was clean. NO shower curtain or door - just half enclosed with glass - strange but true. I was a little put off by the wooden stool in the shower - and couldn't imagine anyone wanting to sit on it...who else has been sitting on that stool in that shower???

The hotel bar doesn't open until 4:00pm and closes at 11:00pm - as we were returning from our friend's wedding at 12:30am - many guests were upset that we wouldn't be able to enjoy a little downtime at the bar after the wedding.

We were given free breakfast vouchers with our reservation - not big on eating first thing in the morning, I just wanted a cup of coffee - could not use the breakfast voucher for coffee - had to pay $3.00 for a 12 oz cup of coffee????? This was a bit disappointing - every hotel I have ever stayed in has had free coffee in the lobby for all guests - and WHY couldn't I use my breakfast voucher for the coffee? Was breakfast less than $3.00???

All in all - the hotel is very clean and nicely appointed, however I do believe they need to be a little more customer oriented.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear StaciKing921,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our service to all of our guests, which seemed to be lacking in your visit. Also, the information provided is very useful and will be used as we continuously work to enhance our product. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time that you visit Basking Ridge.

Sincerely,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything in my room was up to date, the room was clean, the front desk was courteous and efficient. Loads of TV channels. The rooms are a little noisy, I could hear every thing in the hall. I don't think there is a pool. The restaurant is decent for a hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Greetings Frederico1st,

All of the team members here at the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge were so happy to read your review regarding your recent stay with us! Thank you very much for all your compliments. We really hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Please stop by and introduce yourself so that I can meet you in person and thank you!

Sincerely,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Use Holiday Inn card for discount. Location is fine if you are visiting Basking Ridge area. Liked the workout room. I usually had it to myself. Bar Is OK. Cleanliness is OK. One problem is the price can really vary. Used This hotel in February and called back for reservations two moths later and I was told the same room would cost $100.00 more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Misheidi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. It looks like we met your expectations but did not exceed them. We utilize this feedback as a way to make improvements and fine tune our operation. Thank you for sharing.

Warm Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a wedding in the area and it was a pleasant surprise. Room was clean and nicely appointed although the air conditioner was on in the room in February and the thermostat was not very cooperative. Breakfast was included in our rate and was good. Bar was open at night and made for a quaint gathering spot of the wedding guests who were staying here. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Chet7259,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your previous stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and bar. The Wedding packages are good here in that our couples are given the option of breakfast packages which saves on one cost. I am sorry to hear your air conditioner was uncooperative however I am pleased to hear that overall you were happy with your hotel experience. We hope to welcome yourself and your family back to the hotel upon your next trip to the area.

Warm regards,
Heather
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel several times, most recent was mid-Feb 2013 for 3 nights. Always have found staff this hotel to be efficient & friendly. This is a good hotel for business visitors since many offices are nearby. Some big shopping malls, restaurants etc are easily accessible, about 15-30 minutes drive. Hotel has plenty of parking. Good facilities - TV with cable, high speed wireless etc, clean & functional rooms. Would recommend this hotel highly for business visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Rostow2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on the hotel. I am happy to hear that the staff is consistently efficient and friendly. We certainly welcome individuality but pride ourselves on delivering the best service possible. I noticed you mentioned the restaurants nearby; we do have some good places and just recently had a few new ones open. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Heather
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Address: 80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a neighborhood story and we want you to live through and be part of ours. Guests at our smoke-free boutique hotel will experience a local flavor, in an affordable luxury, yet casual and sophisticated setting. At the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge we provide the very best in modern boutique accommodations, hotel services and inspiring hospitality. Our unique hotel is an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still desire inspiring service. Within 10 miles of our upscale Basking Ridge accommodations, you will find many shopping destinations, like the Mall at Short Hills, Bridgewater Commons and New York City's Madison Avenue, which is just 30 miles from our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge. Additional area attractions include the USGA Museum, historic Morristown and the exquisite Duke Estate. A business trip is a time of serenity and renewal at our luxurious hotel in Basking Ridge. Take advantage of convenient access to Verizon Wireless, Avaya and Barnes and Noble headquarters, as well as a free local shuttle -5 mile radius of the hotel and must be booked 7-10 day in advance due to high demand, service and complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. With a contemporary atmosphere and first-rate services, the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo focuses on delivering peace and inspiration to all guests. While lodging at our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge,NJ,you can enjoy a local brewed coffee and gourmet meals at Old Oak Bar & Bistro or exercise at our state-of-the-art fitness center.Choose the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo,and you will experience the very best in modern boutique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.