We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel in NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Basking Ridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
new hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Boutique style hotel in NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights here over Thanksgiving and loved it! We had a large room and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The decorations were very different and interesting. The room was clean and staff very cheerful and pleasant even though it was a holiday. Breakfast was not included but was a reasonable price and well cooked. We were so impressed we joined their loyalty program.

Room Tip: The hotel is ina quiet area, our room was in the back looking onto a garden and woods and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear gwyt,

Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. I hope you were able to join us for Thanksgiving dinner! It is nice to hear we earned your loyalty from your past visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Heather Graziano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
38
16
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

During Superstorm Sandy I was desperate to get my elderly, handicapped parents a warm place to stay. I showed up at the hotel and Mimi listened to my story, was sympathetic and said that she would try her best to help out. She told me to wait to see if a room became available. While waiting in the lobby, I saw the entire staff of the hotel (who were dressed in Halloween costumes) treat each and every person who was at the hotel as if they were family. There was an extreme amount of pressure on the hotel staff to try to help out each of the families who were staying in the hotel, and they all did a great job. Even though the hotel was running off of a generator and had limited power, the rooms and common areas were clean, there were meals for the guests and after just a couple of days Mimi and her staff seemed to know everyone who was staying in the hotel by name.
I was not familiar with the Indigo brand of hotel prior to my parent's stay, but I will certainly consider staying at an Indigo after the extraordinary service I witnessed my Mimi and her staff.

Thank you Mimi and the entire Indigo staff for taking such great care of my parents during the storm!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear JMCPBR5,

Thank you for your kind words to Mimi and the rest of our staff. Superstorm Sandy caused a lot of devastation to our guests and staff alike but we tried to make the best of an awful situation because it is all we could do to help the community. I am pleased you were able to join us for the Halloween party. Even though it was cancelled for the rest of New Jersey, we wanted to make sure the kids still had an opportunity to have fun, the adults as well! I hope we will see you and your family back here for a visit or even dinner! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

Warm regards,
Heather Graziano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Debrecen, Hungary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was there in august 2012 in the hottest period of the year. The aircondition worked well, silence and efficient, and in general the place was very quiet, so you can sleep after a busy day... The rooms are apart from the community areas, it was a vedding party that night, but i did not realized nothing of it in the room. Lot of parking places, good breakfast. It is a perfect place for overnight for business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Pe'ter T,

We're glad that you found us, and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that we were able to be a perfect place for your business travel. We look forward to your next visit!

Fondly,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having stayed at Indigo before and during Sandy, was the best hotel, we could have chosen for ourselves. It was clean and staff was friendly and very determined to make us all feel at home and comfortable. Mimi, the manager, was extraordinary. She was out among all of us, all the time, making sure, we were all feeling as good as possible, the nature catastrophy taking into considderation. Coffee and tea and food was prepared deliciously. Mimi was always able to find solutions and make people smile. It felt really good to be in the lobby in the good atmosphere. In general the hotel has all it promises. It is indeed a good place to stay, if you like to feel at home....As a family coming from Europe, we felt fantastic welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Europe A,

I cannot express how thankful I am that you took the time to share on Trip Advisor your recent experience at my hotel. And, yes, I am emotional and have teared up about the kind compliments you so graciously wrote about me. I am happy that we were able to make such a tough time more comfortable for you and your family. Our home is always open to you the next time you are in the Basking Ridge area and we will welcome your return.

Warm Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

During the recent storm (Sandy) we were forced to leave our freezing, powerless home and tried for days to find an available hotel room Hotel Indigo finally had an opening and we spent 2 nights there. The room was better than we expected Clean and roomy Even with our 2 dogs, we all slept well and enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful Even prior to getting a room, we would stop in for hot coffee and some food which was hard to come by They allowed us to charge our phones and were more than wonderful. They truly helped us through a rough time !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Greetings SweetieNewJersey,

It was a pleasure to read your review. The wonderful comments you made brought many smiles to the staff members at the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo. We are so pleased that we were able to offer accommodations for you and your dogs during a difficult time. Please come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during Sandy and they had a generator and made the most of it. Bar was open and they did the best they could with sandwiches. Staff were great and everyone was very grateful. When full power came back on, lots of people came looking for rooms. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I live locally, but still no power and am grateful for the comfort.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Good Day Donal327,

In such a time when the local area was affected, I'm so glad that we were able to offer you some warmth and comfort while you were without power. I am grateful that you recognized that we were operating at a diminished capacity, but were doing the best we could to accommodate you and our other guests. I am thankful that you have taken the time to write and we would love to have you visit again.

Best Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Horrible experience. Gouging for cheap food during hurricane sandy. Manager, Mimi, was beyond rude! Service was non existence - had to keep asking for bill then they overcharged me. Ridiculous pricing for what you received. Awful, awful experience. Paper thin walls. Stains on carpet. Just a dirty room. Couldn't wait to leave. Never again. Don't stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
The hotel Indigo Basking Ridge lost power on Monday 10/29 along with 92% of the state of New Jersey. The hotel was operating at a diminished capacity with an emergency generator due to high winds and damage created by Superstorm Sandy. Every guest who chose to check in was advised of the condition in which the hotel was operating and had to sign a registration card acknowledging this. All guests were advised that the emergency generator powered the public space lighting, one light in the guest room; there was hot water in the guest rooms. Guests were advised that there were no TV/Internet services available as well since there was an outage in the entire area. All guests who chose not to accept these conditions were allowed to cancel pre-made reservation without penalty. We offered the guests a charging station for electrical needs on the 1st floor and a modified/limited menu of cold salads and gourmet sandwich selections, which was not only offered to hotel guests but the local community that was also affected by the destruction of the Hurricane. We included a continental breakfast to ALL hotel guest s with the hotel rate (which is not the standard.) We opened a complimentary coffee station for all registered guests and also provided coffee to the local community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Basking Ridge hotels

Been to Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Address: 80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a neighborhood story and we want you to live through and be part of ours. Guests at our smoke-free boutique hotel will experience a local flavor, in an affordable luxury, yet casual and sophisticated setting. At the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge we provide the very best in modern boutique accommodations, hotel services and inspiring hospitality. Our unique hotel is an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still desire inspiring service. Within 10 miles of our upscale Basking Ridge accommodations, you will find many shopping destinations, like the Mall at Short Hills, Bridgewater Commons and New York City's Madison Avenue, which is just 30 miles from our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge. Additional area attractions include the USGA Museum, historic Morristown and the exquisite Duke Estate. A business trip is a time of serenity and renewal at our luxurious hotel in Basking Ridge. Take advantage of convenient access to Verizon Wireless, Avaya and Barnes and Noble headquarters, as well as a free local shuttle -5 mile radius of the hotel and must be booked 7-10 day in advance due to high demand, service and complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. With a contemporary atmosphere and first-rate services, the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo focuses on delivering peace and inspiration to all guests. While lodging at our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge,NJ,you can enjoy a local brewed coffee and gourmet meals at Old Oak Bar & Bistro or exercise at our state-of-the-art fitness center.Choose the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo,and you will experience the very best in modern boutique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.