We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highland Park, New Jersey
1 review
“Super clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time this past weekend when I attended my high school reunion. I have never taken the time to write a review before, but I am doing so now because I feel inspired by a particular Housekeeping employee named Ms. Leonor Rivera. I was lucky enough to run into her many times over my 3-day stay, and each time though she was hard at work making those rooms sparkle and shine, her warmth, open and cheerful manner just added to my delicious experience of connecting with old friends in such a lovely and homey setting. I am so glad I took the time to say "hello." The room would have been just as incredibly clean and comfortable, the atmosphere just as pleasant, the grounds just as lovely with beautiful fall foliage all around, but it wouldn't have been the same without meeting Leonor. I will definitely return--maybe just for the fun of staying there again!

Room Tip: My room was on the fourth floor, King size bed, and it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    48
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
23
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The checkin experience was brisk and great. The room itself is painted in bright cheery colors with wood flooring. It is very pleasant. The bar serves good dinners and was lively for the start of a week. It was a nice place to unwind. The fish and chips was very good.

The hotel is located centrally in Basking Ridge, making it easy to get to most businesses. Parking was good and close to the door.

Two problems - the tap in the bathroom was loose and wobbly making it difficult to get the right temperature. Avoid breakfasts. On my first day the 2-egg breakfast was ok. On the second day they forgot to heat it up. Very inconsistent & disappointing. The toast comes unbuttered, delivered with rock-hard butter making do-it-yourself impossible.

Overall, it is an average hotel stay. Some pluses, some minuses. The price is on the high-side.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be very good. The hotel is located in a quiet area. Stay way from the elevator-a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Roy M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the room décor and location. We do appreciate your positive feedback. I am sorry to hear you experienced some issues during your stay. We use these opportunities as training tools to continuously improve and hopefully we can WOW you during your next stay.

Warm regards,
Heather Graziano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for a family wedding. The first day check in was quick and the front desk woman was very personable. The second day when I went to get my other room, it was a different story. Check in was for 3pm. I asked the woman at the front desk, around 2pm, if they had a room available yet. She said no. Ok, a few more people came in and tried to check in and still no rooms were available yet. Now it was about 2:50 pm and there was a line forming at the front desk and people were getting rooms, so I got in line and waited and waited. It would have been better customer service if they had more than one person working the desk near check-in time, especially when they knew there were many wedding guests staying there. Finally got a room. It was spacious enough, wooden floors and typically clean. The ac didn't work properly, but they did come and get it working. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors. The wooden floors amplify walking noises, you could hear toilets flushing in other rooms and it was very noisy in our own room. There was no fan in the bathroom, some bathrooms had automatic lights that turned on when you walked in. This wasn't very good for late night bathroom usage. The actual rooms were poorly lit, even with all the lamps on. Breakfast had runny eggs, cold potatoes, and soggy bacon. The servers were very polite and attentive. Nothing around in walking distance, car dependent.

Room Tip: No pool, but there is a workout room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Pigismom,

Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy the staff was attentive however, I apologize we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback and use it to better ourselves and make the necessary improvements to our guestrooms.

Warm regards,
Heather Graziano
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been staying at the this hotel for business every week for 3 to 4 days over the past year and it has become my home away from home. All of the staff from the Front Desk to Housekeeping are always so helpful and friendly. I look forward to checking in with Colette, Estella and Gamil always have my coffee prepared for me the way I like it in the morning. The managers Mimi, Gladys, Chris, and Kim are always around and offer to take care of anything I may need. Tonight there was a special wine tasting reception on the patio to promote some local New Jersey wines ( I was informed that Indigo hotels promote local vendors to tie into their theme.) I even received a thank you bag for coming with chocolates made on property and an apple from the local farm stand. All in all, this hotel is by far the best in the area and very comfortable. I feel more like a guest in someone's home when I stay here and not just like a traveler staying at a hotel.

Room Tip: They have a nice happy hour, with specials and appetizers. The rooms on the back side of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear ML,
Thank you very much for such a genuine heartfelt review. It really has been our pleasure to be your host in your “home away from home.” I have shared your review with the entire staff (as I know that you are in contact with many of them each week)and I cannot express the smiles that were generated as it was read out loud. You truly are a valued guest and we thank you for your continued loyalty.


Yours Fondly,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everyone was friendly and helpful, but Gladys Camilo went way beyond the norm, to make sure my stay was extra special! I would recommend this hotel, based on the wonderful service and the people who work there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Greetings Farber96,

Wow! What a great review to receive! We are always happy to hear that our guests at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge were able to enjoy their stay and received such wonderful service. Gladys (our Executive Housekeeper) is very special and we are very lucky to have such a great associate as part of our team. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had never stayed at an Indigo Hotel before, only having been to a few Happy Hours after work. I've always enjoyed the atmosphere there for Happy Hour. The staff had always been very friendly during my visits. I recently had a need to stay close to work overnight and decided to try the Indigo. I have to say my expectations were exceeded in every way. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are super clean! I'm glad I had a chance to stay and looking forward to staying at the Indigo again. I would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Good Day JRTaylor76,

I'm happy to hear your first Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge stay was a success! We are always glad to show Indigo newbies a good time. As you travel to other Indigos, you'll notice we all have unique touches; no two Indigos are alike! Since you mentioned our hotel happy hour, I am pleased to share that we have some new additions and themes that we offer Monday through Friday. Please stop by and introduce yourself as I would love to buy one of my happy guests a drink in Old Oak Bar & Bistro. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Fondly,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a great place to stay!! This is by far my favorite place to stay! The level of customer service is the best that I have experienced in a long time. The customer does come first at the Indigo. They make you feel like family and go out of there way to make sure you are comfortable and welcomed. Heather, Collette, and Mimi are the best and continue to provide a high level of customer service to me every time I stay. I would not stay any where else! Great job, keep up the outstanding sevice. Many thanks Bryan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Bryan,

As one of our most frequent and valued guests I am thankful that you have taken the time to write such a generous review of our hotel. Bryan, we really do strive to make all of our visitors feel like guests in a home rather than just a guest at a hotel. There are many choices in accommodations out there and we all offer the same, a bed, flat screen TV, high speed internet, but what sets us apart from the rest is the personalized service we offer and it warms our hearts that you recognize that. Our promise to you is to continue to make you feel like home every week when you stay. As always, please do not hesitate to let Colette, Heather, myself or any other Basking Ridge Indigo Team member assist you with any needs you may have.

We look forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Address: 80 Allen Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a neighborhood story and we want you to live through and be part of ours. Guests at our smoke-free boutique hotel will experience a local flavor, in an affordable luxury, yet casual and sophisticated setting. At the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge we provide the very best in modern boutique accommodations, hotel services and inspiring hospitality. Our unique hotel is an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still desire inspiring service. Within 10 miles of our upscale Basking Ridge accommodations, you will find many shopping destinations, like the Mall at Short Hills, Bridgewater Commons and New York City's Madison Avenue, which is just 30 miles from our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge. Additional area attractions include the USGA Museum, historic Morristown and the exquisite Duke Estate. A business trip is a time of serenity and renewal at our luxurious hotel in Basking Ridge. Take advantage of convenient access to Verizon Wireless, Avaya and Barnes and Noble headquarters, as well as a free local shuttle -5 mile radius of the hotel and must be booked 7-10 day in advance due to high demand, service and complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. With a contemporary atmosphere and first-rate services, the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo focuses on delivering peace and inspiration to all guests. While lodging at our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge,NJ,you can enjoy a local brewed coffee and gourmet meals at Old Oak Bar & Bistro or exercise at our state-of-the-art fitness center.Choose the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo,and you will experience the very best in modern boutique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.