We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in New Jersey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Choice in New Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Staff was very professional and Not short staffed like a lot of hotels! Super lobby and courtyard. The rooms were very clean and up to date. Breakfast was fresh and worth the $5 total to add to room for 2 persons. Only 45 miles from NYC so a great option.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
lvrjl,
I agree with you, by paying the $5 extra for the room on the weekends the value is increased tremendously by adding breakfast for two people and kids under 12. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for staying with us.
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
21
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
426 reviews 426 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were only staying one night in the area, getting in late and leaving early, so we wanted a reasonably priced hotel. This fit the bill. While the room layouts and fixtures are a little dated, the beds were very comfortable, the area is quiet and there are two upscale retail centers nearby with quite a few good restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
GPBurdell67,
There are a couple of strip malls within walking distance with great restaurants. The neighborhood is affluent and supports some exceptional fine dining restaurants and shops. Happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Basking Ridge Courtyard.
Thank you,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Of all the Courtyards I have stayed in, and they are pretty much exactly the same by design, this has the friendliest staff. A hotel should be a place of respite for a weary traveler and my experience here has been just that. The front desk staff are professional and welcoming. Information is easily available. Beds are comfy and they now serve great coffee (not free). i stay here one weekend a year for my job and I have been coming to this paticular hotel for at least 10 years

Room Tip: I usually get a room at a cut rate on priceline but if I can't, I'd rather pay full rate tha...
See more room tips
Green Features: All hotels are extremely wasteful, even when they are enviro friendly. They have to be to be clean and sanitary
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
edenMB,
Thank you for your loyalty and the compliments of the staff. Your praise is very important to me and the staff as it motivates us to continue to provide excellent service!!
Sincerely,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Basking Ridge Courtyard is situated more with an industrial campus areas and a convenient area near highways. You must travel for a while to get to more populated areas. The hotel tell is a traditional courtyard with the standard amenities. It is a comfortable place to stay very clean. It's not high end but for what it is, this courtyard is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
mjs21255,
I appreciate you taking the time to complete the review.
Regards,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel itself was ok but our carpet in the room was soaking wet. It was wet next to the AC unit near the windows and also in between the beds near the nightstand, which made no sense. When I told the front desk the next morning they told me they'd check for damages as if we did something! They didn't even apologize for the carpet being wet and just said they'd have maintenance look into it. The fan in the bathroom sounded like a jack hammer on top of that. Otherwise it was just about an average hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
sq86,
I am so sorry you had to deal with the issue of wet spots and noisy vent in the bathroom. I will use your experience to retrain the staff on handling issues. The minimum we could do is say we are sorry. I hope you give us another chance.
Sincerely,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend stay at this hotel, picked for its location, price, and good rating through Trip Adviser.

Our room, with sofa, desk, HDTV, small fridge, large window space, and king-sized bed was comfortable, and clean with a nice supply of toiletries. My spouse and I slept well both nights. Hot water came quickly through the pipes anytime we tried.

We'd asked for a quiet room, and one was furnished far from the elevators and lobby traffic. We'd asked for a room where the A/C was not blowing over the bed and Marriott delivered. We also asked for feather pillows (non-guaranteed option on the reservation website) but we got foam. We purchased a breakfast option that allowed us a number of choices from a modest menu, served by ample portions and a helpful staff that allowed some flexibility to suit our tastes. Hot entrees were brought to the table within 5-10 minutes. a few downsides: the thermostat took a few minutes to figure out, if the H/AC fan was set to run continuously for white noise the H/AC stayed off, and the tap water tasted awful - not metallic, but not "fresh". Bottled water is available for a price. The tub faucet had minor leaking while the shower was being used, but shower flow was plentiful with multiple adjustments.

Front Desk Staff was very helpful. Cleaning service was great: we accidentally left a small package behind in our room, but one of the "cleaners" found it and caught up with us before we reached the elevator. How cool is that? A Market Place exists for odds and ends. A liter of water - about $5. Styling of the room seemed a bit dated, but the bed was in excellent condition.

*Finding* the hotel, if you're not from the area, could be a challenge. Marriott's reservation site listed an address in fine print, but no directions. The GPS announced arrival beside a clump of bushes without ceremony. Fifty feet later was a sign pointing Right towards what looked like an on-ramp to a highway, without a building in view. It turns out, it was trying to direct us to a "New Jersey U-turn" where first you turn right before being herded to a means for driving across the street and doubling back. Part of the difficulty is the hotel is on the opposite side of the street coming from I-78, it's sign is faintly lit, and the building itself is mostly hidden by trees. Part of the difficulty is almost-afterthought tiny-sized signs one encounters first about a block after leaving the highway. (BTW, When you leave, the *only* exit is back towards I-78 -- two short blocks later, you can carefully try a U-turn.)

The hotel is located close to several industrial complexes, so probably makes a good base of operations for those assigned temporary duty to those areas. One could be quite comfortable there.

Room Tip: We found the staff to be helpful in picking a quiet spot.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can hang up towels and washcloths to avoid having them washed and replaced each day. But the toilet seemed to flush far more than 1.6g/6L rating - no option for half flushes.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dale O,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, your critique of the hotel sounds like it came from a professional critic. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel. Keep up the great work on writing reviews and come back and stay with us!!
Regards,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here two weekend nights while visiting my mother-in-law at Chelsea on King George Road, just one exit away. This hotel is conveniently located right next to the expressway. I thought we would be bothered by road noise but we weren't. Everything was just as we expected: clean and comfortable. The spacious rooms open up to a lovely courtyard in the back. We sat out on our little deck (chairs provided) and enjoyed the view one afternoon.
The carpet in the foyer and hallways has a crazy design, as if several different patterns have been pieced together. Don't look at it as you walk! The elevator is not located as close to the front desk as it normally is. I had to hunt for it more than once.

Green Features: Glad they participate, but we had clean towels both days. I thought we could have used our towels twice.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Helen711,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you for the kind words!
Sincerely
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Address: 595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel; modern guest facilities for the business or leisure traveler; convenient location off Routes 78 and 287. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Marriott
Basking Ridge Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.