We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Claremont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Very Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This Courtyard is very clean, good sized rooms, and nice smelling. The decor is not the new trendy modern Courtyard but more a contemporary style. Very large flat screen tv (40") and nice decor. Excellent common areas. Their make over looks pricey.

I had an issue with internet for 2 nights and got very frustrated. I will say that asst. manager, Devon (Patel?) mitigated my issues with good customer service, as he recognized me as a lifetime and current year Platinum member. So, kudos for great customer service. It goes a long way to long time patronizing customers.

Excellent matresses.

Room Tip: some rooms have mini-fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
ATLconsultant
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the décor, service and amenities of the hotel. The mattresses are very comfortable as we have replaced every mattress in the hotel earlier this year. We are in the process of upgrading the hotel’s entire internet service and hope to have this completed by August.
Regards,
Scott S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
21
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

overall very nice hotel-clean rooms, the little bar-bistro in the lobby very convenient-food was good
a little pricey for hotel in the middle of nowhere-granted this was my first trip to Basking Ridge
but Ive paid less in Manhattan -all in all very nice hotel

Green Features: if you choose you can use your towels for several days to save on water
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Peggy S,
Thank you for the kind review, I am always happy to see a guest has enjoyed her stay at our property. We are a little more expensive than most people expect for being in the suburbs but the cost of real estate, wages, taxes etc… is extremely high in the this very affluent area of NJ.
Sincerely,
Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

While the hotel has a new lobby the rooms appeared worn. Our room smelled like body odor and the finish was worn from the hardware on the sink. The pool was broken our entire stay. The worst part is this hotel has an atrium in the lobby so the rooms above are exposed to the lobby below. In all my travels I have never seen a Courtyard designed like this. A drunk rowdy wedding party took over the lobby both nights we were there. Girls singing and guys yelling "chug". The noise in our room at 1:30am was deafening. The front desk was of no help. Do yourself a favor, if in the Basking Ridge area stay somewhere else as this location is just trying to make its event sales budget at the expense of its other guests.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
DJC1976,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is important to us. I apologize for the “rowdy” wedding party during the weekend of your stay in our hotel – this was a particularly large and loud group. Typically on weekends we are not as busy as the weekend you stayed in our hotel so we try not to use those rooms over the atrium as people tend to stay up later on the weekends and we are open until 1:00 AM. We hire outside security on the weekends to help control the noise levels but this one was a difficult party. Unfortunately we had some issues with pool and we will have this rectified this week. We are currently in the planning phases for the next room’s renovation and we hope to get this started next year. Once again I apologize for the issues you experienced.
Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for a baseball tournament. Several teams also stayed here so atmosphere was a little noisy with kids. Management was great with the kids though. After arriving back at the hotel late in the evening, the kids wanted to go in the pool but it closed at 11 p.m. They let the kids stay in until 11:30. Inside pool area was extremely warm! Caution - tile floor could get very slippery. Decent courtyard out back for boys to run around and parents to relax while watching them. A basketball hoop might be useful in the future! We used the new fire pit one evening and staff helped us with lighter fluid. We bought wood at the nearby 7-11. There are 2 small plazas nearby with Panera, a bagel shop, Nail Salon, bistro restaurant, and a wine shop. Not much else around unless drive for 15 min. or so. Sunday evenings are difficult to find food! Bistro in hotel was closed, no nearby restaurants to deliver (the 2 pizza joints were closed), and 2 hour Domino delivery. Had breakfast at the hotel bistro - nothing special. Left the hotel for other breakfasts. The nearby diner was popular and good. Rooms were as expected but needed more electrical outlets. All in all, a decent stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

Room Tip: We had an end room near the elevators facing the courtyard. Couldn't hear the actual elevator b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Teach227,
Thank you for the review, I agree Memorial Day was very busy with several baseball teams for the tournament. It is good to hear the managers handled the kids well and able to provide activities at night whether it was a fire in the fire pit or a late night swim. The Bistro is open on Sunday nights as we serve food until 10:00 PM and alcohol until 11:00 PM. We are in the process of adding electrical outlets, refrigerators and microwaves in all of the rooms with two queen size beds. This project should be done by the middle of July. Also we will be adding furniture to our newly added patio. I can’t wait to get the pictures on the internet! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When I am not sure where to stay, I generally choose Marriott. Good service and cleanliness are a must for me. The workout room is important as well. Also, they have very nice mattresses. This location fits my needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Misheidi,
Thank you for staying with us and the kind words. We do have a nice exercise room including 7 aerobic machines with TV monitors, dumbbells and a universal machine. The mattresses are only a few months old so I am not surprised you were pleased with them. Glad we could meet your needs!!
Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had difficulty finding a place to stay one night of our drive due to college graduations.
We called the Marriott 800 number and asked where the nearest open hotel room on our route was...and this was it...140 miles away!
We arrived after 1 in the morning and were greatest by the nicest man at the front desk.
We asked for an extra blanket and some more pillows, he brought everything up to our room for us in no time at all.
In the morning we had breakfast in the lobby. Breakfast, while not inexpensive, was very good and arrived quickly despite the large number of people there (we got one of only two open rooms).
Overall, a great experience largely due to the very helpful man at the front desk (whose name I wish I knew now!).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
mrmwcm,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I appreciate the kind words about the hotel and Bobby. I will pass on the compliments to him.

Sincerely,

Scott selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Courtyards in my experience have always been a safe bet. This one had a lovely lobby. Our room, however, was TINY. The king bed took up almost the entire room. We didn't even have enough room to lay out both of our suitcases open.

Not the hotel's fault, but we had a room full of tween girls next door to us who were so, SO loud all night long. And they were door slammers on top of it.

The front desk was super accommodating getting us extra towels when we needed them. They were all very friendly to deal with during check in and check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Stephanie S.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we had some noisy kids in the adjacent room. We do have security on weekends to patrol the hallways to help provide a quiet environment but sometimes this does not help when the noise comes from the rooms. Our room size meets the brand standard, maybe you have been fortunate to stay in hotels with larger rooms in the past. I am pleased to hear the staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Address: 595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel; modern guest facilities for the business or leisure traveler; convenient location off Routes 78 and 287. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Marriott
Basking Ridge Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.